TechSpot

Google: we're not trying to replace cable TV

By Emil
Nov 12, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. Rishi Chandra, Google TV's Product Manager, recently took the stage at the NewTeeVee Live conference to discuss the issue of TV networks pulling their content from the service. Cable companies are viewing Google TV as a threat, as they are increasingly concerned with cord-cutting: the term used for people canceling their cable subscriptions because they can find the content for free or for...

Read the whole story

2. xcelofjkl

xcelofjkl TS Rookie Posts: 86

Google: "We're trying to BUY it."

3. freythman

freythman TS Booster Posts: 113   +10

Oh, so I shouldn't have canceled my cable subscription? Oops

4. cardriverx

cardriverx TS Rookie Posts: 82

God damn it Google, grow some balls. I WANT google TV to replace my cable (not that I have a cable subscription...)

5. Vrmithrax

Vrmithrax TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,290   +239

They are walking a razor-thin tightrope here. If they grow balls (as you want), then you can guarantee that a big chunk of the content that a large percentage of consumers would want to have on Google TV will not be available. They have to play the game, since the big networks hold all the cards. Consider it a process - they get in, play nice, and slowly take over, until the cable companies are only supplying broadband. Muahahahahaha

6. cardriverx

AKA I am waiting for google TV with a very large harddrive and better browsing. And Utorrent support.

7. madboyv1

madboyv1 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,333   +267

You... basically want a regular computer then. Derp.

8. gobbybobby

gobbybobby TS Guru Posts: 548   +8

Poor tv networks. Not long left now!!!

9. taea00

taea00 TS Enthusiast Posts: 102

HTPC?