TechSpot

Possible video card problem

By Slugga29
Nov 24, 2007
  1. I believe I've encountered a problem with my video card but I'm not completely sure if its the problem. Right now I can't view videos with windows media or VLC player without it freezing up. The weird thing is I can view videos on youtube, google, myspace, etc just fine. I also can't play any games anymore without it freezing up. I do have a outdated pc and a outdated video card (e-Geforce 6200 LE) I ran dxdiag and everything passed. I upgraded drivers and I even reformatted my pc and I get the same result. Help is greatly appreciated!


    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 6200 A-LE
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce 6200 A-LE
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0222&SUBSYS_A2953842&REV_A1
    Display Memory: 256.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (16 bit) (72Hz)
    Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0011.6375 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 10/4/2007 17:14:00, 5783424 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: n/a
    Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 10/4/2007 17:14:00, 6854464 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-4162-11CF-1543-9E8200C2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x10DE
    Device ID: 0x0222
    SubSys ID: 0xA2953842
    Revision ID: 0x00A1
    Revision ID: 0x00A1
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D ModeWMV9_B ModeWMV9_A
    Deinterlace Caps: {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D7 Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D8 Test Result: All tests were successful.
    D3D9 Test Result: All tests were successful.
     
  2. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

  3. pdyckman@comcas

    pdyckman@comcas TS Rookie Posts: 718

    So you can view moving pictures when a 'plug in' is pushing the pix? (Flashplayers). I think that you answered your own question when you say 'outdated'. No shame in that. A new card 'might' fix the problem, but 'might' isn't good enough for me, or you. You did not tell about your processor or ram but I'll assume that you need a new machine. Building your own is satisfying and you can customize to your needs. If you don't know how to put a machine together or consider parts and their compatibility: Start finding and printing the steps of building a P.C. Study and price all of the parts. Good Luck.
     
  4. Slugga29

    Slugga29 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks for your replies. I just find it frustrating one day everything is fine and the next day I started experiencing problems. =/ Below is the rest of my system specs.. I know its poo and looks like I just might have to get a new pc =/

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 11/24/2007, 15:20:02
    Machine name: JAY-EF80D60E81F
    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: ASUSTek Computer Inc.
    System Model: K8N
    BIOS: BIOS Date: 11/26/04 20:23:05 Ver: 08.00.09
    Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.6GHz
    Memory: 1536MB RAM
    Page File: 193MB used, 3237MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
     
  5. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    which driver do you have installed for your graphics card
     
  6. Slugga29

    Slugga29 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Right now 163.75 from the nvidia site is the current driver.
     
  7. Slugga29

    Slugga29 TS Rookie Topic Starter

  8. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    Have you kept up with updates. If so, you can try rolling the driver back to the previous version. Sounds to me though, it is something to do with a codec that is used by both WMP and VLC
     
  9. Slugga29

    Slugga29 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Yea I've kept up with the updates, I'll try the previous versions and let you know the outcome.
     
  10. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    when it freezes, is it your computer (check task manager), or is it the program (WMP VLC)
     
  11. Slugga29

    Slugga29 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Seems like the drivers didn't work. For the first time I just received a nv4_display error message. I guess I'll just have to get a new video card. Yea it freezes up during WMP and VLC which causes a hard reset. Once again I really appreciate the help.
     
     
  12. _FAKE_

    _FAKE_ TS Rookie Posts: 162

    On your 6200, you may be able to unlock 4 extra pipelines increasing the performance on it considerably, like near GeForce 6600GT performance (Which if you didn't know used to be the best bang for the buck back in the days). But you have to be careful cause not all 6200's can have their pipelines unlocked. Like my old one, even though i tried, it didn't work and resulted in the graphics card to stop working altogether. But unlocking the pipelines is relatively easy, and the ones that can be unlocked have an option for it (Again mine didn't, but I tried forcing it).

    As for your problem, i don't know. I haven't even read the thread, I just saw your computer specs and thought I'd add this. I sort of feel sorry for the guys still stuck with the 6200. I hated it.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.