TechSpot

Rundll32.exe Application Error

By TheNoob101
Jul 28, 2008
  1. Hello, I am new here at this forum.My problem is whenever i go to play a game i get a whole bunch of application errors. I googled the problem but all of the scanners didn't work. It said that the .dll is very important so i don't want to remove it and ask for instructions from you guys. I have limited knowledge about computers so take it easy on me. If anyone can help, I'd be glad if you reply to this.
     
  2. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    It would help if you provide the exact error with exact .dll referenced
     
  3. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Sorry for the late reply.
    The error comes up saying The instruction at "0x636e315e" referenced memory at "0x00cac0a0". The memory could not be
    "read". Click OK to terminate the program.

    But I gotta click it 6 more times for it to go away here are they others.
    The instruction at "0x0067606e" referenced memory at "0x001f1780"The memory could not be
    "read". Click OK to terminate the program


    The instruction at "0x636e315e" referenced memory at "0x00cac090"The memory could not be
    "read". Click OK to terminate the program


    The instruction at "0x0636e315e" referenced memory at "0x00cac080"The memory could not be
    "read". Click OK to terminate the program


    The instruction at "0x636e315e" referenced memory at "0x00cac060"The memory could not be
    "read". Click OK to terminate the program


    The instruction at "0x0636e1762" referenced memory at "063709ac0"The memory could not be
    "read". Click OK to terminate the program
     
  4. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    This only occurs when you play games? Also are you playing these games onine? through internet explorer?

    First thing I would check is that your video card driver is up to date.

    Next I would test the RAM

    This isn't really my specialty but I will be happy to try or if nothing else we can message somebody more suited for these type of errors.
     
  5. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Yes, only when i play games it pops up. Yes they are online and I'm playing through Firefox.
    Like I said I have limited knowledge of computers.How do you check the Video card and ram.
     
  6. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    This is XP?

    try loading the same game with internet explorer and tell me if you get the same error
     
  7. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Yes Xp. I loaded game with ie and i still get the error
     
  8. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    Ok, I have one suggestion from microsoft which I am going to modify - this wont hurt your computer. If it doesn't work then I am almost positive it is a hardware error

    Download and Run ATF Cleaner
    Download ATF Cleaner by Atribune to your desktop.

    Double-click ATF Cleaner.exe to open it.

    Under Main choose:
    Windows Temp
    Current User Temp
    All Users Temp
    Cookies
    Temporary Internet Files
    Prefetch
    Java Cache

    *The other boxes are optional*
    Then click the Empty Selected button.

    Firefox or Opera:
    Click Firefox or Opera at the top and choose: Select All
    Click the Empty Selected button.
    NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click NO at the prompt.

    Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    you can launch windows explorer by doubleclicking my computer or hold windows key + E

    click the Tools menu in Windows Explorer, click Folder Options, click the View tab, enable the Show hidden files and folders option

    navigate to %userprofile%\Local Settings\History folder <-for your user account that is having this problem

    Right-click the History folder, and then click Delete

    when you are prompted to confirm the folder removal, click Yes

    restart the computer

    launch internet explorer and firefox

    in IE go to tools - internet options - Under Temporary Internet files, click Delete Files, click to select the Delete all offline content check box, and then click OK.

    in firefox click tools-> clear private data

    resart firefox and try again
     
  9. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Sorry for asking this. But where is %userprofile%\Local Settings\History folder
     
  10. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Wait i found it sorry.
     
  11. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    C:\Documents and Settings\{username}
     
     
  12. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Okay, I did everything and still came up so hardware problem?
     
  13. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    So lets check your video card drivers first

    Go to device manager -right click on my computer and select properties -> go to hardware tab i think -> device manager

    First look for any yellow triangles over any of the section and let me know where if present.

    Next go to Display adapters -> expand this section -> right click on your video card or integrated graphics controller (should be listed by name)

    select properties -> what is the name of the device and what is the driver date
     
  14. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    No yellow triangles. NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200. Driver Date:5/2/2008
     
  15. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    There is an updated version maybe this would do it. though that would be too easy. Worth a shot though

    Version: 175.19
    Release Date: July 9, 2008
    Operating System: Windows XP

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_175.19_whql.html

    Download it to a place where you can find it easily

    Then through device manager select the card and update driver software

    then select either I have disk - or browse my computer - navigate to and select the driver (sorry been a while since I was on XP)
     
  16. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Nope,still getting those errors
     
  17. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    Lets check your Event log

    Go to control panel -> administrative tools -> event viewer

    Look for "Errors" in the "last hour" column

    I only want an error - no warnings or info sections

    We want the Event ID and Source
     
  18. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    There's nothing within the last hour.
    The rundll32.exe is an Info
    Last error was at 11:14
    Source: Can not find ping info
    Event id:0
     
  19. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    so what is the site the game is ran from

    we can try to ping it

    plus i can see if it works for me
     
  20. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

  21. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    Ok, go to start -> run -> type dxdiag -> press enter

    Once it loads up the dx info -> click Save all Info -> save it to your desktop then attach it here for me
     
  22. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    okay here it is
     
  23. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    All looks good there ->

    Go to start -> run -> type cmd

    at the command prompt type ping www.ijji.com

    click on the command icon in the top left corner -> go to edit -> select all -> do this again but select copy

    Then paste it here
     
  24. TheNoob101

    TheNoob101 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 50

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.ijji.com

    Pinging www.ijji.com [206.82.212.79] with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 206.82.212.79:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  25. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    That's definitly the problem then -> what firewall or other security software do you have installed.

    Also - I am going to message somebody else who is better at this now that we have identified the problem
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.