Setting up debugging

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lanarkshire IT

hi all

i am just learning to debug minidumps and just wanted to check that I am setting it up properly.

I'm using a Vista Business SP1 X86 machine and have downloaded and installed the debugging tools for Windows X86.

So far, so good

On opening my latest minidump file I get the following messages (as well as usual dump info):

ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for hal.dll
ERROR: FindPlugIns 80070015

and

Your debugger is not using the correct symbols

Does this mean that my symbols havent loaded correctly?

Info appreciated

Quick question about symbols

hi all

which symbols package do you download? the version (service pack) that your machine is currently at or what it was to start with?

if my Vista Business x86 was without SP1 do i download the pre SP1 symbols pack?

info appreciated

Did you read the second link you were given by fastco?
On that page you will find ...
When you start to debug a crash dump file or an application, the Windows Debugger checks whether the symbol information for a module that it loads is in the local folder. If the symbol information of the module is not located in the local folder, WinDbg tries to download the appropriate symbol file or files from the Symbol Server.

If you use the same local cache when you debug an application on a computer that has different file versions, symbols for the different versions are downloaded and stored with the first symbols. The SymStore format stores files according to the time stamp and the size of the image (or checksum). As a result, symbols from different product versions can coexist side by side. (SymStore.exe is a utility from the Debugging Tools for Windows package that generates a symbol server. For more information, see the product documentation.)
If this doesn't answer your question, then I apologize, for I must be misunderstanding you.