CPU, motherboard, and GPU compatibility

pmaxcaudill

I'm very new to this, and trying to upgrade the CPU and graphics card in my PC.

I have a Pegatron Narra5 motherboard, and I'm planning to get an AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX for it.

My question is, what's a fairly high-end graphics card that would be compatible with these two?

The MSI Computer Corp ATI Radeon HD7770 1020 MHz 1GB DDR5 PCI-Express 3.0 x16 Graphics Cards R7770-2PMD1GD5/OC was suggested to me, would that probably work?

That GPU isn't 'fairly high end'. It's very much mid-range. Here's a TS review of the card.

I guess now is the time to ask - what do you want to do with the computer? Depending on your PSU, you'll be limited to what GPU you can get. And if you go for higher-end stuff, the 4GB DDR2 RAM limit on your mobo may start to hurt, along with your CPU.

Yes, it's compatible with your CPU and mobo.

I'm not sure if it's compatible with the whole system, as you haven't posted PSU details.

I'm not sure which info to give about the PSU, but this label is on the case:
AC Input 100 - 127V 6.0A50/60Hz 200 - 240V 3.0A

Is that enough, or do I need to find more specifics?

It's a Bestec, model ATX-250-12Z REC.: D7R
Input: 100-127V-6A, 200-240V-3A 50/60Hz
It says 250W MAX, but there's a bunch more info listed too, that I'm not sure how to interpret.
The serial number is 0910S0002638. Is that enough info?

Yeah, it seems like a tiny OEM PSU supplied for use in your HP tower, correct?

Since you've upgraded the CPU (what was previous one?), you're probably under-specced for any mid-range GPU.

It's the PSU the tower came with, yes.

I haven't upgraded anything yet, but the current (original) CPU is an AMD Sempron LE-1300.

So my power supply won't be able to run the new CPU and GPU I'm looking at getting?