Is it illegal to download torrents?

Status
Not open for further replies.

flowerpower

I'm new at d/l torrents and recently installed uTorrent. Today i d/l Nero 8 ultra edition w/ key and i'm wondering whether it is illegal. After i did this i went on to wikipedia to read about this stuff and i found out that some people were prosecuted for spreading copyrighted material and so on. I know i only d/l 1 file, which makes me too small to go after and since this torrent business is such a legal gray area is it ok to keep d/l things like nero, other programs, games etc or i will get in trouble evetually?

Yes, I would say that since you didn't pay for Nero 8 Ultra, it is an illegal copy. Will you get into trouble eventually? Seems unlikely but who can say?

ok, just to tell you, millions and millions of people torrent a day

what are the chances you'll get caught?

1 and a million

if you are a mega downloader and leave your comp on 24/7 downloading 50 things at once, i wouldn't be surprised you'd be caught

nosebleedXD said:
what are the chances you'll get caught?

1 and a million
That does not make it any less wrong.

In some circumstances it seems justified IMO say if you happen to have lost your Windows XP install CD (but you still have the license key), then you could download the ISO from a torrent & use it with your original license key. I don't think that would fly in court though.

Didou said:
That does not make it any less wrong.

In some circumstances it seems justified IMO say if you happen to have lost your Windows XP install CD (but you still have the license key), then you could download the ISO from a torrent & use it with your original license key. I don't think that would fly in court though.

Done it before, for several versions of Windows, even Vista, but i've had the legit keys...

but i have been known to try things like tiny xp and stuff like that, but sure if you download constantly then c'mon, im sure it'll be easier to get caught.