Dual boot XP pro with Linux SUSE 10.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

smore9648

I am installing Linux as my second os and I just want to make sure I won't have any problems with my Raid 1 drives.

Should I leave the linux default installation run its course or do I need to do a custom installation? I am new to Linux, I just want to see what its like compared to windows xp pro.

smore9648 said:
I am installing Linux as my second os and I just want to make sure I won't have any problems with my Raid 1 drives.

Should I leave the linux default installation run its course or do I need to do a custom installation? I am new to Linux, I just want to see what its like compared to windows xp pro.

The install is very easy for SuSe. I haven't used the latest version, but I'm sure its even easier than before... It might even be easier than Windows! ;)

I wouldn't leave the partition FAT32 - You should format it to a native Linux file system so you can experience the whole package. FAT32 has no inherit security or permissions, which may affect your Linux install.

I would imagine SuSe 10.1 will have no issues with your RAID controller.. No 'F6 for RAID' needed. :) But if you're installing it on a USB drive, RAID shouldn't be a concern?

***** ALERT!!! Yes I am an *****.

I was installing Linux when I decided to use partition magic to install another OS. I went through all the settings and rebooted. Linux started installing but when it came to recognizing my hard drive it couldn't find it.

It found my USB Drive but not my C drive.

I aborted the install and now my NTLDR is missing.

I am in the middle of formatting my harddrive. I used a 98 boot disk to erase my partions and its only recoginizing 10gb instead of 80gb.

I am not blamingn Linux install I am blaming myself and partition magic.

smore9648 said:
I was installing Linux when I decided to use partition magic to install another OS.