Dell Dimension 3000 upgrade

By jaloko
Feb 1, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ok i have a dell dimension 3000 comp. here are the specs

    Code:
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 2/1/2009, 11:57:10
           Machine name: D6GTKN81
       Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp.080413-2111)
               Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
           System Model: Dimension 3000               
                   BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A02
              Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.66GHz
                 Memory: 254MB RAM
              Page File: 414MB used, 3826MB available
            Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
        DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
         DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode
    
    
    Card name: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller
         Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
            Chip type: Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller
             DAC type: Internal
           Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2572&SUBSYS_019D1028&REV_02
       Display Memory: 96.0 MB
         Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (75Hz)
              Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
      Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
          Driver Name: ialmrnt5.dll
       Driver Version: 6.14.0010.4363 (English)
          DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    i want to play games like cabal,rohan,ace online,World of warcraft and other mmo...im not into fps at all...thats what i have a ps3 for. my question is. should i just get1 or 2 gb of ram and a new pci gfx card?

    or

    Should i buy a new mobo and if i buy a new mobo should i buy a new cpu and Processor or keep my old ones (of corse i need to buy a new g card and ram stick if i buy the mobo) and can i keep my power supply and HDD.

    i only have about 150 dollars. but maybe i might sell my psp if its worth it.
  2. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    its so bad i'd say just build a new computer

    sell your psp for 100 - 150 and hope to get around 300 bucks

    use some parts from your dell and build a new one =] thats what i would say

    i'd reccomend a

    e5200 $72 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116072

    asus p5ql pro $60 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131329R

    ram 2gb $21 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227124

    gfx 9800gt $121 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500080

    psu $25 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817709012

    your total is around $178

    just use your old case and etc [hopefully you have a sata hd]

    also assuming you live in the us

    and those are just some suggestions on parts, but anyways, if you can go find cheaper for those parts, go for it, but yeah, just showing you

    have fun!
  3. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    thank you for the advice. ru at least 90% shure this will let me play games and when it coes to the hard drive i might need to get that to what do u think of newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822135106
  4. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    for wow im sure its fine

    and at the budget your at, for sure

    you will see a major boost in performance from the stuff your playing at atm

    its not the best but for your needs, more than enough

    wow is not a high end games anyways
  5. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    1 more question. should i get a built in HD or an external HD cuz 34gb isn't gonna cut it :stickout: ;)

    im leaning towards external but....my friend mentioned something about comp hanging.
  6. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 10,074   +13

    if you're gonna spend more than $300 in upgrades - build a new system
  7. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    well thats what im doing pretty much :stickout: imma get a new mobo and g card and processor and a new HD. imma keep my case of corse. basically ya im making a new one.

    why u have any other suggestions?
  8. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    I recommend going for the cheaper HD 4670 if you are not going to game at more than 1280x1024, and getting an Antec EA380 PSU instead of the Sunbeam one. Also, you can go for this mobo instead of the recommended one to save some more cash.
  9. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

  10. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Either RAM kit is perfectly fine. OCZ and Corsair, along with Crucial, form the "Big Three" of the RAM world, so any kit you get from them is guaranteed to be of top-notch quality and reliability. Their customer support is also as good as their products.

    I also suggest you go for this card instead of the 9800GT. It is about $25 cheaper and comes with free shipping. It also performs on par with the 9800GT. You can spend some of that extra cash on this PSU for a little more headroom.

    Everything else looks great.
  11. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    that gfx card looks good. but maybe i can try for a lil cheeper what do you think of

    EVGA 512-P3-N954-TR GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

    only reason i ask about this one is cuz im not going to be playing halo or any fps...only mmorpg. and i dont relly have 300 dollers. so 270 bucks in total is good for me. relly want to stay around the 250 area but thats hard to do =] i dont have a job =p

    half the mmos i want to play i can run (extremely laggy) on this pice of crap so why go over kill ya kno =]
     
  12. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    9500gt is useless

    just get the 4830, that card is a mid end gaming card

    for the price, you should get it

    plus i think you might want a better psu

    why waste 50 dollars for a 2gb ram ? you could get a 4gb ram at much higher speeds

    just get this one 22 bucks

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227124
  13. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

  14. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    that would be terrible rofl
  15. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    lolz why would it be terrible =p
  16. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    the mobo provided and such are useless, the ram is useless, the cpu is useless, the psu is fail, and wtf is this case

    what more do you want me to say
  17. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    lolers.
    hmmm.....i just hope my case will fit the mobo lmao. this ting is so frekin old lol. and im not gonna spend an extra 100 dollers for a frekin case :dead:


    LMAO JUST NOTICED I NEED A MOBO WITH A FREKING VGA D sub port!!!!

    omg this is gonna be some serious rebuilds lmao

    im problay annoying the crap out of u ppl. iv built a comp before with a friend but iv never updated a "case"(basically im updating a freaking case) but anything just to play my games...ill do anything...accept over spend =p

    what do u think of Intel BOXDG31PR LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
  18. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    how bout spending like 20 - 50 bucks on a case?
  19. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    ok...i guss imma have to huh =[
  20. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    For $250, you can get these parts instead of the ones recommended by hellokitty[hk]:
    You can use the money you save on a new case. I recommend this one as a great choice.

    Again, if your monitor's native\maximum resolution is not greater than 1280x1024 or 1440x900, you can get this card and save some more cash. it would also allow you to get the EA380 since this card is not as power-hungry as the 9800GT\HD 4830.
  21. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    hmmmmm..interesting.
    sounds cool.
  22. nosebleedXD

    nosebleedXD Newcomer, in training Posts: 256

    oh dayum where did you find the antec 300 for so cheap, do they ship to canada?

    NVM it cost 118 to ship to canada, forget it
  23. jaloko

    jaloko Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    '


    lmao ya thats were thay get ya =p
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.