TechSpot

No Taskbar, Desktop, Task Manager

By Eggroll
Feb 3, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi, I'm an IT guy and I'm trying to fix this coworker's laptop.

    On his account, when he starts into Windows, there is no taskbar or desktop icons. It only shows the wallpaper. However, when I try to pull up the task manager, it says that it's been disabled by the administrator(only for this particular account, Administrator and CrockerAdmin account can pull up the taskmgr). Checked the registry for the "DisableTaskMgr" Values and they are all set to '0'. So I'm assuming it's something that's disabling it on startup.

    Anyways, I'm producing all of these on the CrockerAdmin account. Attached are the requested log files from the 3 programs suggested. Please advise.
     
  2. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Oops, forgot I had this log file for MAM. This one is from before the other one I had posted originally.
     
  3. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Hi Eggroll

    Run HKT and remove the entries below.
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {C5F6F1D0-17C3-4F0D-98AF-3258CE6ECE7B} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {F46B3401-614A-4D00-8C8F-6AAEFD083AEB} - (no file)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: ACNotify - ACNotify.dll (file missing)
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: urqQhFwt - urqQhFwt.dll (file missing)
    23 - Service: IBM PSA Access Driver Control (PsaSrv) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\PsaSrv.exe (file missing)

    Update and run both MBAM and SAS again Quick scan

    Then reboot and do the below.

    Download SDFix to Desktop.

    http://downloads.andymanchesta.com/RemovalTools/SDFix.exe

    On Desktop run SDdFix It will run (install) then close.

    Then reboot into Safe Mode

    As the computer starts up, tap the F8 key several times.

    On the Boot menu Choose Safe Mode.

    Click thu all the prompts to get to desktop.

    At Desktop
    My Computer C: drive. Double-click to open.

    Look for a folder called SD Fix. Double-click to enter SD Fix.

    Double-click to RunThis.bat. Type Y to begin.

    SD Fix does its job.

    When prompted hit the enter key to restart the computer

    Your computer will reboot.

    On normal restart the Fixtool will run again and complete the removal process then say Finished,
    Hit the Enter key to end the script and load your desktop icons.

    Once the desktop is up, the SDFix report will open on screen and also be saved to the SDFix folder as Report.txt.
    Attach the Report.txt file to your next post.
    =========================================
    Download ComboFix

    NOTE: If you have had ComboFix more than a few days old delete and re-download.

    Get it here: http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/ComboFix.exe
    Or here: http://subs.geekstogo.com/ComboFix.exe

    Double click combofix.exe follow the prompts.

    When finished, it will open a log.
    Attach the log and a new HJT log in your next reply.

    Note: Do not click combofix's window while its running. That may cause it to stall.

    Mike
     
  4. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    3 more attachments.
     
  5. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Hi Eggroll

    Boot to Safe Mode and do all below.

    Run HJT select and remove the below
    O23 - Service: IBM PSA Access Driver Control (PsaSrv) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\PsaSrv.exe (file missing)

    Left Drag mouse and Copy for Pasting all text in the box below. Make sure the slider bar goes to bottom from the @ to the end of the second exit.

    Then paste to the black screen of an open command prompt. All may not apply so ignore errors.
    Code:
    @echo off
    cd\
    :: Fix associations
    ftype exefile="%1" %*
    ftype batfile="%1" %*
    ftype cmdfile="%1" %*
    ftype comfile="%1" %*
    ftype scrfile="%1" /S
    ftype regfile="regedit.exe" "%1"
    ftype piffile="%1" %*
    ftype inffile=%SystemRoot%\System32\NOTEPAD.EXE "%1"
    ftype vbsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    ftype jsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    
    assoc .exe=exefile
    assoc .bat=batfile
    assoc .cmd=cmdfile
    assoc .com=comfile
    assoc .scr=scrfile
    assoc .reg=regfile
    assoc .pif=piffile
    assoc .lnk=lnkfile
    assoc .inf=inffile
    assoc .vbs=VBSFile
    assoc .js=JSFile
    
    sc stop TDSSserv.sys
    sc delete TDSSserv.sys
    :: Above sc commands first stops then deletes service if it exists
    ::
    reg unload "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\tdssdata"
    reg unload "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\tdss"
    ::
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\tdssdata" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\tdss" /f
    ::The above reg commands first unloads the reg keys then deletes these keys.
    ::
    Attrib -h -s -r tdss*.* /s
    del  tdss*.* /f /q /s
    :: The above two lines first clears protective attributes then 
    :: deletes all files on Drive beginning with the name tdss
    
    :: Remove AntiVirus2009
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Desktop\Antivirus 2009.lnk"
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Antivirus 2009.lnk"
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\S96PZM7V\winsrc[1].dll"
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009\*.*"
    
    del "%UserProfile%\Desktop\Antivirus 2009.lnk" /f /q
    del "%UserProfile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Antivirus 2009.lnk" /f /q
    del "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\S96PZM7V\winsrc[1].dll" /f /q
    del "%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009\*.*" /f /q
    
    rd /s /q "%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009"
    
    attrib -h -s -r "c:\Program Files\Antivirus 2009\*.*"
    rd /s/q "c:\Program Files\Antivirus 2009"
    
    attrib -h -s -r c:\WINDOWS\system32\ieupdates.exe
    attrib -h -s -r c:\WINDOWS\system32\scui.cpl
    attrib -h -s -r c:\WINDOWS\system32\winsrc.dll
    
    del c:\WINDOWS\system32\ieupdates.exe /f /q
    del c:\WINDOWS\system32\scui.cpl /f /q
    del c:\WINDOWS\system32\winsrc.dll /f /q
    
    attrib -h -s -r c:\program files\xwdxqu.txt
    attrib -h -s -r c:\windows\x
    attrib -h -s -r c:\windows\SxsCaPendDel
    
    del c:\program files\xwdxqu.txt  /f /q
    del c:\windows\x  /f /q
    del c:\windows\SxsCaPendDel  /f /q
    
    reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\swearware /f
    reg delete HKCU\Software\Wget /f
    reg delete HKLM\Software\Classes\CLSID\{CD363BEC-7150-B887-530D-F3E2E0424EA} /f
    
    :: rootkit gaopdxserv
    attrib -h -s -r "c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxqfotrruc.sys"
    attrib -h -s -r "c:\windows\system32\gaopdxqpqjwmyc.dll"
    attrib -h -s -r "\c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxuigiphwm.sys"
    
    sc stop gaopdxserv.sys.sys
    sc delete gaopdxserv.sys.sys
    
    del  /f /q "c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxqfotrruc.sys"
    del  /f /q  "c:\windows\system32\gaopdxqpqjwmyc.dll"
    del  /f /q  "\c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxuigiphwm.sys"
    
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\ControlSet001\Services\gaopdxserv.sys" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\ControlSet001\Services\gaopdxserv.sys" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\gaopdxvx" /f
    
    reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\75319611769193918898704537500611" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{037C7B8A-151A-49E6-BAED-CC05FCB50328}" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Browser Helper Objects\{037C7B8A-151A-49E6-BAED-CC05FCB50328}" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" "75319611769193918898704537500611" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" "ieupdate" /f
    echo Finshed ripping out Antivirus 2008-9
    :: Fix associations
    ftype exefile="%1" %*
    ftype batfile="%1" %*
    ftype cmdfile="%1" %*
    ftype comfile="%1" %*
    ftype scrfile="%1" /S
    ftype regfile="regedit.exe" "%1"
    ftype piffile="%1" %*
    ftype inffile=%SystemRoot%\System32\NOTEPAD.EXE "%1"
    ftype vbsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    ftype jsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    
    assoc .exe=exefile
    assoc .bat=batfile
    assoc .cmd=cmdfile
    assoc .com=comfile
    assoc .scr=scrfile
    assoc .reg=regfile
    assoc .pif=piffile
    assoc .lnk=lnkfile
    assoc .inf=inffile
    assoc .vbs=VBSFile
    assoc .js=JSFile
    exit
    exit
    Reboot once more to Safe Mode and run ComboFix again and post log.

    Mike
     
  6. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Could not remove the 023 Service - IBM PSA entry. Running a scan, it will pop up again.

    Taskbar and desktop showed up since my last post.

    Can't find a way to totally disable Sophos, other than just stopping its services. Hope that works.
     
  7. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Run MBAM click More Tools-Run Tool

    Copy the below line into File name: and click OK to delete.
    c:\program files\xwdxqu.txt

    Reboot!

    Then post a new HJT log.

    Give full status report since Taskmgr etc is fixed what else do we need to address.

    Mike
     
  8. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    CrockerAdmin account seems fine.

    Logged into the account with the disabled Task Manager and it is still disabled. Background is gone, just a blue wallpaper now, used to be a picture. You see the picture for a few seconds when you first log in to this account. Right clicked -> Properties -> Desktop Tab. Everything is grayed out except for 'Customize Desktop' button. Seems like background is disabled in general. Changing Themes doesn't affect background/wallpaper. You can't select a background either.

    This HJT log is from the broken account.
     
  9. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    In Accounts is the Bad account an Admin account?

    If not make it one for this cleanup then set it back if needed after fixed.

    If it now gives access run SAS MBAM and Combofix!

    If it does not give access try the bad account in Safe Mode!

    Mike
     
  10. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Yes, it is an admin account.

    I'll try booting into safe mode with that account and run SAS, MBAM, and ComboFix. I'll post the logs.
     
  11. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Went into Safe Mode.
    Ran SAS. Rebooted, desktop/background/wallpaper is accessible. So is task manager.
    Ran MBAM in Safe Mode. Rebooted.
    Ran ComboFix in Safe Mode. Rebooted.
    Ran HJT in regular mode.

    Looks like most things noticeable to my eye are gone. But not sure what other problems there might be. Here are the logs. Thanks.
     
     
  12. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    OK good!

    Because we had found and cleaned items in MBAM and SAS run another Quick scan to confirm we come up with clean logs. In SAS be sure to select to remove Tracking cookies.

    Now what is the overall status. What more do we need to address?

    Mike
     
  13. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Ran SAS and MBAM. Rebooted and ran them again and nothing comes up. Thank you, Mike. If you think there's anything else I should do, please let me know. Have a great day and thanks for your patience and help.
     
  14. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Great good job!

    Thread closing-------------------------------------------------------------------

    Some of these tools update so often they require downloading again later if needed. But keep and run MBAM and SAS to maintain.

    Remove ComboFix
    Start-Run
    type
    combofix /u
    Hit enter or click OK.

    Please download OTCleanIt http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/oldtimer/OTCleanIt.exe

    Save to desktop.

    This will remove all the tools we used to clean your computer.


    Double-click OTCleanIt.exe. Click CleanUp. Yes to the "Begin cleanup Process?"

    Approve all if prompted by Firewall. Approve Widows Defender or other guards or security programs while OTCleanIt attempting access to the Internet to allow all.

    If prompted to Reboot click, Yes.
    OTCleanit will delete itself when finished, If not delete it by yourself.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run CCleaner again twice or more on Cleanup temps, then on left click Registry then Scan for issues also repeat till clean.

    Run ATF-Cleaner http://majorgeeks.com/ATF_Cleaner_d4949.html Temp and Registry, repeatedly until no more found.

    KCleaner ftp://ftp2.kcsoftwares.com/kcsoftwa/files/kcleaner.exe
    Fantastic cleaner.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The issues can and are likely found is in System Restore so do the below

    Start-Programs-Accessories-System Tools-Disk- System Restore and create a new Restore point. Name it "After cleanup at TechSpot".

    Then Start-Programs-Accessories-System Tools-Disk Cleanup
    Click OK to accept C:
    Select all Boxes
    Then click More Options
    Here click System Restore and OK to "Are you sure" and the OK to Run.

    As this runs it clears all but the most recent Restore Point but it does one other thing that can contain infested files and a huge amount of disk space.

    It clears what is known as Shadow copies which are used by specialized back up programs.

    This is if you have the Volume Shadow Copy running which is the default.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Every two weeks or so, run MBAM and SAS until clean.

    They take a while, so leave scanning while you are sleeping working or watching TV. If not done under the gun they can be scheduled not to interfere with computer time.

    If they find something they can not clean, then get back to us.

    Additionally run CCleaner. ATF-Cleaner and KCleaner.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have been using ThreatFire for more than a year, it just went from ver 3 to ver 4.

    It was designed to be used with and to co-exist with other Virus scanners.

    Additionally it uses a totally different process to protect. While conventional Virus scanners work from definitions ThreatFire works on recognizing Virus/Malware activity.

    It's like looking at it with 2 sets of eyes and from a different angle.

    It works like some Firewalls do to learn what is good/bad.

    After install it will ask you about everything that could be a security issue. For example the first time you run IE or FireFox it will prompt you. You would answer to approve and remember the setting. From then on no more prompts about IE or FireFox unless the exe changes like in an update.

    As it queries you about the prompt to help you determine to approve or not you can google it with one click.

    http://www.threatfire.com/Download/
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Look at http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    Run SpyBot ocassionally and use the Immunize function.
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/

    I highly reccomend Hostman: Hostman http://majorgeeks.com/HostsMan_d4592.html

    Download install run and allow it to disable DNS Client and select all Host files and then Update and install all host files.

    A Disk Scan (chkdsk) and Defrag are in order.

    Mike
     
  15. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Ah just got your reply. I let the laptop sit for a bit and Sophos picked up Troj/Agent-IUF. :(

    Should I just run MBAM and SAS again?
     
  16. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Yes to be sure! Use the Quick scans.

    But since you were clean you likely got reinfected from a website or email or an audio or Video file. Do you remember what all you did.

    You did let Sophos remove it right?

    Mike
     
  17. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Haha. I didn't do anything. I went on my lunch break at work. Came back and chilled for a bit and then checked the laptop and Sophos had picked them up. I wasn't using any applications.

    I noticed that both were in C:\System Volume(somethingsomething)\_restore... so I guess they were just saved from the system restores that were made during the process of cleaning out the laptop?

    Either way, I let Sophos clean them up and they're gone now. So I'm letting it sit there again idle, not doing anything to see if it comes back. Very weird.
     
  18. Eggroll

    Eggroll TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 35

    Last update. Sophos was picking up nircmd.exe which apparently comes with ComboFix so false alarm. haha. Thanks for helping out.
     
  19. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    OK so you are saying all is well we are finished!

    Mike
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.