TechSpot

Physical dump memory, comp crash, format install windows not working

By Boostedpenguin
Jun 19, 2005
  1. Osocoloso

    Osocoloso TS Rookie

    My dumps...

    Can someone please look at my dumps too? I started having BSODs once or twice every day about 2 weeks ago. No hardware changes or driver updates have been done. I've attached 4 minidumps - I'll be happy to add more if needed.

    Thanks!!!

    Jose
     
  2. Osocoloso

    Osocoloso TS Rookie

    Anyone? Please??? I'm about to throw away my computer...
     
  3. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Two of your minidumps are inaccessible and this are the symptom of faulty RAM. One minidump crashed at tcpip. As you know tcpip is a stable module. It crashes only if hardware error.

    Suggestion
    1. Reseat your memory to another memory slot
    2. Downclock the RAM
    3. Take one memory stick if you have two. If no more BSOD occurs, the removed RAM is faulty.
     
  4. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    blue screen with Stuck Key 2

    Blue screen again, when restarting, it says an error: Stuck Key 2, then starting again its ok.

    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x0000004e (0x00000099, 0x00000000, 0x00000000, 0x00000000).

    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: %1. A dump was saved in: %2.

    I have put the Mini082105-01.dmp in the attachment. Please check. Also want to know how to see what is in the dump file.

    Really thanks.

    William
     
  5. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi William,

    Do you mean that after you update Norton AV and de-install tdiupdate, your windows crashed with bugcheck 4E with only one occurence?

    cpc2004
     
  6. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    what is bugcheck 4E

    I didnt update Norton AV, what is bugcheck 4E ?

    But every time the blue screen occurs, it always says "stuck key"
     
  7. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi William,

    From your latest minidump, I find out your Norton AV is upgraded to 2005. If you don't tell me the truth, I can't help you. Maybe some experts can help you.
     
  8. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    error report

    Dear Expert,

    I just have a full scan with the Norton, what is Norton AV?

    Also this morning when starting it has an error report, the program is rfibug.exe, location is c:/windows/system2, and the error occurs everytime after entering XP, wonder how to find the detail about the report. Its not convenient to see it just in the dialbox.

    a blue screen, dmp file attched.

    Also in the msconfig startup, there are some strange program. like yvvxsme.exe r, what does r mean here? also in system2

    Many thanks,

    William
     
  9. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    William,

    You does not provide accurate information. Garbage in and garbage out. Base upon your last minidump, fauty RAM is the culprit.

    KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000008e)
    This is a very common bugcheck. Usually the exception address pinpoints
    the driver/function that caused the problem. Always note this address
    as well as the link date of the driver/image that contains this address.
    Some common problems are exception code 0x80000003. This means a hard
    coded breakpoint or assertion was hit, but this system was booted
    /NODEBUG. This is not supposed to happen as developers should never have
    hardcoded breakpoints in retail code, but ...
    If this happens, make sure a debugger gets connected, and the
    system is booted /DEBUG. This will let us see why this breakpoint is
    happening.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: c0000005, The exception code that was not handled
    Arg2: 8054ae34, The address that the exception occurred at
    Arg3: f10e3aa0, Trap Frame
    Arg4: 00000000

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------


    EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at "0x%08lx" referenced memory at "0x%08lx". The memory could not be "%s".

    FAULTING_IP:
    nt!ExAllocatePoolWithTag+673
    8054ae34 897104 mov [ecx+0x4],esi

    TRAP_FRAME: f10e3aa0 -- (.trap fffffffff10e3aa0)
    ErrCode = 00000002
    eax=e15ae3e0 ebx=81f75050 ecx=00000000 edx=00000006 esi=81f750a8 edi=000001ff
    eip=8054ae34 esp=f10e3b14 ebp=f10e3b68 iopl=0 nv up ei pl nz ac pe nc
    cs=0008 ss=0010 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=0030 gs=0000 efl=00010212
    nt!ExAllocatePoolWithTag+0x673:
    8054ae34 897104 mov [ecx+0x4],esi ds:0023:00000004=????????
    Resetting default scope
    STACK_TEXT:
    f10e3b68 8056e662 00000001 00000001 61564d43 nt!ExAllocatePoolWithTag+0x673
    f10e3b88 8056afcd e10181f0 e15c9274 0000001e nt!CmpGetValueKeyFromCache+0x73
    f10e3be4 8056b2ae e10181f0 e1075464 f10e3c50 nt!CmpFindValueByNameFromCache+0x65
    f10e3c44 8056b236 e1075440 00220020 77d03a88 nt!CmQueryValueKey+0x96
    f10e3cec f9226097 00001990 01b9f308 00000002 nt!NtQueryValueKey+0x2cc
    WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
    f10e3d18 f91ff887 00001990 01b9f308 00000002 a347bus+0xe097
    f10e3d44 804de7ec 00001990 01b9f308 00000002 d347bus+0xd887
    f10e3d44 7c90eb94 00001990 01b9f308 00000002 nt!KiFastCallEntry+0xf8
    01b9f1ec 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x7c90eb94
     
  10. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    rfjbug.exe

    Dear Expert,

    I have copy the error report here attached in the attachment.

    It occurs everytime entering XP.

    Thanks.

    William
     
  11. adkinst

    adkinst TS Rookie

    physical memory dump error message

    Hello all!

    After reading some of these posts, I was hoping that someone could tell me what was going on with this machine. I have attached the files from the event viewer. The machine is up and running now, but I hope to keep it that way, so I would really appreciate if someone could tell me why I got the error message.

    Thanks in advance.
     
     
  12. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Your minidumps are corrupted and it is the symptom of bad ram.
     
  13. adkinst

    adkinst TS Rookie

    OK, thanks.

    So I assume replacing the RAM will fix this???

    thanks again.
     
  14. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

  15. Monster

    Monster TS Rookie

    Memory Dump and keep rebooting

    Hi folks, I am a newbie and I am very desperate for help. I switch on my system today and suddenly there wasa blue screen and said something about memory dump, it then rebooted and from morning till now, it is still the same. I tried booting into the safe mode and it appears that my hard disk did not crash.

    Could it be my RAM? or my mother board. My system is very new. Running on Intel P4 3.4GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 533 RAM (2 slots) and a 120GB hard disk with additional 2 removal IDE racks.

    Appreciate if all the masters and experts could help me on how to resolve the problem. Thanks ppl! :D
     
  16. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi Scoot,

    Do you resolve your problem?

    cpc2004
     
  17. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    rfjbug.exe

    Dear Expert,

    I have copy the error report here attached in the attachment.

    It occurs everytime entering XP. see the previous reply with a txt file.

    Thanks.

    William
     
  18. Viper113869

    Viper113869 TS Rookie

    Begin Physical Dump

    I have read through the problems on this forum and some things seem to coinside with my problem, but others don't.

    so here we go.

    not too long ago, my computer began to restart on me out of the blue. pretty much at random times. it restarts and comes up with the blue screen that has the begin physical dump of memory. now here is the odd twist that my situation has. my RAM, i use 2 sticks. and i have it in slots 3 & 4. when i have both of them in, the computer restarts everytime, i cant even start windows at all. BUT when i have only one stick of the RAM in slot 3 it works. to use the RAM for any of my gaming needs, i do need to have both in....or else i would just deal with the one. is there any reason that my computer would start with just one stick of the RAM in slot 3, but not both sticks in slot 3 & 4??

    any help on this would be wonderous, cause i have been lookin at it all week long!

    thanks!!!
     
  19. Viper113869

    Viper113869 TS Rookie

    The files from my last post.

    here is something that might help


    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x1000000a (0x00000008, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, 0x8051e17d). A dump was saved in: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\Mini081905-06.dmp.


    i attached some files... please help!

    thank you so much!!!
     
  20. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    blue screen

    Dear Expert,

    I have attached dmp file in the attachment.

    Thanks.

    William
     
  21. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi Viper,

    Obviously, this is the faulty RAM. Two bits were lost can cause bugcheck code 4E.

    PFN_LIST_CORRUPT (4e)
    Typically caused by drivers passing bad memory descriptor lists (ie: calling
    MmUnlockPages twice with the same list, etc). If a kernel debugger is
    available get the stack trace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 0000008f, The free or zeroed page listhead is corrupt
    Arg2: c001bbd1, new page
    Arg3: 0001bbd1, old page <--- (the high order byte shoud be c and it is 0. Two bits were lost and it is two bits corruption)
    Arg4: 00000000, 0

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 4
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: COMMON_SYSTEM_FAULT
    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x4E
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 80518891 to 804f8925

    STACK_TEXT:
    f8a80804 80518891 0000004e 0000008f c001bbd1 nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x1b
    f8a80844 8068466d 825ca788 00000000 00000044 nt!MmZeroPageThread+0x123
    f8a80dac 805c4a06 80087000 00000000 00000000 nt!Phase1Initialization+0x1145
    f8a80ddc 80540fa2 80683528 80087000 00000000 nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x34
    00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 nt!KiThreadStartup+0x16

    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    nt!MmZeroPageThread+123
    80518891 cc int 3

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 1
    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner
    SYMBOL_NAME: nt!MmZeroPageThread+123
    MODULE_NAME: nt
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 42250a1d
    STACK_COMMAND: kb
    IMAGE_NAME: memory_corruption
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x4E_nt!MmZeroPageThread+123
    BUCKET_ID: 0x4E_nt!MmZeroPageThread+123
     
  22. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi William,

    If you don't convice it is faulty ram. Post your problem at windowsbbs.com and this webpage does not accept attachment and you have to post the output of windbg there.

    cpc
     
  23. william_at_mi6

    william_at_mi6 TS Rookie

    what is fault ram

    Dear expert,

    What is fault ram, does it mean my memory went wrong?

    William
     
  24. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044

    Hi William,

    RAM means that Random Access Memory. AV is the abbreviation of antivirus. Search google and find out the question such as RAM, Norton AV. There have a lot of posts within this forum how to handle faulty ram. Do some reading b4 you ask question. You had better take your PC to hardware shop. You don't have the basic hardware knowledge. I am afraid that you will screw up your computer.

    cpc
     
  25. ndlu

    ndlu TS Rookie

    someone please help

    Could someone please have a look at my dump files and tell me what is wrong with this PC? It reboot by itself once evey few days. I have attached the files. Thanks.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.