Motherboard or memory problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I've built this new system, and recently I've been getting some memory issues (6GB (3x2gb) ddr3 1600mhz). There are 6 total slots on the motherboard for memory. Using the first set of 3 (for triple channel), I got some results. Using the other 3 slots, the computer didn't boot at all. Not even POST. I ran memtest86 and this is what I've got:
Individual sticks in each slot: all pass
Every combo of 2 sticks: failed at 45% of first test
all 3: test freezes at 7% of first test

I've never used memtest before today so I'm not quite sure what these results mean. Is it faulty memory or possibly a motherboard problem?

Motherboard: EVGA X58 SLI LE

Let me know if any other information is needed.

P.S. Also, for some reason, a few seconds after shutting down my computer (while I was changing and testing the memory), I hear a slight sizzling sound coming from somewhere on the board, though I can't tell where. Normal or could this have something to do with my memory problem?

Thanks!

it sounds like you motherboard doesn't like the ram you have. you might have to upgrade you BIOS

but the sizzling sound doesnt sound good at all, if was you i would RMA the motherboard

you can does this here
EVGA RMA

Sounds like one or more traces to the RAM slots are fried. RMA time I think.
It seems that your second DIMM slot is likely the culprit- this needs to be populated for 2 sticks to be used, and of course needs to be populated if using all three sticks.