MoBo Replacement?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all, New to the forum. Happy to be amongst you. I have a eMachine T234 for my daughter and it keeps shutting down.

I've read a lot here & done all the checks. Also replaced the PSU with a Dynex 400w, upgraded with a 500g HD and installed a clean copy of the OS. Vista Home 32bit.

I cleaned all fans checked temps and it still does the same. After reading all the other posts about emachines I am confident that it is crap also. But, this is my daughters and I want to fix it for her.

What motherboard can I replace the old one with that is comp/w the Athalon AMD 64 and any other saved parts? Any help is appreciated. Thanks, Mike

Hi,
I have zero knowledge of eMachines so here goes.
Is the system actually a T2341 ? If so then...
Is this your board ?
If it is then your part number for a direct replacement is MBEM2124L7V2 (or LV7MM2)
According to my search it's an AMD Socket A (462 pin) motherboard of mATX (micro ATX) form factor.
I don't know where you're based- I assume from your username you're from the U.S.- so I'd check eBay and other online auctions first before trying etailers/retailers - the part is fairly old and buying new will most likely be costly.
A quick search of Socket A mATX boards brings up:
ASRock K7VM3
Foxconn K7S741GXMG-6L , the site linked also carried a number of DFI boards

Welcome to Techspot !

I cleaned all fans checked temps and it still does the same. After reading all the other posts about emachines I am confident that it is crap also. But, this is my daughters and I want to fix it for her.

What motherboard can I replace the old one with that is comp/w the Athalon AMD 64 and any other saved parts? Any help is appreciated. Thanks, Mike
One thing that you haven't mentioned is whether you've reseated the CPU heat sink fan assembly, and given it a fresh coat of thermal compound.