My first build need guidance

Arman

Hey guys i'm just looking for some information on Motherboards and i have a couple other questions.

This is my first build and i'm going to be using it for mostly gaming but everyday use too.. basically i'm not sure what to do. My budget is about 800 dollars take or leave 50-100 bucks. I did some asking here and there and i was told i won't be able to get a good Intel / Nvidia rig for that budget even though that's what i want, but if that's true then i guess i can go AMD, but i have 0 experience with AMD. (if i sound stupid and ask stupid questions please bear with me it's my first build)

ALL purchases will be made online (most likely new egg) I live in Los Angeles California.

Starting with the Motherboard, i have 0 idea what im looking for. What should i look for? i know the obvious thing like look at the ports and what it got, and im probably gonna go for ASUS, but thats not 100%. So just give me some help there. Im not able to post any links yet because this is my first post but ill write down what they are and the price listed. (everything is from new egg)

For Graphics card i picked this out tell me what you think:
ASUS ENGTX460 DirectCU TOP/2DI/768MD5 GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 768MB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card for 149.99.

For sound card i have no clue will i even need one? Doesn't the decent motherboard have integrated sound? (even though its not great?)

For Power supply i don't have any problems i have a 500w at the moment and i'll just use that.

for the Disk reader/burner what should i go for? Won't the regular one just do it?
ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM for 17.99

Processor: Right now im on a little Intel Core 2 Duo e4500. I'm looking to upgrade to an i5 or even i7 if the price is right and can fit it into the budget.