also @ TechSpot: Apple CEO declines $75 million payout in stock dividends

TechSpot

Pay Pal Scam - Hall of Fame

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ! !, Nov 12, 2005.

  1. ! ! Banned

    It might be interesting to have a HALL of FAME of the BEST Scams;
    This one would certainly be in the running:

    How many people will fall for THIS ONE?




    BTW:
    211.97.116.229 - this IP is in Bekjing China
    NOw, take a look at this webpage

    http://211.97.116.229/.cgi-bin/paypal/



    211.97.116.229 CN CHINA - - CHINA UNITED TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION

    http://www.ip2location.com/free.asp

    He /she is NOT using a DOMAIN NAME so it is not as easy to BAN him :hotouch:
  2. Didou Bowtie extraordinair!

    I've had a few for Paypal & one or two for eBay. I'd post the links but they're all dead now. I think almost anyone with a hotmail account has had the Paypal one at least once. ;)
  3. ! ! Banned

    This one was received minutes later - check out that domain - some people are definitely falling for this

    :darth: you can not even contact Yahoo in a timely manner to inform them of this


    http://paypal.com.login-user4173.info/webscr.php?cmd=LogIn

    http://whois.sc/login-user4173.info

    These people are REALLY raking it in
  4. RealBlackStuff Newcomer, in training

    IF the real PayPal sends you an email (and it's a really big IF), they will address you by your proper name. They will NEVER EVER ask you to confirm your identity, NOR ask you to log into your account by clicking on a weblink.
    You are (at the most) invited to confirm things by logging yourself in, using a freshly opened browser, and ONLY going to htpps://www.paypal.com.

    Anything else is a scam.
  5. ! ! Banned

    This one is a brand NEW Strategy - it is really frustrating knowing that they are going to deceive some people with their Tact


    But this URL is so BLATENT - But sounds so official

    http://www.mediagate.biz/webscr/update.html

  6. RealBlackStuff Newcomer, in training

    Please refrain from putting any more PayPal weblinks in these posts.
    You are using official PayPal links but make them look bad, because you don't transfer the 'false' links properly (which you shouldn't anyway).

    People got the message!
  7. hewybo Newcomer, in training

    I have received no less than six of these types of e-mails over the last month. I bought four different designer watches under four different names, all while apparently travelling in EUROPE!! Imagine my surprise! "Would you like to dispute the Charges? Please click this link, and log on." DUH!Good that people here are looking out for each other, tho.
    Newbies!!-- don't be gullible.