TechSpot

STOP 0x00000050 &  0x0000000A

By Deland01
Feb 18, 2009
  1. Right,

    I’ve been having a few issues with BSOD lately. I have a brand new Hard disk with 3 partitions which are as follows:

    1. Win XP Pro x32 - Set up for any software I need that’s not x64 compatible
    2. Win XP Pro x64 - Set up as standard OS for all other needs
    3. Win XP Pro x64 - Set up for audio with no networking & OS is seriously tweaked

    Most common errors are on the x64 OS giving me:

    STOP 0x00000050
    STOP 0x0000000A

    Partition 3 seams to be fine so I'm thinking its not hardware related although I have recently bought a new Motherboard, processor, CD-WR, PSU & another 8G of RAM.

    At first I just had the stop errors on the x64 OS & then I started to see stop errors on the x32 OS also. I reinstalled Windows on the X32 partition which bombed out half way through the install. I re-installed it again which seamed to work but since I’ve installed it I’ve started getting STOP 0x00000050



    I grabbed a dump file & converted it to this with WinDBG. Can I have your thoughts on this:

    ====================================================================

    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.11.0001.402 X86
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Loading Dump File [C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\Mini021609-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

    Symbol search path is: C:\WINDOWS\Symbols
    Executable search path is:
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows XP Kernel Version 2600 (Service Pack 2) MP (4 procs) Free x86 compatible
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0x804d7000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x8055c700
    Debug session time: Mon Feb 16 19:52:36.843 2009 (GMT+0)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:01:03.437
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ...............................................................
    .........................................................
    Loading User Symbols
    Loading unloaded module list
    ............
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 50, {fff7ffff, 0, 0, 0}


    Could not read faulting driver name
    Probably caused by : ntoskrnl.exe ( nt!PspReaper+39 )

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    3: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
    Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
    it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
    is pointing at freed memory.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fff7ffff, memory referenced.
    Arg2: 00000000, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
    Arg3: 00000000, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
    address.
    Arg4: 00000000, (reserved)

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------


    Could not read faulting driver name

    READ_ADDRESS: fff7ffff

    MM_INTERNAL_CODE: 0

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x50

    PROCESS_NAME: explorer.exe

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 00000000 to 804f9c4b

    STACK_TEXT:
    b48e89c0 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 nt!PspReaper+0x39


    STACK_COMMAND: kb

    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    nt!PspReaper+39
    804f9c4b 5d pop ebp

    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 0

    SYMBOL_NAME: nt!PspReaper+39

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: nt

    IMAGE_NAME: ntoskrnl.exe

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4249fa54

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x50_nt!PspReaper+39

    BUCKET_ID: 0x50_nt!PspReaper+39

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
     
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    From auma.org -

    0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).

    0x0000000A: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    Typically due to a bad driver, or faulty or incompatible hardware or software.Technically, this error condition means that a kernel-mode process or driver tried to access a memory location to which it did not have permission, or at a kernel Interrupt ReQuest Level (IRQL) that was too high. (A kernel-mode process can access only other processes that have an IRQL lower than, or equal to, its own.)

    0xA errors are strong indicators of hardware issues. The problem at this time is we are not sure if it is hardware or software. Since you've changed up so much of your hardware it may be your software. What security software are you running? Do you have such software as Alcohol 120% or Daemon Tools, etc.?
     
  3. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I literally just installed a fresh copy of Windows so not running any software at all, apart from the standard Win XP Pro drivers.

    On the other systems I had quite a few things running like VmWare, NOD 32 Annti Virus.
     
  4. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    I don't know anything about VmWare but I do know NOD32 is a very stable antivirus. Good choice. Well if this is a fresh install then some standard diagnostics may be in order.

    What have you done hardware diagnostic wise?
     
  5. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    This is a dump from the X64 OS. Without fail I'd get a BSOD at least 3 out of 5 times just after logging into Windows.

    I think the BSOD started when I put the new hard disk in there. The hard disk was installed about a month after everything else but I didn’t see any errors straight away, it was more like 2 months after. Any ideas what disk.sys does?

    ====================================================



    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.11.0001.402 X86
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Loading Dump File [C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\DESIGN-X64 Minidump\06. Mini112308-06.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available

    Symbol search path is: C:\WINDOWS\Symbols
    Executable search path is:
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows Server 2003 Kernel Version 3790 (Service Pack 2) MP (4 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`01000000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`011d5100
    Debug session time: Sun Nov 23 14:27:32.984 2008 (GMT+0)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:00:47.093
    Unable to load image ntoskrnl.exe, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ...............................................................
    ................................................................
    ..
    Loading User Symbols
    Loading unloaded module list
    ..................................................
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.

    BugCheck 50, {fffffadfcafd5e4d, 0, fffffadf2822c290, 0}


    Could not read faulting driver name
    Unable to load image disk.sys, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for disk.sys
    Probably caused by : disk.sys ( disk!DiskFlushDispatch+62 )

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    1: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
    Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
    it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
    is pointing at freed memory.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: fffffadfcafd5e4d, memory referenced.
    Arg2: 0000000000000000, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
    Arg3: fffffadf2822c290, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
    address.
    Arg4: 0000000000000000, (reserved)

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------


    Could not read faulting driver name

    READ_ADDRESS: fffffadfcafd5e4d

    FAULTING_IP:
    disk!DiskFlushDispatch+62
    fffffadf`2822c290 488b040a mov rax,qword ptr [rdx+rcx]

    MM_INTERNAL_CODE: 0

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 6

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: COMMON_SYSTEM_FAULT

    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x50

    CURRENT_IRQL: 0

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 0000000000000000 to fffff8000102e950

    STACK_TEXT:
    fffffadf`21ac2f18 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!_output+0x83


    STACK_COMMAND: .bugcheck ; kb

    FOLLOWUP_IP:
    disk!DiskFlushDispatch+62
    fffffadf`2822c290 488b040a mov rax,qword ptr [rdx+rcx]

    SYMBOL_NAME: disk!DiskFlushDispatch+62

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: disk

    IMAGE_NAME: disk.sys

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 45d69708

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x50_disk!DiskFlushDispatch+62

    BUCKET_ID: X64_0x50_disk!DiskFlushDispatch+62

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
     
  6. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,026

    If you installed XP SPIII before you installed the drivers for the motherboard and on-board devices, sometimwes the drivers will conflict with the service pack and cause this sort of problem - either that or more likely you have a problem with the memory modules. Can you check them with a swap around to see which one might be causing the problem?
     
  7. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Good points about XP, motherboard drivers,etc.

    Also, since you mention the harddrive I would do a full harddrive diagnostics by using the free utility provided by your harddrive manufacturer. You can get it off their website.
     
  8. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I never updated to SP3 as it has too many bugs in there, it caused issues on PC’s at work so I’ve steered well clear. I’ve also run the diagnostics on my RAM with memtest & tested the HD with Western digitals own software but it didn’t find anything on either. I’ve changed the SATA cables on the drives & un-plugged all drives except the mail boot HD but I still get a STOP 0x00000050 error.

    I think I might remove the HD & install windows on an old drive I used to use to see if it cures anything. From what I’ve read Its either gona be down to the hard disk, RAM, motherboard, graphics card or processor which is gona take me a lot of time and money to work out. I just hope its just one thing that’s faulty or I might be there for a while testing it all out.
     
  9. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,026

  10. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Two questions on your diagnostics. How long did you run memtest, i.e., # of Pases. And did you run all the tests the WD utility offered?

    Also, what voltage did your motherboard set your RAM at and is it recommended settings by the manufacturer?
     
  11. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I’ve already seen this KB but cant see how it would effect me as yesterday I formatted & installed a fresh copy of Win XP Pro sp2 (x32) with no drivers at all loaded. It would have installed the bog standard display adaptors which haven’t been altered by any Service pack updates
     
  12. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,026

    If you have a bad graphics card you would get the same symptoms...
     
  13. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I ran memtest a while ago now but when I ran it I remember picking the most intensive scan and the same with the WD software.

    I haven’t altered the voltage on the RAM & the type of RAM I have is one recommended by the motherboard manufacturer, the RAM is all the same type DDR2 677 x4 modules at 2GB each (compatible for a n ASUS commando)
     
  14. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Agreed. Deland01, give us your system specks along with the current software you have installed.
     
  15. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Right then, system spec is as follows:

    No software installed as I just formatted Windows so its a fresh install



    Hard Disks
    ==========
    X1 Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB Hard Drive SATAII 16MB Cache 10000rpm
    x1 Western Digital WD740GD 74GB "Raptor" 10,000RPM SATA/150 8MB Cache
    x1 Maxtor Diamondmax 200GB
    x1 Hitachi Deskstar 154.7GB (HDS722516VLAT20) - IDE

    CD / DVD
    ========
    x1 Optiarc AD-7200S 20X DVD±RW - SATA


    External Storage
    ================
    x1 Western Digitals My Book Premium ES Edition External Hard Disk (WD5000H032) - USB2
    x1 Western Digital MyBook World II Edition 1TB Ethernet (WD10000D033-001)



    Graphics
    ========
    NVIDEA BFG 9600GT OC 512MB GDDR3 Dual DVI - PCI Express x16


    Motherboard
    ===========
    Asus COMMANDO P965 Socket 775

    RAM
    ===
    4GB kit (2GBx2), Ballistix Tracer 240-pin DIMM (with LEDs), DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module (BL25664AL80A.16FE5)
    800Mhz 4-4-4
    12.0V
    X4 Modules


    Processor
    =========
    X1 Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz 1066MHz FSB Socket 775 8MB


    Sound Card
    ==========
    E-MU's 1616M PCI Digital Audio System

    PCI Devices
    ===========
    x1 UAD-1 Flexi PAK (Digital Signal Processing Card)


    PSU
    ===
    Zalman ZM500-HP - 500W
     
  16. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Okay, for clarification, are you getting BSODs as the system configuration runs at this momment or is it stable?

    Second, have you tried running this system with just two sticks of RAM? if so, what has been the results?
     
  17. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Got home this evening and decided to install Win XP X64 on my old HD which I know works. I took x2 sticks of RAM out so Im just running on x2GB in case the last 2 GB was faulty. I also disconnected th Maxtor Diamondmax 200GB hard disk as its the oldest drive in there. Started to install Windows & I see:

    Cannot copy the file dxdiagn.dll unable to locate this on the disk.

    The CD I'm using is almost brand new and a propper Microfoft CD. Ive installed from it before with no problems.

    I took another DVD drive I know works out of a spare PC & used this in case the drive was at fault but got the exact same error.

    I tried installing the same CD onto a Virtual machine on another pc & it worked fine???

    Really ready for throwing the PC out of the window. It makes no logical sense why it cant find the files on my PC but it will on the server VMWare PC
     
  18. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    You have a very decent system here and I think it is time to give Microsoft a call about this install issue.

    I'll be honest, I am out of league here to give you a sound answer. My best directive would be to go to the Storage forum here that deals with harddrives. I'd certainly post it as a harddrive issue and the failure to load the OS along with your other harddrive issues.
     
  19. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,026

    Install errors such as the one you mention (cannot find a file) are often caused by bad memory - it may be that you have two faults here.
    What I would do is replace your existing graphics card with one you have begged or borrowed - can be a PCI card if necessary - to see what happens. Or you could fit your card into another machine.
    Do the same thing with the memory.
     
  20. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks for the replies, I’ve tried so much already and kinda lost count what I’ve actually done and what I still may need to try. I’ve started making a log of what I do and the outcome for future reference.

    Route44 – The HD I’m trying to install Windows on (WD740GD 74GB Raptor) definitely works as Ive had an OS on there before I tried a re-install so It cant be that, I also tried installing Windows onto a partition on the VelociRaptor 300GB HD which failed on the same thing.

    AlbertLionheart – I have a spare PCI Express Graphics card & a standard PCI graphics card so should be ok to do that. I also have some different RAM which I can swap which is almost brand new. From what you have said if I swap the Graphics card & RAM I should be able to install Windows on a HD without any errors?
     
  21. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,026

    Hi Deland01
    Correct - in fact I had just had a similar situation in the workshops - I need a hack machine to mess with and had a suitable board onto which I fitted the first two bits of memory grabbed out of the bits box. They were of different makes but the same speed. During the install process the thing fell over with a BSoD and the message about something to do with a thread. Have not got time to mess about with that sort of thing so I replaced the memory with two sticks from the same maker (Kingston) and restarted the install - finished with no further errors.
     
  22. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Good news......

    last night I swapped the graphics card & removed all the ram. After labelling the ram up (stick1, stick2, stick3, stick4) I then tried reinstalling Windows with the first stick of Ram “stick1”

    Windows set-up failed, I then removed stick1 & inserted just stick2, this passed & I was able to install Windows. I tested all 4 sticks in the same way & they all passed except stick1. I was able to generate errors without fail with stick1 but no other stick so I guess that definitely points to a faulty RAM stick.

    Bear in mind Ive used memtest on all ram sticks and run an intensive test on more than one occasion. Just shows however good memtest is you cant just rely on this to give you a definitive answer.

    This is something I’ve never come across before, Windows set-up unable to copy files due to bad RAM.... weird, but AlbertLionheart definitely is the man. I’ve been trying to bottom this problem now for well over 6 months on and off and its been driving me up the wall

    Gona run the system for a week or so to see if I get any more BSOD’s before I call this one closed just in case I have any other faults

    Again thanks for all your help everyone
     
  23. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Well memtest many times can give definitive answers but bad memory has been known to pass it on occasion. However, I've never seen it to your degree. Bad RAM will wreck all kinds of havoc on a system, even when attempting to install Windows! Congratulations on good diagnostic work.
     
  24. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,026

    Glad to hear you tracked it down!
     
  25. Deland01

    Deland01 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Been running my system now for a week and had no issues what so ever so I think I can say it was down to a bad stick of RAM.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...