Need help with PC Upgrade

By Jawshh
Aug 7, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HI,

    First of all, my pc specs:

    Gigabyte G - 81915PL-G Motherboard,
    Pentium 4 processor with HT Capability,
    1GB Ram,
    Geforce 7300GT GPU,
    160 GB HDD( I also have a 500GB external HDD),
    LG DVD-Drive.
    Windows XP SP3

    Well, I used to play games a lot on this pc some time ago, but with the introduction of those powerful games together with the DX10 and vista(which is very slow if installed on my system), i cannot play the new gen games anymore, the other day, i bought GTA 4 and installed it, i put all its settings to low and it is very lagging.:(

    So, i decided that i must upgrade my pc. Ok i dnt want to spend too much money on the upgrade. I would like to know what are the best and cheapest hardware i can buy.

    I have already looked at:

    Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H motherboard

    2X 2GB DDR2 PC2-8500 RAM

    AMD Tri Core ( Phenom II X3)

    Geforce 8500GT 512MB.

    Please tell me if there are any better hardware within the price range.
    And i live in Mauritius.

    Thanx.

    P.S Please excuse me if my english is bad, i do not speak english in my country.
  2. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] I'm a TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,257   +110

    Is this the motherboard http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=1884?

    I personally recommend upgrading your CPU, graphics card, and consequently, the powersupply.
    What is your budget?

    Firstly, I don't believe you need a new motherboard, your current one has enough to provide good performance.
    While more RAM will certainly help, it will provide the least benefit, the graphics card and processor is more important.
    You cannot fit the amazing Phenom II X3 720 in your current motherboard. If you upgraded to the motherboard you mentioned above, it is a great choice, but it's not as cost effective.
    The 8500gt is a weak card.
  3. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    RE : Need help with PC Upgrade

    Thanx for you reply hellokitty[hk],

    Your link leads to gigabyte's motherboard page, not to my specific board page.

    To view my motherboard: Under 'By series' select 'GA-8xxxx' and Under 'Model Name' select 'GA-81915PL-G ( rev 1.x ).

    My PSU : Geniustek 550W ATX 12V P4

    And, My Budget is like 380$ or less if possible because i also got a new mobile phone to buy :confused:

    Well, my motherboard has a 800Mhz FSB which means that i cannot install a processor greater that an Intel Pentium D 3.60Ghz . I don't know if this processor will benefit me.

    I'll list the prices of the products that you quoted(Highest price from Ebay):

    Gigabyte GA-MA785G-UD3H motherboard - $119.99

    2X 2GB DDR2 PC2-8500 RAM( price from crucial.com) - $59.99

    AMD Tri Core ( Phenom II X3) - $140

    Geforce 8500GT 512MB - $50.99

    The 8500gt is a weak card?? :eek: I also checked the 8800gs which is $54.99. Can u suggest a better card?

    Please suggest products that I can buy. Thanx. :grinthumb
  4. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    Hi Jawshh,
    assuming that your PSU is of sufficient quality, and you want to upgrade the components you listed. I recommend these.(the links are just so you can see them, i don't know what sources you have available to purchase from)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128376
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227298
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103649
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102835

    you might also consider this processor if budget gets tighter
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103680

    If you need a new PSU and want to go with just the graphics card update route, i would still recommend the same graphics card.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102835
  5. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Hi,

    Thanx for the info, I think i'll upgrade with ur suggested hardwares:approve: .

    And one more thing, do you think i should upgrade my PSU or is it good?

    My PSU : Geniustek 550W ATX 12V P4

    Thank again.
  6. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,277   +22

    Upgrade your PSU if you can. It is not necessary IMO.
  7. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Ok Thank you all very Much.
  8. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Hey can someone suggest a good power supply? Because with my current one, my pc randomly turns off sometimes. So i think that it won't be able to run my new hardware. Thanx
  9. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

  10. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Thanx red1776
  11. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    red1776, will i get maximum performance with the 450W one? I want max performance with minimum price,u know. Thanx
  12. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    yes Jawshh, both are excellent PSU's. the 550w would just give you more room for a top end card in the future if you wanted, but with those parts, the 450w is top notch
  13. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Ok great ;) . Thanx
     
  14. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Hey red1776 can you suggest a good cooling system. Not expensive plz. Thanx.
  15. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    Attached Files:

  16. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Hi,

    Well, i can see that my temperatures is higher than yours,even if my cpu is a lot older. I have attached pictures of my temperatures and of my case. I have circled the areas where there are fans. And i always remove a side cover when i use the pc. Is my case good?

    Thanx

    Attached Files:

  17. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    Hi Jawshh,
    yeah it looks like it will work, you can expect lower temps for sure with the Phenom II and one of those HS/F i listed so i don't think that's a problem at all. and you wont have to remove your side panel. the P4 runs much warmer than the phenom II (its a 45nm tech) . the case looks plenty big for the new components as well.
  18. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Thanx. Btw, what OS do you use? I am using XP SP3 but do you think i should buy a vista when I upgrade? Or is it possible to experience dx10 graphics on XP as well? And what's the difference between 64 and 32 bits?
  19. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    I am dual booting Vista 64 bit and windows 7 RC 64 bit. DX 10 needs to be Vista or windows 7, DX9 is what you have with XP. I would wait and use windows 7 as it come out OCT 22nd, if you cant wait and have an XP disc, i would move your XP over and the get 7 when it comes out. as far as 32 bit vs 64 bit, i will tell you that 64 bit is the way to go for better performance, and it is the future and standard in computing. basically it allows wider access to the data buss, and can move twice the data. here is a brief tutorial on 64 bit,(its of 2006 vintage, so pay no mind to the problems it mentions, they have long been overcome)
    right then, let me know if you need anymore assistance :)
  20. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    ok thats clear. Thanx for helping me man.
  21. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Hey red, i have a GeniusTek 550W PSU you remember... can i use when i upgrade or is it very necessary to change PSU?
  22. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    that's enough wattage for the build, as far as the PSU itself, i dont know anything about that brand. i couldn't find anything on it when i tried to look it up. look at the tag on the side of the PSU, at the 12v+ rails. it would be a good idea to have 26A + ideally (add both rails if there is more than one)
  23. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    Yea i know, i can find anything on the brand also, lol, that is why it is $15.

    There is 24A under +12V
  24. red1776

    red1776 Omnipotent Ruler of the Universe Posts: 5,847   +64

    well you can use it, but a 15$ psu makes me nervous, the reason bieng that when it goes out on you, its not just going to be the psu, it will take out your CPU,Motherboard, etc with it. my advice is to protect your investment. as soon as you can, get yourself an Antec 450w-500w. you can get one for 40-50$ you wont regret it :)
  25. Jawshh

    Jawshh TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 438

    ok. thanx :)
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.