Poll on Athlon vs Intel

?

Do you like Athlon or Intel Better

Poll closed Nov 25, 2005.
  1. Athlon

    27 vote(s)
    90.0%
  2. Intel

    3 vote(s)
    10.0%
By spartanslayer
Nov 13, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    chevy? mopar is where it's at. no engine in the world has anything on the hemi.

    i noticed you listed a number of failed remedies, replacing the same part over and over again. have you given any attention to the power supply?
  2. Mirob

    Mirob TechSpot Paladin Posts: 841

  3. DragonMaster

    DragonMaster Newcomer, in training Posts: 430

    Given any attention to the power supply? Yep, tried 2 different ones. I tried all this on a Pentium 2 350. The thing is that my Celeron 400 and Pentium 3 800 also crash while my Duron 950, 2x K6-2 400 and Athlon XP 2100 don't even if I use the same PSU, RAM or anything.
  4. kodrutz

    kodrutz TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 145

    AMD K6/166, K6-2/400, Duron 1100&1200 Morgans and finally a T-Bred B0 1700+@2000+, from 1997 to this day. Had also the opportunity to work with Intels a lot, and I must say that AMD was the one for me all the way. ;)
  5. DragonMaster

    DragonMaster Newcomer, in training Posts: 430

    Oh, and I forgot, AMD DX4-100 and DX2-66
  6. kodrutz

    kodrutz TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 145

    Good old times...

    Yes, what times, what times there were...I remember when I started the high school, in 1995, they had a lab with 286s, 386s and a single DX-4/100...also, I didn't mention previously that I own an AMD-built 286-SX/12Mhz, without math coprocessor and its mainboard & memory, fully functional, too bad I don't have a hard drive for it...it would be great as a Dyna-machine...
  7. Mirob

    Mirob TechSpot Paladin Posts: 841

    I have a Asus P5A-B aladin 5(ALi) with a K6-2-450 at 500mhz. I have a 333mhz P2 on a 440LX A-Trend that OCs that fast, and performs better in benchies. Both are stable, and still functioning.

    Neather compare to my 450mhz P3, that Can OC to 600mhz on my A-Bit BH6. The 440BX is a classic.
  8. 0blivious

    0blivious Newcomer, in training Posts: 43

    i couldnt say which one is better cuz ive only done one build w/ intel and non w/ amd, though my friends' computers are all run by athlons
  9. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    440bx? definitely. i still see 440bx servers floating around with PIII 500s and 512MB of PC 100. ahh, those were the days.

    but hey, times change. as of right now intel has nothing on AMD.
  10. Mirob

    Mirob TechSpot Paladin Posts: 841

    Other than market share, profits, and r&d.
  11. Ruder

    Ruder Newcomer, in training Posts: 134

    Why don't we let the compilers decide? They seem to lean very much towards Intel ...

    And don't forget about IBM's little pet project ... the cell processor.
     
  12. Mirob

    Mirob TechSpot Paladin Posts: 841

    IBM is AMD's r&d now, thay may have 65nm samples by july. It will be over one year before it's on the market. Times thay are a changing. Prices on Intels 65mn will be the same as 90nm parts are now.

    The fact a overclocked Celeron beats a overclocked FX anything is impressive. ON AIR!
    http://www.matbe.com/actualites/11983/intel-celeron-cedar-mill/
    That will be $120 chip. If he had a faster memory clock it would be much faster overall.
  13. TheInfamousJrod

    TheInfamousJrod Newcomer, in training

    AMD by far.... I just have issues with processor running at nuclear temperatures
  14. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    i'm not too fond of locked multipliers, if truth be told.
  15. ArchVile

    ArchVile Newcomer, in training Posts: 73

    ahhh yet another amd vs intel thread :)

    as always im going with amd just cause of the simpole fact that their cpu's are better
  16. luismigilbert

    luismigilbert Newcomer, in training

    Intel or Amd????

    To be honest, I prefer Intel...
    AMD burns like hell...Besides, i had to claim three Athlon XP waranty...
    So i changed to Intel when got married...zero problems...
    About performance... like someone posted...it depends on software you're going to work with... Gaming=AMD... Other=Intel...
  17. TLFETTLED

    TLFETTLED Newcomer, in training

    Price of AMD versus price of INTEL

    Looking at the prices of both cpus inel an amd it seems to me for the average consumer the price,s of the better cpus made by both companies is out of reach for the average consumer! No matter which is better! Might be the reason you see so many sempron's and celeron cpu being sold in walmart and other retail outlet's! The working man" BUYS WHAT THEY CAN AFFORD" ! ---Just my opinion--!
  18. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    ahh, affordable a64 rigs can be easily had. the trick os to not buy OEM. consumers who buy OEM are probably paying more for less. just go into a local pc repair joint and tess them what you want to use the machine for and they'll hook you up. all it takes is a bit of knowledge so you're not ripped off, and even people who know little about computers can end up with a nice computer that balances thier performance needs and budget.
  19. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    :knock: :angel:
  20. David Alexandru

    David Alexandru Newcomer, in training Posts: 43

    you mean:
    AMD Intel
    ------------
    462 423
    754 --
    939 478
    -- LGA775
  21. ink

    ink Newcomer, in training Posts: 35

    well ive only owned AMD and i see no reason to change to intel. i am truley happy with my athlon64 3000 dtr mobile.
  22. DragonMaster

    DragonMaster Newcomer, in training Posts: 430

    There are no reasons to change.

    I've owned and used more Intels than AMDs and while 100% of the Intels crash just for fun, 0% of the AMDs crash once the problem is found. It's always a RAM, graphic card or bad software thing while that with Intel, I tried changing PSUs, mobos, RAM, graphic cards, modems, HDDs, OSes, everything and they still crash while the same parts used with the AMDs don't.
  23. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    My Intel P4 never ever crashed once 'jus for fun' or jus cuz it felt like it lol. i guess thats jus my experience. I got an AMD64 939 3000+ now and i cant be happier with is since it fits me jus fine.

    although i miss my old p4 HT when it comes to multitasking. I used to play around with photoshop while encoding movies and chatting and the CPU was doing ok. my AMD right now would be on its knees begging for mercy. i guess the intels are best for some things while the AMD i have is best for 'most' things..

    jus my 2cents
  24. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    intel makes a fine product, but thier lengthy pipeline is a mistake in my opinion. and it is costing them, as more people turn to AMD's dcore alternatives.
  25. Mirob

    Mirob TechSpot Paladin Posts: 841

    AMD's FX-60 just came out today, looks real nice. But $1011, it's not worth it. Beet the new 955EE in almost everything, all but some encodeing. With AM2, and Intel's Conroe coming soon I think it's smart to hold off biulding a new system for awile. I realy want a Conroe.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.