TechSpot

PC Restarting & Crashing. Please help

By cmcf
Oct 17, 2005
  1. OK,

    I've been experiencing these problems for a while now and have done nothing about it.

    Heres my spec

    P4 - 3.0GHz
    1Gb of ram
    Abit VT7 motherboard audio for VIA
    300W PSU
    Onboard sound - Realtek AC'97
    ATI Radeon 9000 128mb
    80GB running multiboot(Both XP) on my 2 seperate hard disks
    40GB
    CD/DVD-RW
    DVD-ROM

    I have a Zalman CNPS7700-Cu fan on my processor which runs at about 1600RPM at the CPU sits at about 50c when just doing normal windows things like internet browsing etc.

    The problem i have is that when just doing normal windows things my computer will either restart(no warning, just cuts out) or i'll get the blue screen saying i've had a hardware malfunction. I'm not sure if these problems are related or not. When i get back into XP Pro i send the error report off too microsoft. I then get the internet browser up saying that the problem was caused by my RAM on some occassions but on others it says it was caused by a device driver but doesn't know which one. I have tested my RAM using BURNITTEST and it doesn't report any errors.

    I have looked at the event viewer and its says event 1003 -

    Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c000001d, parameter2 80579926, parameter3 b88d2b58, parameter4 00000000.

    this doesn't come up every time which is why i think its 2 different problems.

    I have attached the 4 most recent minidumps but there are another 15 or so that date back to 10/08/05 which i think was just after i had formatted my hard disk.

    Please help.

    many thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    All your minidumps crash with memory corruption.

    One also crashes with SYMEVENT.SYS as well. this is the crash guard driver for your Symantec/Norton security product.

    Try uninstalling, and reinstalling the programme, also check for updates , and patches.

    Also try tuning off the live update feature, as on some machines/configurations this can cause problems.

    Check your ram. Go HERE for instructions on how to test your ram.

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  3. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    Thank you for your help.

    I have tested both of my memory modules individually with the memory tester like you reccomended and i have found some errors. I wonder if you can determin whats wrong with them and if i need to replace 1 or both of the memory modules. Here are the results.

    512Mb Mem1

    Tst Pass Failing Address Good Bad Err-Bits Count

    7 5 0001d333528-467.1mb 97c5e938 97c5eb3a 00000202 1
    7 5 0001d22f7c8-466.9mb b55ae192 b55ae39a 00000208 1

    512Mb Mem2

    7 1 00001069c74-16.5mb c0a78550 c0a78551 00000001 1

    Thanks again for your help.
     
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    The fact that Memtest86+ has found errors on both sticks or ram, indicates that both sticks are faulty.

    Get some new ram, and hopefully your system will then be ok.

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  5. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    Thanks again for your help,

    I just happen to have a brand new spare 512mb stick of RAM which i have plugged in. I thought i might as well test it and to my horror it picked up a lot more errors than my existing sticks. I think it picked up 8 errors and it hadn't even finished the 2nd Pass.

    This leads me to think that it might be another problem, perhaps the motherboard. Or maybe i have no luck when it comes to buying new RAM.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Mmm. Have you tried cleaning out the dimm slots with a little compressed air.

    Of course it is possible that you are indeed unlucky enough to have 3 bad sticks of ram.

    It could also be your mobo, or cpu that`s causing the problem, but lets stick to the ram for now.

    Can you give us your full system specs?

    If you look at the first link in my signature, you will see what info we need, plus how to go about getting it.

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  7. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    Computer:
    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
    DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
    Computer Name CHRIS-PC
    User Name user

    Motherboard:
    CPU Type Intel Pentium 4, 3000 MHz (15 x 200)
    Motherboard Name Abit VT7 (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
    Motherboard Chipset VIA Apollo PT880
    System Memory 1024 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type Award (05/14/04)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
    Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

    Display:
    Video Adapter Tul Corporation, RADEON 9000 PRO EVIL COMMANDO - Sec (128 MB)
    Video Adapter Tul Corporation, RADEON 9000 Pro (128 MB)
    3D Accelerator ATI Radeon 9000 (RV250)
    Monitor Sharp LL-172G-B [NoDB] (4T006897)

    Multimedia:
    Audio Adapter VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller

    Storage:
    IDE Controller VIA Bus Master IDE Controller
    SCSI/RAID Controller VIA SATA RAID Controller
    Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
    Disk Drive Maxtor 6Y080L0 (80 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
    Disk Drive SAMSUNG SP0411N (40 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
    Optical Drive IDE DVD-ROM 16X (16x DVD-ROM)
    Optical Drive LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S (DVD+R9:2.4x, DVD+RW:8x/4x, DVD-RW:8x/4x, DVD-ROM:12x, CD:40x/24x/40x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
    SMART Hard Disks Status OK

    Partitions:
    C: (NTFS) 78152 MB (57937 MB free)
    D: (NTFS) 38193 MB (30532 MB free)
    Total Size 113.6 GB (86.4 GB free)

    Input:
    Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
    Mouse PS/2 Compatible Mouse

    Network:
    Network Adapter Belkin 802.11g Network Adapter (192.168.2.4)

    Peripherals:
    Printer Auto hp photosmart P1100 series on CUBE
    Printer hp photosmart P1100 series
    Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
    USB1 Controller NEC uPD720100A USB OpenHCI Controller (v1.0)
    USB1 Controller NEC uPD720100A USB OpenHCI Controller (v1.0)
    USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
    USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
    USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
    USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
    USB2 Controller NEC uPD720100A USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller (v2.0)
    USB2 Controller VIA USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
     
  8. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Thanks for the specs.

    I am still of the opinion that you have a ram problem. Can you try a known good stick of ram, from one of your friends maybe?

    If you can, and you still get errors as reported by Memtest, then I would say that your mobo`s dimm slots are indeed bad.

    Also check you mobo for domed or leaking capacitors. Look HERE for an explanation.

    Finally. What psu do you have in your system? Is it a good quality psu, or a cheap no name brand that came with your case?

    Regards Howard :)
     
  9. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    thanks for your quick response's

    much appreciated.

    My PSU is listed below and i bought it fairly recently and it wasn't that cheap. £25.

    Pcicase PMC1058PV 300w P4 ATX 12v PSU.

    I will check my mobo tomorrow and also give it a clean. there's minimal dust in there as it is as i like to keep it dust free. I have recently purchased a zalman fan to keep the cpu cool thinking that this was the problem.
     
  10. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Now we might be getting somewhere.

    That psu apart from not being very good qaulity, isn`t really powerfull enough for your system.

    I think you`d need at least 450watts.

    Go HERE and use this handy psu wattage calculator.

    Remember to add another 30% to whatever figure it gives you.

    This is because even a good quality psu will only achieve around 70% efficiency. A cheap psu won`t ahieve anywhere near that.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  11. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    i can't understand why the PSU would effect the RAM in my PC??
     
  12. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I`m not saying your psu is affecting your ram.

    Just looking at other possible causes for concern with your system.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  13. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    OK. Can you recommend me a good PSU then? maybe a chioce of lets say 3.

    many thanks
     
  14. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

  15. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

  16. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    That psu you linked is a real beauty.

    If you don`t notice a difference with that in your system I`d be surprised.

    I`m not sure I know what you mean by the above?

    Regards Howard :)
     
  17. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    So you recon i should get the one thats 4th one down on that list?

    What i mean by more options in the future is that if i was to get, lets say, another hard disk and maybe another optical drive then i'd still have enough power with that PSU rather than having to purchase a new one.
     
  18. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Yes the fourth one down in you link is an excellent choice.

    As far as adding more drives etc.

    That shouldn`t be a problem with that psu. However, there is always a limit, with any psu.

    Just calculate what your power requirements are likely to be, and add 30% to that for some headroom, and you wont go far wrong.

    Now. have you managed to try a known good stick of ram?

    Regards Howard :) :)
     
  19. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    Not as yet. Will try later when i get home from work.

    When you say good memory, you mean one thats been running in a PC for a while that doesn't cause any problems?
     
  20. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Yes that`s what I mean.

    I just don`t want you to start buying new ram, just in case it`s another problem.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  21. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,994

    Hi CMCF,

    Howard's finding is right and it is hardware error. Maybe it is overheat. What is the temperature of CPU.
     
  22. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

    System temp is about 35c and CPU temp is about 48-50c doing normal Windows tasks like internet browsing and word processing etc.
     
  23. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

  24. cmcf

    cmcf TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 31

  25. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Your last minidump crashes at SYMEVENT.SYS.

    This is the same driver as my reply to you #2 at the top of this thread.

    Regards Howard :)
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...