TechSpot

Microsoft outlines Windows Phone development, shows off Xbox Live-linked game

By Jos
Mar 15, 2010
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Microsoft's MIX10 conference kicked off a few hours ago in Las Vegas and already it seems that Windows Phone 7 Series is set to be the star of the show. Company executives took the stage today to show off some of the platform's features, including a built-in location and push notification system, along with a number of prototype and early-stage applications from the likes of Netflix, Pandora and EA Mobile.

Read the whole story
  2. natefalk

natefalk TS Rookie Posts: 78

Awesome!! !!
    As a developer, I like the idea of the free tools. Since there are a lot more people familiar with .Net and Visual Studio I can see the "Windows Phone Marketplace" becoming even larger than Google and Apple's App store put together simply b/c of the use of Visual Studio and Silverlight (Flash alternative). There could also be more demand by businesses looking for mobile solution. Since many businesses already own licenses to develop .Net apps the cost would be minimal compared to Apple.
  3. Burty117

Burty117 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,496   +304

This is actually looking very promising indeed! I guess I know what my next phone will be. Well when HTC announce it anyway.
  4. Wagan8r

Wagan8r TS Guru Posts: 592   +45

THANK YOU MICROSOFT!!! I hate to say it, but one of the reasons I bought an iPhone was so that I could develop for it. Then I found out that you can't develop for it unless you have a Mac, which I will never pay good money for. I think I'll be developing my game for WP7S.
  5. TorturedChaos

TorturedChaos TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 843   +11

Wow, something M$ is releasing actually sound rather promising. I'm dumb struck.
  6. elroacho72

elroacho72 TS Rookie Posts: 124

The W7 phone is like the missing link in my Microsoft World.
  7. 9Nails

9Nails TechSpot Paladin Posts: 970   +84

Killer App!