TechSpot

Problems with McAfee

By cpyou
Dec 14, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. I have an msi model u210 laptop running xp home with mcafee.
    the problem is that I have to click on the screen to keep the screen active.
    if I dont, I cannot type anything or have any keyboard control.
    so far I have had to left click at least 6 times just doing this post.
    I cannot bring up the "system information" or "system restore".
    I am a casual user in terms of technical expertise...

    help is needed
    Thank you
  2. Ectech

    Ectech TS Rookie Posts: 22

  3. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 423   +45

    I wouldn't use McAfee even if it were free but anything is a good deal better than nothing. Before you uninstall McAfee download an alternative replacement freeware AV program. I'd suggest one from Avira, AVG or Microsoft Security Essentials.
  4. cpyou

    cpyou TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well, I downloaded a shareware version of malware bytes (I think thats what it called), ran it and found 5 malware files which were removed.
    a couple days later, the computer is back to normal. I ran a scan with mcafee and advanced system care and all is well.
    I am not sure just what fixed it but like the old saying goes, if it works dont fix it.
    I am thinking about looking for a better antivirus/firewall.
    it would be nice to scan and find problems BEFORE they get "settled in for a long winters nap".
    I had the ram upgraded to 4 or 6 gb (I forget what it was)
    Thank you everyone.
  5. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 423   +45

    I've found Malwarebytes to be excellent too but be aware that the free version doesn't give constant protection. It's very useful to run occasionally or as you've done when there are suspicions that all is not well. Uninstalling and replacing McAfee AV needs to be a priority.
  6. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Posts: 5,214   +230

  7. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 423   +45

    That lot looks like overkill but it makes things easy - just uninstall McAfee.
  8. cpyou

    cpyou TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Or go ubuntu........no I'll stick with windows, thanks for the info and the links.
  9. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 423   +45

    Nobody has suggested that you give up Windows.
    "I am thinking about looking for a better antivirus/firewall." It's time to put the thought into action. There's plenty of excellent freeware.
  10. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Posts: 5,214   +230

    Of course everybody has their own opinion, but I think Avast is the best. As far as firewalls go, as long as you have no programs calling home, why not use the firewall your pc came with.
    I've always thought a 3rd party firewall was a MUST till I accidentally removed mine. I've had no problems with the default firewall on my XP Pro.
    But, to each their own, have a great day.
  11. gbhall

    gbhall TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,338   +49

    There can be a significant difference between firewalls. For instance, ZoneAlarm (which is my preference) asks permission and keeps a future note of all software that tries to talk outwards into the internet. I find this a valuable feature. MS firewall does not do that AFAIK.
     
  12. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Posts: 5,214   +230

    gbhall, I've read where the ZA firewall is bloated. It was my original firewall up till about 6 years ago then I started using others.
    I know the MS firewall on XP is one way, so as long as one don't have programs calling home, they're ok. So I've heard.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.