Remote desktop advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

gbhall

Years ago, I had admin control over 100+ PCs on an internal network, so I know how superb it can be, but access from outside a network is a new thing.

I now need to set up remote control access for a few users (fewer than 5 at any one time), but I have no current experience of the optimum way of going about it.

Expert advice would be greatly appreciated. We have a Netware 6.5 IP-only internal network with no outside (internet) connection as yet.

I have lots of questions...

Do I have to have a dedicated internal PC for each remote user I need to connect?

Do I need high-speed connections, or would modem connection be fast enough, since only screen refresh and keyboard/mouse commands need to be transmitted?

Does the internal PC need to be continuously polling a phone line, or can a dial-up user make a connection as and when required?

Could I share a hardware or software firewall among several remote users, so there is only one incoming broadband line (even if several internal PCs need to be connected to it), or do I need several phone lines?

How can I make the external connections bullet-proof security wise?

Could a remote desktop be used with internal PC's running Win98 or must they be upgraded to XP?

Is it possible to use Windows XP pro remote assist instead of buying extra software like PC anywhere, GoToMyPC, Remote control Pro etc.

Is it possible to print on the remote client PC instead of the internal networked PC if desired?

any suggestions and advice most gratefully received.

I myself have just started to poke around in this thing about remote desktop so i can answer a few of those questions, but am no means an expert.. you'll be looking at Rick or Samstoned to answer the other stuff :)

Could a remote desktop be used with internal PC's running Win98 or must they be upgraded to XP?