Data loss problems with rounded cables? Any truth?

Status
Not open for further replies.

henrychieng

Guys, i heard round cable affects perf, is it true?

Nee help as above! Heard ppl said round cable lose data, is it true? Pls enlighten, thanks!

Unless its very cheap substandard cable then I doubt this is true.
I double that there would be any crosstalk or interference since the cables are fairly close in the standard IDE cable anyway (I assume that its IDE cables that your talking about?):confused:
Plus when its simply between a single of 1 and 0 its quite hard to have that signal confused without serious interference. I'm no expert in this field but I know a lot of the members here use rounded IDE cables and haven't heard of problems from them.

Also, I fold all my cables and as often as I have hooked them up and taken them off and folded and unfolded them I have never had a problem with them, but like Arris said, I would stay with good quality ones, thats why I don't round my own, I would be cutting wire all day, and 80 wire cables get too darn small.

What is the deal with getting rounded cables? I know it helps with cooling, but what are some other advantages of them? It does look nice and all, but are they really worth it?

If y'all have any links I could look at if would be cool! Thanks!!!

Yes, worth it. Increases air flow in the case which is all important now. Besides they look tidy!
Torn I think makes his own, but they are commercially available. I've used cable ties to take up the excess slack on my rig, but rounded is better.

Originally posted by uncleel
Yes, worth it. Increases air flow in the case which is all important now. Besides they look tidy!
Torn I think makes his own, but they are commercially available. I've used cable ties to take up the excess slack on my rig, but rounded is better.