Dimension 3000 cpu/processor upgrade

By Jug_ger_not
Mar 14, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raybay

    raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    Look on eBay for a 478 processor for a Dell Dimension 2400, 3000, or an Optiplex 170XL They should work, and will be cheap. See them all the time. Have purchased a few.
  2. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    Thanks for replying, but you know darn well that if I created my own thread I would have gotten the old "USE THE SEARCH NOOBIE!" response. Can't win for anything I guess. My question was along the same line as the OP so that is why I posted here. I even waited about a week before asking this question for fear that I would get some negative response. But thanks man.
  3. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    Thanks. I understand which chip to get, I just wanted to know if I needed to set any jumpers or would it just be plug and play. The other person answered this question for me. Thanks again.

    In regards to the 2.4ghz -- I believe it is not a P4, but a Celeron 2.4, because I checked the sellers other auction and he has more of them but is now advertising that they are celerons and they are going for far less now, around $60. The guy is using deceptive marketing.
  4. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,361   +824

    Why not download CPU-Z or SIW (system information for Windows) Here; http://www.techspot.com/downloads/155-siw-system-info.html , and know for sure.

    I thought that was the reason for Ebay
  5. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    RE: captaincranky"Why not download CPU-Z or SIW (system information for Windows)"

    (I'm only at 3 posts and unable to properly quote posts) I stated in my initial post that I had not received the PC from Ebay yet, and when I tried previewing the post, the board stated that I wasn't logged in. I logged in, and I lost the post, so I just pretty much summarized it above. I will be receiving the PC next week.

    Thanks for the info guys. Perhaps it might be a 2.4 P4, instead of a 2.4 Celeron, that would cool, I guess I'll found out when it arrives, it's just that I had wanted to know about the upgrade, but it would appear that all I need to do is swap the CPU and get a good fan.
  6. Matthew

    Matthew TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,042   +84 Staff Member

    No, I don't know that. In fact, I'd wager that you would have gotten the same help you did in this thread minus the comments about starting your own because that is what usually happens on the TechSpot forums. I don't know what forum community you're accustomed to that is home to people who put you down for starting a thread, but, it's not how things work here.

    Yes, you will find out when it arrives. Until then, hold off on any purchases...

    :) Try and make less assumptions about others, you might be surprised.
  7. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    The PC arrived today. I added 1GB of ram and swapped the video card with a GeForce PCI card. Quite honestly, this PC is good to go. It is the 2.4 Celeron but it's faster than my HP P4 1.7GHz I use at work and my Dell GX260 at home. I went to the Dell support site to download the drivers for the NIC and audio and found a bios update. The update changed the bios from A01 to A03 and this will allow the use of larger P4 3+ GHz CPU's.
  8. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,361   +824

  9. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    Thanks for the link. I stopped building PC's back in the old AMD K62 days, so I lost track of the technology. But back on track of the link you supplied, isn't that 3.0 chip the same as this one Click Here?

    I like Newegg and have ordered many times from them, however, I'm curious to know why their CPU is close to $25 more? It says OEM, so I don't think it comes with a heatsink and fan.

    I believe this is the same as the chip you posted, too Click here

    I just found these 3.2GHz for under $80 on Pricewatch Click Here

    I'm a little anxious to swap out the CPU, but like I said earlier, the Celeron is good to go (at least for what I'm using it for) for now.
  10. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,361   +824

    Some people like the "Northwood" line of P4s better than the Prescott P4 by virtue of running somewhat cooler. That would be the 2.8Ghz I linked.

    The 3.0GHz P4s are "Prescott" cores, and your 2 links to this PN# RK80546PG0801M is indeed the same as Newegg's offering.

    No, OEM processors DO NOT come with a HSF, just the CPU, nothing more.

    As to your issue with price, Newegg is not always the cheapest guy on the block, but they are reliable beyond reproach. I do not know anything about the Etailers you've mentioned. Personally, I would buy the parts from Newegg anyway, since I believe that an extended ordering history might be valuable in the event of a problem. "Well, he's been our customer for years", like that.

    I'm certainly not pressuring you to dump the Celeron, I have a box ,(at my son's house at the moment), With a Cedar Mill Celeron 356 (3.33 GHz) which flies, probably even with the wrong BIOS in the board it's on.

    Anyway, I would caution you that these CPUs are disappearing rapidly, and it won't be very long before you'll be lucky to find them. But who knows, someone else may have a different belief system than myself, in which case, ring in.
  11. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    THanks C.C.


    BTW, I ran a benchmark utility called NovaBench 2. Here's the results of the 2.4 Celeron vs my 1.7 P4 I use at work:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Granted, I'm not sure what the rankings mean, but I ran it again and it was in the 90's. I had even closed out all applications and it was now slower. Later that night, I ran the benchmark again and got a 120, but I wasn't able to save the file to the website because it recognized the system configuration.

    That 109 score bested some P4 2.8's and P4 3.0's, check it out:

    http://novabench.com/scores.php?p=108


    Here's the link to download the software: http://www.download3k.com/System-Utilities/Benchmark-Utilities/latest.html
     
  12. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,673   +152

    I got 316...
  13. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    You must be running a quad-core.

    Your 316 inspired me to test out our Core 2 Duo PC that we got several months back (I'm at work).
    Here's the results:
    [​IMG]
  14. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,673   +152

    Click on the blue "system specs" on the right side of my posts
  15. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,361   +824

    Ahem......TMagic.....

    Isn't that sort of like cheating?:rolleyes:
  16. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,673   +152

    I wasn't comparing to a P4 or Celeron... It just confirms why I spent all the money on the last system upgrade :)
  17. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,673   +152

    Yes I am ;)
  18. nazgool19711

    nazgool19711 Newcomer, in training

    If you go on too newegg.com or tigerdirect.com you will find what you are looking for prices you will have to check. You too find out what chip set it is like 775 etc. the website should tell you or just google it like emachine bla bla specs
    Peronally it is not really worth it you should just buy or build a new one!!!
  19. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    If you read the original posters remarks, he said that buying a new PC is NOT in his budget and has about $200 to spend.

    If you're referring to me, it's not really worth it for me to spend more money on a new system only for me to surf the web and play downloaded movies. In the past 2 months, I have already spent over $1200 on an Xbox 360 Elite, controllers (for me and my girlfriend), games and a nice Gamepod 1.5 gaming chair. I never could see the point of playing games on a computer (except 20 years ago when I had a C-64 and later an Amiga) so I don't really have a need for all that speed. I only need it to telecommute in the morning before work, download movies occasionally and surf the web in between. Sure, it's nice to have the best that's out there, but not everyone needs a computer to play FPS games.
  20. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    Out of curiosity, I went ahead and bought the P4 3.0Ghz Prescott and upgraded the RAM to 2GB. Off the bat, the system is noticeably faster and was $100 well spent. Actually, it came out to around $129 with express delivery and a thing of Arctic Cooling MX-2, a little more than what I paid for the Dimension, minus shipping. In hindsight, I should have just spent around $200 for a system that already had the Prescott chip, but I wasn't thinking like that when I made the purchase.

    What I noticed:
    • Startup (Boot) is around 20 to 25 seconds
    • Firefox opens in about 1 second, as opposed to around 3 to 5 seconds
    • PC Tools Spyware Doctor's scan runs much quicker
    • Opening applications are instantaneous - no lag whatsoever
    • Copying files and multitasking
    • Applications close really fast now (like disconnecting VPN)

    As I compiled the list above I was testing various functions and I must say, overall, I'm happy with the upgrade. It's nice to have a PC that performs like this as opposed to the PC's I've been using over the last decade.

    I ran Novabench before and after installing the CPU and RAM. Although the number is low, the PC does perform much better than when it had the Celeron processor; It scored a 161. I ran the test prior to the upgrade and scored a 110 with the Celeron and 1GB of RAM (I removed the 256mb).

    BTW, this is the CPU I bought: http://www.ewiz.com/category.php?categry=2
    and this is the RAM: http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=D32PB1GDE
  21. nazgool19711

    nazgool19711 Newcomer, in training

    awsome !!!
    congrats sounds good.
    now remember the harddrive is the slowest piece of hardware on the cpu, so if you replace it with a say 72 rpm hdd you will also see a big difference!!
    if you get a chance check out the website called tweakxp.com and goto performance tweak they have alot of great stuff you can try too tweak xp!!!
    and again goodluck!!
  22. nazgool19711

    nazgool19711 Newcomer, in training

    ohyea!!

    when you upgrade ram make sure each mem stick is the same size like 1 gig and 1 gig because the motherboard will be able allocate the work load better and faster and you will also see a difference in speed!!
  23. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Good idea using MX-2 with that Prescott. It'll keep it from running uncomfortably hot. All in all, a major upgrade from the crappy Celeron CPU methinks. It's great you took the time to post back with results, so anyone looking for some help with the same issue can see what you got, and how it affected your PC's performance.
  24. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    Yeah, that's what I did. I have two 1GB PC3200 memory sticks.

    The system is good to go for me right now and works incredibly fast with Photoshop and some of my other design tools. I might upgrade the HDD soon, but I need to return a Maxtor One Touch 4 I bought a couple weeks ago first. Damn thing crapped out on me and isn't recognized by my PC or my laptop. According to the reviews on NewEgg, I'm not the only one. I bought the 500GB One Touch 4 for $89, so once I get my money back, I'll pick up a comparable HDD in IDE format, considering I can't use SATA on this PC.

    Also, I'm considering getting the PowerColor ATI Radeon HD2400 Pro 256MB DVI/HDCP PCI Video Card but I'm thinking there won't be much more of a visible improvement over my current GeForce FX 5200. If I can have a guarantee that I'll see a significant speed increase in my application by changing the video card from what I have now, then I'll jump on it, but I have a gut feeling that I'd be wasting more money if I did that right now, paying retail for a 256mb card.
  25. BishopLord

    BishopLord Newcomer, in training Posts: 20

    Thanks. It wasn't a very difficult upgrade, either. Took only a couple minutes to take off the heatsink and install the new chip and RAM. BTW, I'm using the OEM heatsink that comes with the PC. It has a cover and a fan to expel the hot air - does a pretty good job at it, too! That air coming out from the back was pretty warm. I was pretty skeptical if this stock heatsink and fan would be able to keep the CPU cool, but it is doing a good job.

    I did want to ask a question about CPU heat, but I believe I found my answer through Google. I installed SpeedFan and my system is running at 42 to 45 degrees Celsius (around 107 to 113 degrees Fahrenheit). I had wondered if that was too hot until I found a few posts from people through Google search that read like, "My CPU is running at 70 degrees Celsius...." and at that point I determined my PC was ok. I ran the system for over 6 hours straight and it never got over 113 degrees (45 Celsius) and my living room was at a staggering 88 degrees Fahrenheit (due to it being 108 outside earlier). I did read something about the P4 CPU's that they can reduce their speed automatically if it starts to overheat, so that's a good thing, IMO.

    Anyhow, even though I believe I found my answer, I was wondering what would be an acceptable CPU temperature?
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.