Dell XPS m2010 won't boot

By bigbucko
Sep 28, 2008
Post New Reply
  1. raybay

    raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    When you first call, you may get India... When you tell them you need to talk to a US Rep, they may hang up on you. You may have to keep trying... Be very nice, but firmly insist you have not been happy with Tech Support India... perhaps it is a language issue or that you are hard of hearing... but each call, remind them that this is your third call, or whatever...
    Have all your computer information handy... Get your purchase date off the Dell Support site for your Service Tag and whatever... it will then list the date the computer was built and shipped... and verify if you are the owner of record.
    Good luck. They will eventually help you... but call when you have time to sit and wait.
  2. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Or online "Chat" with them here:
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic100658.html

    Asking for a "US Rep", can be seen as a bit strange though
    What happens if you get a US Rep and he's originally from India?
    I'd just chat with them online ;)

    EDIT:

    Mind you, here's the normal conversation (over the phone)

    Dell: Hello, please have your express Service Tag ready :)
    User: Yes I have the Service Tag
    Dell: Hello?
    User: Do you want the Service Tag?
    Dell: I ask you already
    User: No you didn't! Ask what?... Anyway here it is........
    Dell: If you are wanting to know about Windows 7, please explain
    User: What?
    Dell: (Hang up)
    User: I might give that Chat a go ;)
  3. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    Okay I'm going to file a Class Action Suit with the District Attorney's office in New York.

    I'll post up the information here. There's an online form you can fill out I'll post it later when I get home.

    I just got off the phone with Advanced Tech Support with Dell and the said there is no issue that they are aware of with the M2010.

    This laptop obviously has an issue, and I'd ask that anyone with the same issues mentioned in this thread fill out the form when I post it.

    There was a similar case for the Inspiron 5100 series. A class action lawsuit was brought against Dell and Dell lost. I plan on organizing the same thing.
  4. dmlc

    dmlc Newcomer, in training

    Feel like crying now...

    I've had my M2010 since July 06. I love this beast and feel lost without it. Same symptoms as all these posts with the power and bluetooth lights.

    However, I had a 2 hour tech support call with Dell, who are convinced it's my memory modules. Nobody mentioned memory in here at all. They're shipping them out and I should know in a couple days if that was it... or if like everyone else I'm going to have an endless cycle of motherboard or video card issues. Poop.

    Dell DID replace my video card a couple years ago, but the symptoms were completely different (random blue pixels on the screen). It hasn't given me any trouble since then.

    I love this system... who can argue with a "portable desktop" that has a 21" display??

    Di :)
  5. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Well I said try Memtest a year ago in this Topic
    But I suppose that's the issue of Topics like this one that keeps going and going, sometimes things get lost in the replies
    Users/Members should really read the entire Topic (if they have time :D)
  6. raybay

    raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    Dell doesn't make the memory, and the problem occurs no matter which memory brand one uses. This is a Dell Tech Support problem, if nothing else. The problem is to wide spread, and none I have seen have been memory... Change the brand and timings and the problem still recurs.
  7. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    Meh I got 4gb of ram when I upgraded to Windows 7 back in August. The mobo can only recognize 4gb total so some of this is taken up by the videocard which makes it like 3.5gb that is recognized. Just check slickdeals for some good deals on ram. Unless you already have 4gb. Mine came with 2gb but when I had this video card issue a couple months back I decided to upgrade.

    Won't the computer post with some kind of beep if the memory is taken out? I don't think its the memory.

    Anyway I'm suppose to get a call back from a case worker in the D.A.'s office tomorrow. The District Attorney in NY just sued Dell For Fraud on a different matter recently as well.
  8. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    Okay I got some progress I guess. Dell is shipping me a new video card- which I had to buy but it seems they lowered the price because last time I checked Dell sold it for $400 but I was quoted $225. Pretty sure that's why I got it off Ebay... But that one broke so meh.

    Once I receive it if I install it and it works then they will reinstate my warranty and give me the opportunity to extend it.

    I'd advise anyone who is under warranty still to extend it if they plan on using this laptop over a year. I'll post again after I install the card again. My advice is to buy the parts through Dell since they said they'll cover it if it breaks. If this new card works then I have to probably sort out how to return the old one I bought which lasted just over 3 months XD.

    I've built a few lunchbox computers out of matx cases but I hated having to lug it around and then find a spare monitor to use. Which is why I bought the M2010 because it was a desktop replacement. I'm going to extend my warranty another 3 years and then if this thing lasts that long then for my next computer I'll probably get an all in one.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLXYsQ2YxaQ This ilugger case can carry 23in all in one computers so if I were to get a new computer now I'd probably get that new gateway all in one zx http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CNaHW43oO9U Its a bigger 23in screen compared to the M2010 and uses mostly desktop hardware. Also its a lil over $800 for 23 in with the touchscreen and the specs are awesome for that price.
  9. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    WOW what an experience. First of all I got my warranty reinstated for another 3 years by paying over $500.

    They came with both a video card and a motherboard. Right off the bat the tech confirmed that YES- if you have your hard drives set in RAID 0 like I do and you replace the mobo then your screwed because it won't recognize the new set.

    Rewind for a min, had to spend over an hour with Dell on the phone to "troubleshoot" the issue. Of course I know its the video card, but they made me take out the memory and "test" that too. They made me hold down the fn key to observe lights at bootup, then they said its the motherboard after initially blaming it on faulty memory. I had to speak with a supervisor to get them to send a videocard.

    The on-site tech comes today and I said "I'm a tech and its the video card- can we do that first?" He swaps the video card and the thing boots up. My only issue is that they broke the top of the case- the area that holds the cd tray. Normally you push a flat head into a small slot and the springs release the panels. Some how they broke that and cracked the grill by sticking a flat head in the wrong slot.

    Moral of the story is I guess watch the technicians while they do their work : / They're replacing the top- I noticed the bent the videocard heatsink doing that- I'm not going to complain but people should always take their time I guess. I'm just happy I'm not stuck with a 5,000 dollar brick. Thanks Dell.

    Edit:
    I forgot to mention- if you read my last post I had ordered a replacement videocard from Dell for $225. Keep in mind when I ordered it I was told it would ship on Wednesday. Then I receive this email with this message the day it was suppose to ship out:

    "We want to inform you that your order was canceled under the Federal Mail Order Rule."

    If you google that quote above you'll find other people that have gotten that message. I thought that was odd because I never heard of that rule. I called up Dell and they said they no longer carry that part and that they have a part just like it for $325. I said "!??" and its the same part why is it $100 dollars more? After that I called back a while later and somehow I got somebody to renew my warranty for another 3 years by paying over $500 to insure long enough for Windows 8.

    Like I said I'm not gonna complain about the broken top at least I can get my data off the laptop now and maybe this card might last another year...
  10. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    So are you saying you bought 3Yrs warranty plus a Video card?
    ie $500 + $325 = $825 ? :blackeye:

    Because that looks pretty steep to me, like no one is going to do that normally
  11. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    Well nah I didn't pay for the video card. I just paid the $500 to extend the warranty another 3 years, and got it fixed under the new warranty. Somebody else in this thread said they fixed his laptop so much that they replaced it with an all in one machine for free. This is my 3rd video card so I'll probably need another 3 more in the next few years if they only last 1 year.

    The laptop works now but the on site technician was working like it was a race car and he was on a pit crew. They kinda rushed to take it apart and so the top panels don't fasten properly now. I remember somebody in this thread complained about a similar issue. That and they stuck a flat head in the vent and broke one of the vents and bent the heat sink on the video card a lil instead of the release pin to release the panels :dead:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I should have been watching but I only left for a min <_< Meh they're going to replace the top panel now since it doesn't close properly :haha:
  12. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Accidents happen ;)

    If the same tech comes, don't go all bad on him; just ask him if he wants a coffee and a biscuit :) That'll slow him down.

    Also thanks for the pics inside pics, I do that too when I need to, I wish all others could do the same it sure makes the Topic posts easier to see :grinthumb
  13. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    Well all is well now. They replace the entire top panel. DVD tray still works so everything is as it was before.

    Word of advice- make sure they don't use those "giant tongs" or whatever kind of tool they used. Both the first technician and the second technician attempted to use the same kind of "stick" to push the pin in the back to release the panels.

    The second technician that came said "I hate these laptops I've only seen a couple before and they don't close properly". Anyway if you use a slimmer "stick" it pushes the release pins fine- the tool they were using was too thick. They ended up using a paper clip but I'd recommend like a stylus- I used the stylus from my n810 but any stylus from a touch screen device (like the DS) is perfect for the job. The paper clip although it did the job is not strong enough and is kind of annoying to hold in place.

    I had to open the case again because I noticed a ratteling and I found that it was the plastic that broke from the first panel that was still inside the case. Had to open it to get it out.

    But yeah I'm glad this ordeal is over- I'll check back if I ever have to replace the video card again :haha:
     
  14. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    You had to open it back up yourself? :rolleyes: Geez, that must have peeved you off a bit

    Anyway, thanks for the update :grinthumb
  15. dmlc

    dmlc Newcomer, in training

    Per my post of a few weeks past (#104) Dell finally sent me new RAM they were blaming the problem on. Put the new modules in... nothing. Nothing different. Dead is dead.

    Another phone call. This time the rep was more agreeable the problem was probably the motherboard and had one dispatched. It arrived in just a day. The support company called and scheduled an on-site visit and they arrived promptly.

    Replaced the motherboard with what the technician acknowledged was "probably refurbed"... as new components are never sent out - only replaced in Dell shops if units are shipped back to them.

    Regardless... the motherboard replacement did nothing. No change. Still dead.

    He got back on the phone with Dell... they put him on hold a few times while they discussed it all quietly without me hearing what was going on. Then the tech guy handed me the phone to talk to his tech guy from Dell.

    "I'm terribly sorry, miss. We can't fix your XPS M2010 and as you know, the unit is no loner made."

    I replied with several, under-my breath-swears...

    "So we're going to replace your unit with something of your choice. Not refurbed. Brand new. Now you'll just have to pick out what you'd like. A desktop or a laptop."

    After much discussion I asked if I could replace my dear M2010 with an Alienware laptop... he wasn't so sure about that all of a sudden and put me on hold. After several minutes he came back and said, yes, they would supply me with an Alienware laptop if that is what I want.

    I was unable to spit out a configuration at that point, so we have an appointment scheduled for Monday when he's going to call me back and we'll get it ordered. He said they'd end up sending me a box to ship the M2010 back in... which I find rather disturbing.... are these the units we all end up seeing on EBay??

    So I had the technician take my hard drive out before he left... and I'm thankful that yes, all my data is safe and secure.

    But my much loved M2010 is ready for the scrap heap. I loved that unit!!

    Di :)
  16. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Sorry, ... what?

    Do you mean Dell is giving you a free laptop?
    Or are you buying a new one?
  17. dmlc

    dmlc Newcomer, in training

    Absolutely free. Which is why he was unsure if he could get me into an Alienware unit because that's their higher-end gaming line. But he got approval for that so I'll be all set. He apologized up and down for this being an inconvenience for me... blah blah blah... he was actually very nice. I'm not paying a dime AND my XPS M2010 warranty - which runs through 2011 will be applied to the new unit.

    I'm sad I've lost the M2010... but with all the problems I've had with it these past 3 years I CANNOT COMPLAIN over getting the whole thing replaced with brand spanking new!!
  18. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25

    I think someone already mentioned getting his laptop swapped for another Dell because Dell realized it would cost too much to keep sending out technicians to replace parts.

    I told you it was the videocard though. They tried to blame it on the ram with me too but I replaced the ram with new 4gb ram when I upgraded to windows 7 in August.

    Smart move though with asking for Alienware. Computer's roughly double in processing power every two years.I'm sure my computer will breakdown again-hopefully 2 years from now. If it doesn't I still got tha dead videocard I bought before the warranty ;)
  19. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    So with all the bad posts about Dell (actually I did one up there as well :eek: )
    This is a plus for Dell support, good on them for giving this option (sometimes) :grinthumb
  20. DVJ

    DVJ Newcomer, in training

    Can somebody plz tell me how to remove the video card from my dell xps m2010 plz? Do I loosen the top on the right side where the power button is or is it the left.
    Thx in advance
  21. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

  22. raybay

    raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    With the power plug pulled out of the machine so there is NO chance of power interference,
    but for a newby,
    go to the Dell website, then to your product, then to their Dell Support listings on the left for Customer Self Repair and for Manuals.
    There are drawings and descriptions that help you do this.
    If you have never opened a case, however, doing this removal is an unwise move. Get an experienced friend to help you.
  23. dmlc

    dmlc Newcomer, in training

    It's arrived! I've held my breath until the actual boxes from Dell were in my hands. But I've unpacked my Alienware M17x laptop and am quite happy with it!! Dual NVidia graphics... 8gbs RAM... Blueray... external mouse and keyboard... even a travel bag. I'm not missing my M2010 now... this is screaming fast compared to what I had.

    If you think the M2010 is heavy... I weighed this beast at 19 pounds!!

    Keep complaining to Dell until you all get offered a new system as well. Certainly worth it in the long run!!!

    Happy Holidays!
  24. vandetta

    vandetta Newcomer, in training Posts: 25


    <_<

    I'm kinda jealous :O But I'm sure my vid card will fail again so I'll probably get a better system by that time :D

    Okay so a month into having a working laptop my adapter fails. I get the famous:

    The AC power adapter type cannot be determined. Your system will operate slower and the battery will not charge. Please connect a Dell 150W AC adapter or higher for best system operation

    I google the error message and find a lot of people with this same issue. The only solution is to get a new one basically:
    http://www.laptops-battery.co.uk/blog/dell-ac-power-adapter-type-cannot-be-determined-solution/

    So anyway I call Dell tech support. And I explain my issue- I basically get this message maybe 8 times out of 10 when I boot up my machine. I've had the machine for about a year and a half so I assume its because the cable has broken down due to kinks. Like if you wrap any cable the cord tends to retain memory and after a wile the fibers in the cable break down. I'm guessing that's what this is- either that or the controller chip in the adapter is bad like the article says.

    Anyway the tech tells me to take out the battery and try it and I'm like well I get this issue off an on, it doesn't happen 100% of the time maybe 80%. But when I take out the battery- it works <_<

    I tell the tech yeah it works but I'm positive its not the battery. After a long discussion on why it can't be the battery causing this because I said I've taken out the battery before and I've still had this issue they said they can't do anything because they don't cover batteries and its probably the battery.

    Then I had to bring up the fact that they got the last diagnosis wrong when my videocard was clearly broken and they wanted to replace the motherboard or memory instead. They put me on hold so that they could speak to a manager and during that time I took the battery out again and verified that it happens with the battery out.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    But at that point the tech got approval to send out the new adapter. I didn't think it would be that hard to get a new adapter under warranty but I guess its probably easier to blame it on something else rather than replace the part. I get my new adapter in 2 days though ;)
  25. liviterminator

    liviterminator Newcomer, in training

    hi, new to the board - but with the same problem! :(, dont think wiggling the screws fixes anything as such, if you look carefully at the card, their is 5 metal contact switches which I believe inform graphics card that the heatsink is in place. When you are messing about with the screws, you are juggling the heatsink top around until the contact switches are made... changed the heatsink **** with artic silver, but nada. card heats up, but no signs of life sadly, going to try either shorting all the contact switches or forcing them open to see if it makes any differance.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.