Error loading OS - Hard drive full?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys,
I actually have a single hard drive of 30 Gb with no partition from Seagate.
I have a 1,2Ghz pc with 384Mb memory installed and OS is Win XP Pro.
I've been using my pc for 8 years now and, though my hard drive was almost full (28Gb used), I tried to put a dvd on it, so that I think the drive became completely full. Indeed, I got an error message (don't remember what is was), tried to reboot but then I was faced with an other message saying "Error loading the operating system". Can't start the pc anymore.

A friend of mine put my hard drive on his machine and the drive seemed to be recognized in Explorer but wouldn't open. A click on the HD properties showed "File system: RAW" and 0 bytes used.

I will no doubt buy another pc but I wish I could recover my data (mainly pictures and doc files).

How could I do?
Any help would be appreciated

reinstalling the windows might work, but it looks like your HDD isn't partitioned. Most probably you can try to reinstall (repair) without formatting. I think the windows cd can be loaded while booting by making cd rom drive as first boot device.

Don't start messing with a full drive!
Put that Harddisk in another PC which has a 40GB or larger partition free.
Use Drive Image or Acronis True Image to make an image of your old 30GB and 'restore' it on that 40GB partition. Then use the Windows from that other PC to see if you can access the files. Alternatively, using e.g. Drive Image Explorer, you might be able to retrieve files with that from the 40GB.

yes, the software that RealBlackStuff might work. THe doubt is because you said it didn't work on your friend's comp too..

about the installing, there will be an option to install tithout formatting a drive. . or there will be another option to repair a current installation. So you can try either of that. If you do this the data will be recoverable, it wont be erased.