TechSpot

Could my RAM cause my games to keep freezing?

By aurther13th
Aug 29, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. JC713

    JC713 TS Evangelist Posts: 7,058   +919

    haha thanks. go to my computer, then right click on the C: drive and then scroll down to properties, then next to the general tab, you will find the tools section, click that and than select "check now" under error checking. when that window pops up, select both "automatically fix file system errors" and then "scan for and attempt to recover bad sectors". then you will be on your way. this is the most thorough test, and it will take multiple hours to complete... the more data on your drive, the more it has to check. after that is complete try a memory test. first off, try using "Windows memory diagnostics", just search it in windows 7 (if you have vista I think you can still search). after this, if you still havent found a solution then you can use memtest, but that is the last resort because you have to make a disk to boot off of... etc.

    Also did you update your graphics driver? how much ram do you have? do you think you can post system specs?
     
  2. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    Alright it will be a little bit before I do the tests. an im not sure if I had updated my graphics driver, doubt I have. I have 4GB ram. an how do I post system specs. what are they?
     
  3. JC713

    JC713 TS Evangelist Posts: 7,058   +919

    Alright that is your issue. what graphics card? also try dxdiag.exe in search or run and post the specs. graphic drivers are a big fix when freezing in game
     
  4. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    What specs do I need to post? an how do I figure out what graphic card I have an how to update/upgrade it
     
  5. JC713

    JC713 TS Evangelist Posts: 7,058   +919

    Dont do the dxdiag, it is too complicated... just go to device manager
     
  6. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    Alright but what specs do I need to post?
     
  7. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
    System Model: Satellite L505D
    BIOS: InsydeH2O Version 1.10
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) II Dual-Core Mobile M500 (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz
    Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 3836MB RAM
    Page File: 3792MB used, 6541MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode
     
  8. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: AMD M880G with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x9712)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9712&SUBSYS_FF1F1179&REV_00
    Display Memory: 1915 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 253 MB
    Shared Memory: 1662 MB
    Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
    Monitor Model: unknown
    Monitor Id: SEC3041
    Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (59.993Hz)
    Output Type: Internal
    Driver Name: atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver File Version: 8.14.0010.0678 (English)
    Driver Version: 8.634.1.0
    DDI Version: 10.1
    Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 7/30/2009 03:34:04, 4059648 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D452-11CF-6F70-15DFA1C2C535}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x9712
    SubSys ID: 0xFF1F1179
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Driver Strong Name: oem1.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_RS880M:8.634.1.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_9712&subsys_ff1f1179
    Rank Of Driver: 00E60001
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
    DXVA-HD: Not Supported
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
     
  9. JC713

    JC713 TS Evangelist Posts: 7,058   +919

    Hey bro so sorry I forgot to respond, I never received an email for this. toshiba is known to have problems with drivers straight from manufacturers like amd, if the installation says it is incompatible, then we will have to try something else. but also dude, before you install, go to add or remove programs, and then chose express uninstall, then after that restart your pc, and then install this driver: download this: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/legacy/Pages/legacy-radeonaiw-vista32.aspx . there are some things you have to do to completely uninstall, but this is not tested on AMD systems, only intel. if the installation does not work then go to this site: http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/support/jsp/home.jsp?nav=download and chose the correct model and download the display driver made for your model. hope this helps! so sorry for missing ur reponse
     
  10. Hyv567

    Hyv567 TS Rookie

    This problem is so easy IF you have 2gb of RAM most games will be able to run.
    What you g2 do Is buying a new Graphic card.
    WARNING first Check what graphic card slot
     
  11. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    How can I check to make sure I get the right graphic card an the price of one. also would I be able to update it instead?
     
     
  12. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 8,483   +233

    Hyv567 appears to not have read enough of this thread. As with most laptops yours does not have a replaceable graphics card so you are stuck with what you have. You can update your graphics driver if you don't already have the most recent one for your card but ATI/AMD no longer supports the 4000 series graphics with their latest drivers. The most recent driver available for your laptop card will be from mid 2012. See here: http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/legacy/Pages/legacy-radeonaiw-vista64.aspx
     
  13. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    Alright well I have downloaded that one recently but is there a way for me to update my BIOS version. I know the one I have now is only 1.10
     
  14. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 8,483   +233

    Updating your BIOS is risky because if something goes wrong, you could end up with a dead laptop. That said, did you go to the link that UNKNOWN9122 provided? The latest BIOS version is there. Instructions are included with the download.
     
  15. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    Yes I have went to the link UNKNOWN9122 provide and downloaded it so my current version is 12.6 but I know my bios is 1.10 an I think I need to update it but I know its risky to.
     
  16. aurther13th

    aurther13th TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 41

    Well I went to the second website an found my computer an such an found an update for BIOS that toshiba released so im going to download that an hope for the best

    Edit: it was trying to update but it said 'Error: Region MAP not found.'
    anyone know how to fix it so it will find it and update.

    Edit: I was trying to update BIOS for L505-GS6002 instead of L505D-GS6000. an the latest version is 1.10 which is what I have, no idea now.
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.