Thoeretical Networking Question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rik

I have 2 pc's networked on a 4 port 10/100 router with the Internet being shared via a wan port.

My question is, is it possible to get more bandwidth by having 2 connections to each pc?

I know it wont make any difference to the Internet connection but I was wondering if i could get more bandwidth between the two pc's?

My main pc already has a 10/100 pci card in it and has gigabit built-in and I have built-in 10/100 on the second pc and have several spare 10/100 pci cards.

I will add I'm an absolute novice when it comes to networking.

Thanx for the info Po' Girl. That post talks about getting more speed from a net connection to some degree and i know i definitely wont get that.

I was just wondering if i would get a bit more lan speed between 2 pc's.

Rik you can get more speed between the two, You can disable the hidden bandwidth robber 20% that each Windows OS has well in XP/2003. I don't know if that is in Vista though? You can increase buffers, dnscache, lanmanworkstation and TCP as shown on my blog.. tipstir.blogspot.com under network tweaks. Also a very quick router cpu does help where one has no bottleneck issues. Run TCP Optimizer off www.speedguide.net optimize the LAN Buffer and use some of your RAM to do that. That's hat I do and run a very quick 500MHz Router. I don't have Giga ports but just 10/100 set to auto unless I was able to manage the ports on CISCO switch and router like I do at work. But for home use you can as fast OS, NIC card and router will allow. So your answer is yes it can be done!