TechSpot

System beeps at me when installing video card

By jamesdw1971
Sep 23, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Hi i own a lenovo 8811-v4k with windows vista 64
    Operating System: Windows (TM) Vista Home Premium Home Edition Media Center 6.00.6002 Service Pack 2
    Report Date: Friday 23 September 2011at 07:15

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    <<< System Summary >>>
    > Platform : Intel Averill Fundamental
    > Mainboard : LENOVO LENOVO
    > Chipset : Intel Q963
    > Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 @ 2666MHz
    > Physical Memory : 4096MB (4 x 1024 DDR2-SDRAM )
    > Video Card : Radeon X1300/X1550 Series
    > Hard Disk : HDS728080PLA380 40Y9028LEN ATA Device (80GB)
    > DVD-Rom Drive : Memorex DVD+-RAM 550L v1
    > DVD-Rom Drive : ATAPI DVD D DH16D1S
    > Monitor Type : DCL7A - 17 inches
    > Network Card : Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5755 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe
    > Operating System : Windows (TM) Vista Home Premium Home Edition Media Center 6.00.6002 Service Pack 2 (64-bit)
    > DirectX : Version 11.00
    > Windows Performance Index : 3.4 on 5.9..

    problem i am having is when i try to install my other video card that is a ati radeon 1600 pro pci-e 512 mb, my system beeps a code at me. it is 4 beeps then 2 beeps then 3 beeps and 3 beeps so 4233. i cant fin any info at all on this so can anyone out there figure this out thank you soooo much
     
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    That is a motherboard/BIOS beep code error that tells us where the issue lies. What BIOS does your system run?

    Also, if you have onboard video disable it first in the BIOS and then install your card.
     
  3. jamesdw1971

    jamesdw1971 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    bios you asked for

    Manufacturer : LENOVO
    Bios Type: Phoenix
    Version : 2JKT37AUS
    Bios ID: 2jkt37aus-none
    Boot Block Revision Level: 2j36a
    Chipset Intel 2990-Rev 2
    Date : 07/12/2007 (mm/dd/yyyy)
    Address : 1024KB
    SMBios Version : Unspecified
    DMI Version : 2.4

    Characteristics :
    Flashable : Yes
    Socketed : No

    Functionality :
    APM : No
    ACPI : Yes
    ESCD : Yes
    PnP : Yes
    PCI : Yes
    ISA : No
    AGP : No
    USB : Yes
    PCMCIA : No
    Smart Battery : Yes

    Boot Information :
    Selectable Boot : No
    CD-ROM Boot : Yes
    PC Card (PCMCIA) Boot : No
    I20 Boot : No
    LS-120 Boot : Yes
    1394 Boot : No
    ATAPI ZIP Boot : No
    Network Boot : No

    I hope that this helps you. The only other thing that I could add is my power supply is 310 watts. not sure if that helps also. When i read up on the card I would see min of 300 watts up to 500 watts. Alot of useless info in this world when it came to this card. thank you for any help and good luck in trying to figure this out.
     
  4. jamesdw1971

    jamesdw1971 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    turn offf onboard graphics

    I have them turned off too by the way, the card that I was trying to replace was also a ati radeon 1300 pci-e 256 mb by the way.
     
  5. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Sorry if I misunderstand you, but what do you have turned off?
     
  6. jamesdw1971

    jamesdw1971 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    system bios for onboard video

    the onboard video is disabled and the pci is the only option on. So what now have any ideas, also my system drivers are fully updated from ati due to windows vista 64 i have to download the beta drivers for the ati radeon video card. My system bios are also fully updated from lenovo. So thats why i cant figure this out beside the power supply as i stated. thank you anyone for any help...
     
  7. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Do you or a friend have a digital multimeter? I can show you how to test the power supply through some easily understandable links.

    I have a Sears Craftsman that I picked up for $22 at my local K-Mart and it is a great investment. Radio Shack also has some very nice ones that don't cost much as well. However, since you may not need one ever again see if you have a friend or an associate who can lend you one or who can test it for you.
     
  8. jamesdw1971

    jamesdw1971 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    multimeter

    I have a fluke multimeter, what I am asking is my 310 watt power supply in my p.c. is it strong enough to power up that card? As I have said before I have seen it needing a 300 watt power supply to a 500 watt power supply. And if a power supply isnt strong enough will it not allow your p.c to start up?
     
  9. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

  10. jamesdw1971

    jamesdw1971 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    how to tell the card

    Is there a way to tell if the video card is bad? I am just wondering thank you
     
  11. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Here is a simple but often very effective way to test your card: Find another system and temporarily install it into another system and see how it runs. Make sure you completely uninstall all the video card drivers that came with the system you are using.
     
  12. jamesdw1971

    jamesdw1971 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    What if I dont have another system to install it into?
     
  13. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Do you have a friend or an associate with a system that would allow you to try this step in their system? Again, it is only temporary.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...