Internet Explorer loads very slowly

Sharmak

Hi!
I'm new to techspot. I've been having a problem with my laptop. Here are its specs:
Toshiba Satellite A100
Model #: PSAA8C-SK400E
80GB Hard Drive
1GB Memory
Windows XP SP3
ESET Smart Security 4
This laptop, for some reason, has continually had various problems. I think I've had to reinstall Windows XP about 4-6 times in the last 5 years or so since I bought it because of viruses, BSODs, error messages, etc. It's definitely not a problem with the Internet Connection, because the other computer works fine, and it's actually older. We have Telus as our ISP. We had a problem with our modem, and we had Telus replace it with a newer modem, and the new modem is a different one from the one we had last and has another brand name.

A while after we got the new modem, Internet Explorer 8 started loading a lot slower. It takes a few minutes to load most pages, but if you duplicate a tab, it's very quick. Youtube videos take forever to buffer, and when you are loading a flash application it doesn't load. When you download files, it doesn't download until you refresh a few times and it finally downloads. Google searches take forever to load too. I tried using a portable version of Google Chrome, but unfortunately, it had the same results. When I tried installing Google Chrome from the website, it couldn't download because it took too long. I use a wireless internet connection to connect to the internet & get a Good-Very Good connection, but it was just as slow when I put my laptop a meter away from the modem. I didn't try ethernet, because our laptop does not have the correct ethernet drivers because I didn't install the LAN drivers.