No power to Power Supply, no lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

Berzer

Came home, walked in and noticed my PC was off. monitor was on, speakers on, modem everything on as if the power had blinked out for a sec and my system had shutdown. I pressed the power button on the front and got nothing. i checked the power supply's own power on/off switch on the back and got nothing. no light that its on or anything. thought maybe it was the cable so i plugged it into my other pc and the cable works, so i'm thinking maybe the psu went bad or took a hit. Im guessing i just need to replace it. How difficult is it to replace it by yourself. i've never done that before and do you think that its the psu at fault? I'm thinking that if there is not power on light, then something is wrong big with it. my heat temps stay down between 28C and 34C at the highest. Also, can i replace it with just any other 600w power supply or does it need to be a specific kind. company i bought it from online listed it as dual core certified 600w psu. no mention of 12v rail or anything else. i guess i can get that from them if they have it on file.

thanks for the advice. i shouldnt need new cords to hook up to the cpu and other devices should i? i'm attempting first to see if i can get the company i bought the system from to replace it being that its 6 months. should be some sort of warranty right? or should i just go ahead and order a new one?

Well on most Power supplies the cords are what you call (built in) so no choice gots to be removed. Now for the warranty i would see if the company would replace it first then if they don't then is when i would purchase a PSU. After more people give suggestion on the best power supply. I just recommended you one. Their might be better than what i recommended. :D I would go with the corsair IMO.