TechSpot

Error Caused by a Device Driver

By dariagurl
Nov 17, 2004
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    King Prawn,

    I have no idea what is your problem.

    Suggestion
    1. Make sure that your PC is not infected with virus or adware.
    2. Run chkdsk /r
    3. Run memtest to verify the memory is good. (http://www.memtest86.com)
  2. Storm_Force

    Storm_Force TS Rookie

    Going by your post:

    MODULE_NAME: memory_corruption
    IMAGE_NAME: memory_corruption
    FOLLOWUP_NAME: memory_corruption
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0
    MEMORY_CORRUPTOR: STRIDE
    STACK_COMMAND: .trap ffffffffb8603b4c ; kb
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: MEMORY_CORRUPTION_STRIDE
    BUCKET_ID: MEMORY_CORRUPTION_STRIDE

    I was gonna get some new ram anyway so will try that and see if that works.

    Thanks again :)
  3. Eno

    Eno TS Rookie

    device driver error

    Hi everyone
    Brand new to the board. I am also having a problem w/ unexpected shutdowns/bluescreens. I am running Xp SP2 Pentium 4, 2.0 GHZ,1.99 GHZ 736 RAm,
    attached there's some dump reports
    Any thoughts?
  4. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Hi Eno,

    Most people only raise questions here and only a few of them feedback the result. They don't know that their feedback will help us to resolve similar problem. I hope you are not one of them. Your problem is probably faulty motherboard.

    The debug report of your minidump

    BugCheck 1000008E, {c0000005, bd808425, f3b6ac90, 0}
    Probably caused by : hardware

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    *** Possible invalid call from bf80850d ( win32k!_PostMessage+0x121 )
    *** Expected target bf8083c9 ( win32k!AdjustForCoalescing+0x0 )

    OSSIBLE_INVALID_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from bf80850d to bf8083c9
    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner
    MODULE_NAME: hardware
    IMAGE_NAME: hardware
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0
    STACK_COMMAND: .trap fffffffff3b6ac90 ; kb
    BUCKET_ID: CPU_CALL_ERROR

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    *** Possible invalid call from bf80850d ( win32k!_PostMessage+0x121 )
    *** Expected target bf8083c9 ( win32k!AdjustForCoalescing+0x0 )
  5. Eno

    Eno TS Rookie

    motherboard

    hi CPC
    thank you for taking a look @ my problem....
    DOes that mean that I have to change the motherboard?I cant understandany of that computer language...
  6. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Yes, replace the motherboard if you believe me. I make this suggestio base upon my past records of similar problems. As you know windows has a lot of weired problem which could not be explained. If you can tolerate the BSOD, don't do anything to fix BSOD.


    Note : I cannot guranteer that the M/B resolves the BSOD.
  7. Storm_Force

    Storm_Force TS Rookie

    Just a quick update on my problem, removed my ram and put a new 1gb stick and everything is running fine (finger crossed) thanks for you advice cpc.
  8. afi

    afi TS Rookie

    reboot

    hey i had the same problem as alot of people my computer simoultaneously kept rebooting and recieving a driver related issue, however it mainly happended when i was playing games. I folowed previous intructions to go to settings and in advanced startup and recovery i unticked auto restart and write debugging information none.
    THe next time it happended i got a blue screen saying.

    problem detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your comupter. then....

    BUGCODE_USB_Driver

    Technical information
    STOP: 0x000000FE 0x81FA4OEO 0x10397001 0x820E6180

    hope this helps, any idead at all on how to get rid of it would be greatly appreciated. thanks
  9. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    When Windows crashes with blue screen, it writes a system event 1001 and a minidump to the folder \windows\minidump. Check system event 1001 and it has the content of the blue screen

    Event ID: 1001
    Source: Save Dump
    Description:
    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck.The bugcheck was : 0xc000000a (0xe1270188, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0x804032100).
    Microsoft Windows..... A dump was saved in: .......

    Control Panel -> Adminstrative Tools -> Event Viewer -> System -> Event 1001. Copy the content and paste it back here

    Zip 5 to 6 minidumps and attach the zip files here. I will study the dump and find out the culprit.
  10. afi

    afi TS Rookie

    hey umm yer i went there n this is wat came up when i clicked on it.

    The server {DC0C2640-1415-4644-875C-6F4D769839BA} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.



    when you say zip 5-6 minidumps what do you mean by that and how do i do it. thanks.
  11. case

    case TS Rookie

    read this entire thread

    and ive been experiencing the same problem for the last month i would say

    its pretty much the same every time

    these are usually the errors

    Error Message: STOP 0x000000EA THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER (Q293078)

    Error Caused by Graphics Device Driver

    blue screen errors:

    DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGE_AREA

    lots of others i cant even remember..but those are the main ones

    also something about ati2davg.dll once

    i have the following

    amd 2500XP
    gigabyte GA 7VAX mobo
    80gb wd 7200 hd..lots of space
    saphire radeon 9200 128DDR

    any help would be appreciated

    edit: the last 2 days ive been getting the following errors

    BAD_POOL_CALLER
    and
    DFN_LIST_CORRUPT
    :(
     
  12. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Hi afi,

    Do you mean you don't know how to zip the minidumps or you can find the minidumps at the folder \windows\minidump (for w2k iti is \winnt\minidump)?
  13. case

    case TS Rookie

    well

    i didnt get a reply..but managed to fix the problem

    i tested all the ram on my pc...found the bad stick and replaced it

    havent had a blue screen in 3 days..where before i was getting it 3 times an hour
  14. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Hi Case,

    It is great as you can solve your problem by yourself. Over 50% of the problems in this forum are related to faulty RAM and the problem owners keep on asking me how sure it is faulty RAM. I am not Jesus and I cannot guranteer my recommendation are always correct.

    I've analysed your minidumps. One minidump had corrupt module list which may be caused by bad RAM or software driver error. Bugcheck code 7F with NT status code 0000000d is usually related to hardware error. It maybe faulty RAM, CPU or motherboard. Two of your minidumps crashed at SwapContext which is windows's context switching and it only crashes unless it is hardware error. The conclusion of your minidump is hardware problem. Which hardware component is faulty and base my pass statisitcs for similart problem. My conclusion is 60% RAM, 20% is motherboard and 10% is CPU or PSU. As you already confirm that it is faulty RAM and your finding will be part of history record and it would help me to resolve similar problem. Thanks for your sharing your experience with us as some people never feed their result.

    The debug report of your minidumps are as folllowing. If you encounter similar problem later and most likely it is faulty RAM

    Mini073005-01.dmp 0A (0015e3e0, 00000002, 00000001, 804e7aa6) module list might be corrupt
    Mini072405-04.dmp 8E (c0000005, bf80f7f4, f86156f8, 00000000) win32k!IsTrayWindow+45
    Mini072405-05.dmp 7F (0000000d, 00000000, 00000000, 00000000) nt!SwapContext+95 -> nt!KiSystemFatalException+f
    Mini073005-02.dmp EA (8222d618, 820f3650, f8969cb4, 00000001) win32k!xxxMsgWaitForMultipleObjects+b0 -> nt!KiSwapContext+2e
    Mini080205-02.dmp 24 (001902fe, f8654234, f8653f30, f838ad7a) Ntfs!NtfsAreHashNamesEqual+b

    cpc2004
  15. Legacy1

    Legacy1 TS Rookie

    Hello,

    I am among the many that have had BSoD and need resolution but can't figure it out on our own. I've attached minidumps of my last three crashes. I'm running Windows XP Pro SP2, AMD 3200+, 1 GB RAM, ATI FireGL T2. I've run Memtest and it comes up clean. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I promise to update with the resolution.
    Thanks.

    Attached Files:

  16. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

  17. dpendleton

    dpendleton TS Rookie

    A new one - IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL and 0X806FFA79

    Hello,

    I am also experiencing frequent shutdowns of Windows XP Home edition SP2 on my daughter's Compaq Presario 2600 desktop PC. Blue screen message reads:

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    *** STOP: 0X0000000A (0X00000000, 0X00000002, 0X00000001, 0X806FFA79)

    I have uninstalled Infogame's "The Game of Life" and "ADT Instant DVD 2.0" since the error seems likely related to a video adapter or compatibility issue with DirectX.

    I'm attaching the minidumps.

    I've also gone into SetUp advanced options and switched to 'Last Known Good Configuration".

    Any further advice?

    Thanks,
    Dawn P.
  18. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Hi Legacy1,

    Your symptom is hardware error such as faulty RAM , overheat, faulty PSU. Some faulty RAM can pass memtest. Reseat the memory to another memory slot. Do you install ZoneAlarm or Norton AV? If yes, what is the version number?

    cpc2004
  19. Legacy1

    Legacy1 TS Rookie

    At the time of the minidumps I did not have either Zone Alarm or NAV installed. I was using AVG as AV and the Windows firewall. I have since loaded Norton SW 2005. I don't crash as long as I stay away from playing audio CD's or internet radio through any of the players (WMP, Winamp, Realplayer, etc.) Do you have recommendations for testing hardware. I have SiSoft but know nothing about it.

    Thanks for your time!
  20. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Hi Dpendleton,

    I think the culprit is bad RAM. Try reseat the memory to another memory slot. If you have more than one memory stick, take out a memory stick. If it does not crash, the removed memory stick is faulty.

    cpc2004
  21. dpendleton

    dpendleton TS Rookie

    Looks like your solution worked like a charm!

    cpc2004,

    Looks like it worked! :bounce: I moved the sole memory stick to another slot and so far it hasn't crashed all day. I'm *so* impressed. I sincerely appreciate your advice. This is much better than having to replace the memory or install a heatsink w/ball-bearing fan as I heard I might.

    One suggestion I read is that if you think the RAM is overheating you can first try running the PC with its cover off (have to use caution inserting the power cord & monitor cables since you can easily wipe out the system with a static electricity shock). If the system performs better with the cover off, try
    blowing out the dust nearby and seating the RAM in another slot further from the CPU and hot components.

    I think it stinks that Microsoft keeps returning software errors for a hardware issue and sends their users all over the map trying to reload device drivers etc.

    Thanks again for the hints,

    Dawn P.
  22. benz370

    benz370 TS Rookie

    Hi, I am new here and recently started having similar problems as the one the topic starter has stated. On the BSOD it says stuff about a Physical Memory Dump. I would like to know if there is a solution to this problem even though it is not happening as much as it is used to. I would be glad to put up the dump files if you wish to check them. Thanks in advance
  23. afi

    afi TS Rookie


    hey i hope this works would have replied earlier but been busy with exams..every time i try and attach the minidumps it never works...the upload page comes up as page unavailable when i try and upload them.
  24. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Rookie Posts: 2,044

    Hi Afi,

    You cannot attach more than 100K for each attachment. Zip the dumps and re-attach the zip files here.
  25. Solomon

    Solomon TS Rookie

    CPC2004, or anyone, I'm crashing too, here's the minidumps

    Any help would be appreciated!

    This problem has been ongoing for a couple of months, but I can't map it to any specific changes in hardware or configuration. It just reboots randomly. I've since disabled auto reboot per your instructions, so I should at least be able to see the bluescreen. I've attached some recent associated minidumps (1001)

    Thanks!

    Solomon
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.