Power Supply and Graphics Card Decision

Status
Not open for further replies.

mopar man

Ok, I am on a small budget, and it will be a little while before I get anything, but I need help deciding something.

I recieved a mobo that supports P4 cpu, PCI-Ex16, etc.
(I know it is outdated by a good bit, but I got it free)

I need a power supply that will power a 9600gt, and have decided it will be one of these two:

Ultra 650watt, 32amps on the 12 volt rail (I think, I'm still learning about Power Supplies)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3276573&body=MAIN

PC Power and Cooling 500 watts, with 35amps on the 12 volt rail:
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=10008521&prodlist=bizrate

I know 2 people who have gotten Ultras, and love em, but yeah, doing research I found that the PC Power and Cooling company is supposed to be pretty good.

Graphics wise, would the 9600 or 8800GT be the better choice? From what I have seen the 9600 competes with the 8800, but I want your opinions.

The 9600GT usually scores 3 or 4 fps lower even though it's $50 less than the 8800GT. It also produces less heat and uses less power. 8800GT is just a little bit more powerful for $200 while the the 9600GT is 99% as good for $150. I would go with the 9600 as it really, really gives you bang for your buck. And it isn't as hot as other graphics cards. And I believe that how it works is that a lot of amps on a single 12v rail is better than few amps on a couple of 12v rails. So I would get the PC power and cooling PSU.

Ok, good, two people saying the same thing for once.

By the way, I have no clue why I posted this in the Meeting Spot originally....

Thanks!

Ok, I have another question.