Restart or Freeze when a game starts

By EternalMydnyt
Mar 13, 2010
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I recently got a new computer. Everytime i try to start one of my favorite games (City of Heroes, Fallout Tactics, Civilizations 3) I get about a minute in then it either freezes up my whole system or restarts my computer. I have automatic restarts disabled and yet it still does it with no BSOD.

    I'll post some information ripped by a few programs to see if anyone can help.
    There were entries that had to be removed because they held links.

    ---System information gathered by CoH Helper version 0.1.1.8---

    DxDiag gathered at March 13, 2010 15:23 (-08:00)
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.091208-2036)
    System Manufacturer: VIAK8M
    System Model: AWRDACPI
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Central Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+, MMX, 3DNow, ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 766MB
    .Net Memory Report: 415MB out of 766MB available
    Page File: 1422MB (450MB currently in use)
    C Drive: (WDC WD800BB-55JKC0) 59851MB out of 76308MB (78%) free
    D Drive: (AOPEN COM5232/AAH PRO) zero-size drive
    E Drive: (LGD VO9M78D6RG SCSI CdRom Device) zero-size drive
    Windows directory location: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DirectX Diag version: 5.03.2600.5512 (32-bit version)

    Display Notes: No problems found.
    Sound Notes: No sound card was found. If one is expected, you should install a sound driver provided by the hardware manufacturer.
    Input Notes: No problems found.

    Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
    Monitor's Max Resolution: 1600,1200
    Video Device Name: ATI Radeon 9600 / X1050 Series
    Manufacturer / Chip: ATI Technologies Inc. / ATI Radeon Graphics Processor AGP (0x4152)
    Video Memory: 256.0 MB
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6925
    Driver Date: 2/10/2010 8:45:14 PM
    Driver Language: English

    Sound Device Description:
    Driver File:
    Driver Version:
    Driver Date: 1/1/0001 12:00:00 AM


    WMI Information
    Motherboard Manufacturer:
    Motherboard Model: (empty)
    Motherboard Product: K8M800-8237
    Motherboard Version:
    BIOS Manufacturer: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    BIOS Name: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    BIOS Version: VIAK8M - 42302e31
    BIOS Release: 20060118000000.000000+000


    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.3 (BETA)
    Scan saved at 3:24:41 PM, on 3/13/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\1268467583\ee\AOLSoftware.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\MOM.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe
    C:\Program Files\AOL 9.5\waol.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Desktop Search\WindowsSearch.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\SearchIndexer.exe
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\ccc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\ACS\AOLAcsd.exe
    C:\Program Files\AOL 9.5\shellmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YAHOOM~1.EXE
    C:\Program Files\TrendMicro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\SearchProtocolHost.exe

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe" MSRun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HostManager] C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\1268467583\ee\AOLSoftware.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools Lite] "C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe" -autorun
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AOL Fast Start] "C:\Program Files\AOL 9.5\AOL.EXE" -b
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Messenger (Yahoo!)] "C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\Messenger\YahooMessenger.exe" -quiet
    O4 - Global Startup: Windows Search.lnk = C:\Program Files\Windows Desktop Search\WindowsSearch.exe
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: AOL Connectivity Service (AOL ACS) - AOL LLC - C:\Program Files\Common Files\AOL\ACS\AOLAcsd.exe
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe

    --
    End of file - 3561 bytes
  2. mossy95

    mossy95 Newcomer, in training Posts: 37

    hmm let it settle for a day then start
  3. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Brand new?
    I see no AV program running. Why?
  4. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Just reinstalled yesterday and havent put one in yet. usually im not worried about it until i actually start installing programs and files. I dont wanna go through all that till ive gotten City of Heroes to work. This is the third computer ive gotten my hands on which doesnt wanna play this game

    BTW by new I mean new to me. Its put together from used parts from a computer store.
  5. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Well, if you're using internet, you should have firewall up (before, you even hook up any ethernet cable) and AV running.
    On average, it takes only a few minutes for a computer without firewall to get infected.

    Disable "Restart on error" feature...

    1. Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
    2. Click the Advanced tab (Vista: click Advanced system settings).
    3. Under Startup and Recovery, click Settings to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box.
    4. Clear the Automatically restart check box, and click OK the necessary number of times.
    5. Restart your computer for the settings to take effect.

    You may see some error message. If so, post back what it says.
  6. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Already disabled it. No error message. it just restarts. No BSoD or anything
  7. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    You still didn't answer my question about firewall and AV program.

    Download, and install SpeedFan: http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php
    Post your computer temperatures:

    [​IMG]

    Provide processor info (hold Windows logo key, and hit Pause/Break key to find out).

    Post two sets of readings, one when computer idle and second one, when playing the game.
  8. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    ok something seems impossible... it says my core temperature is 78c

    thats like.... beyond the melting point... all the other temperatures are between 20 and 30.

    My processor is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+
  9. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Double check...

    Download, and install Everest Ultimate Edition 4.6: http://www.lavalys.com:8081/everestultimate460.exe
    Enter following registration code (Help>Enter product key) to make it fully functional:
    RHGJE-54X47-HML9C-V498I-UUMVI
    (it's all legal, the above version has been recently offered as a free download)
    Expand Computer folder.
    Click on Sensor.
    Post all info from there.
  10. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    --------[ Sensor ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Sensor Properties:
    Sensor Type ITE IT8705F (ISA 290h)

    Temperatures:
    Motherboard 25 °C (77 °F)
    CPU 43 °C (109 °F)
    Aux 30 °C (86 °F)
    WDC WD800BB-55JKC0 22 °C (72 °F)

    Cooling Fans:
    CPU 2280 RPM

    Voltage Values:
    CPU Core 1.46 V
    +2.5 V 1.65 V
    +3.3 V 3.17 V
    +5 V 5.19 V
    +12 V 11.90 V
    +5 V Standby 4.70 V
    VBAT Battery 3.17 V
  11. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Try playing some game and post another set of results.
  12. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Also to let you know, the first two temperatures (Motherboard and CPU) seem to randomly bounce between 2 and 50
  13. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    OK...........
     
  14. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    This is my information on recovery from a restart

    Sensor Properties:
    Sensor Type ITE IT8705F (ISA 290h)

    Temperatures:
    Motherboard 37 °C (99 °F)
    CPU 33 °C (91 °F)
    Aux 30 °C (86 °F)
    WDC WD800BB-55JKC0 22 °C (72 °F)

    Cooling Fans:
    CPU 2280 RPM

    Voltage Values:
    CPU Core 1.46 V
    +2.5 V 1.65 V
    +3.3 V 3.22 V
    +5 V 5.19 V
    +12 V 12.10 V
    +5 V Standby 4.70 V
    VBAT Battery 3.17 V
  15. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    No, you need to start playing a game and check Everest readings at the same time. You said, you have about a minute before computer restarts.
  16. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    yea i had everest going. none of the readings really changed. Im almost curious about something and before i crack my case i wanna ask your opinion. Could one of my ram sticks be bad? Im wondering if maybe the restarts are caused when the games draw on extra ram and the bad ram stick triggers the restart
  17. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    What is your RAM configuration?
    I can see 766MB listed. It should rather be 768MB...
    How many sticks and how many MB on each one?
    Do you have on-board video, or separate video card?

    I also suspect, that 78C from SpeedFan may be your video card temperature, not CPU.
    Can you post all numbers from SpeedFan?
  18. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    1 256 of ddr400
    1 512 of ddr400

    Seperate video, ATI Radeon 9600 / X1050

    Temp1: 30c
    Temp2: 23c
    Temp3: 26c
    HD0: 23c
    Temp1: 33c
    Core: 78c


    The core temperature is the only one that never changes
  19. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Yeah, in the light of Everest readings, I believe, 78C would be video card temperature. SpeedFan sometimes mislabels temps.
    78C is not tragic for video card, but I wonder what the reading would be, when the game is played.
  20. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    I dunno. I watch it while loading a program and dont see any readings change before the restart
  21. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Try to remove video card, turn on-board video on (BIOS) and see, if same thing happens.
  22. EternalMydnyt

    EternalMydnyt Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    For anyone who helped me Id like to say thank you. I finally solved the problem and its one that is so stupid i actually feel bad.

    The first set of motherboard drivers i had downloaded were corrupted so whenever the motherboard tried to communicate with the videocard it had a breakdown and triggered a restart. Upon completely wiping the old drivers and installing new ones it works fine now. Thanks for all your attempts to help.
  23. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 45,188   +242

    Nice job :)
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.