EMachines T2824 cpu running at 130'f, 100% constant cpu usage

Status
Not open for further replies.
A few days ago i was working at my computer, not doing anything to exerting, and suddenly i started hearing clicks from my tower. A few clicks later and my computer crashed out, going to the screen that says if its the first time thats happened then restart. I restarted and it came to the very first loading screen, it wasn't moving at all. I then restarted my computer again and it finally booted up correctly. When i signed in the windows login sound was very distorted and playing slowly. I am running XP Home SP2 by the way. And still every sound from the speakers is distorted and slow. Now on to my issue, i use a program called speedfan to check my Comp's temps every so often, and especially after what happened i wanted to. It says my cpu is at a very hot 131 degrees F. Now i'm not a doctor, but i can't imagine that that temp is a good one to be running at.

Now all at the same time my computer, since i logged in, has been running way way slower then what is normal for it. I pull up windows task manager and it shows that my computer is staying in between 70% and 100%, more towards the 100% area. And this is just when i have task manager running, along with the antivirus software that i have.

My question about all this is can anyone maybe shed some light on the situation.. or anyone who has had similar to the same experiences with this comp. Thanx,

Lucassster

If system idle process is high, then your CPU isn't under much load.

Clicks are most of the time caused by hard drives. Run a HD Diagnostic test on it, you could also check the SMART status through speedfan, but just because it passes SMART doesn't mean the drive is good. Sometimes even if they pass the HD Diagnostic they still aren't good, but we'll cross that bridge if we get there.

130F is absolutely fine for a CPU.