also @ TechSpot: Intel confirms a smartwatch is in the pipeline

UberMonkey: is this a joke?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Cpt_Subtext, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    Yes it's still a joke!

    Muahahaha :D
  2. Cpt_Subtext Newcomer, in training Posts: 273

    Last time I checked the Cyberpowersystem website yesterday I couldnt see anything that indicated a Quad SLI configuration with 8800 GTX cards but I may be mistaken.... at the moment though I think its very unlikely as I dont even think an sli driver is out for 8800 series of cards yet.... let alone for them to work in Quad.

    The joke comes from that ubermonkey rig... at that price its laughable but with the fact A its not watercooled and B it only has a 700Watt PSU means either that it is infact a joke or a scam...
  3. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    Yeah that's why I want to call it and put a fake credit card number ( just make one up :haha: ) and see what they say

    If they say something like "YOU BEEN SCAMED B****!" then i'll laugh ;)
  4. Cpt_Subtext Newcomer, in training Posts: 273

    :) I really hope nobody has actually tried to buy that thing!
  5. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    Yeah I know, that computer sucks actualy and really overpriced... If you go to newegg and look at the prices for each item they listed on the features you can save about $1000-1500 :D
  6. Xusn96 Newcomer, in training Posts: 17

    i found the ad: Maximum PC December 2006 page 106. It is cyberpower BUT in the ad layout it occupies the position of the earlier 7950GX2 model which was quad and i believe it was more of a late addition to the ad without proper proofing so they changed SOME of the text without reviewing the whole thing for accuracy<---of course this is just a guess.
     
  7. Monkeyware Newcomer, in training

    This is not a Drill!

    I am a representitive of Monkeyware Ltd, just came across this forum post.
    I can assure everyone that this is not a scam. We have just had a massive relaunch and the Uber Monkeys have been made even better than before.
    http://www.monkeyware.co.uk/
    If anyone would like to make comments on any of our products I would love to hear them, good or bad.

    Regards
    Rich
  8. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    I knew that Monkey was going to come to TS :haha:

    Well MonkeyWarez guy... You're computers kinda suck to tell you the truth, I mean I can save about $1000 ( on the UberMonkey thing that was in the original link ) and I believe that a 700w PSU couldnt hold the stuff that is inside the machine ;)
  9. Cpt_Subtext Newcomer, in training Posts: 273

    I agree with Time ive built a few systems in the past and am not an expert but 700W I doubt could handle it and if it could the PSU wouldnt last that long as it would be constantly working at its peak.

    To me it doesnt really matter if your company is trying to scam or not as untill I hear some independent positive reviews either of trust worthy individuals or in magazines such as Custom PC I will not purchase products for you and will advise others not to do so if asked....

    No offence to you Rich but something just doesnt seem to add up!
  10. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    I have to agree with Cpt_subtext, If someone is planning on buying a company built computer then you must get reviews from actual people and not the ones on the company's website because we all know they just Copy & Paste then add "IGN.com!" ( Alienware does that ) ;)
  11. Malcx Newcomer, in training

    Hmmmm...

    Hi Guys,

    I've been looking around for a new pc to get back into gaming (My crusty old fujitsu laptop is a bit gay really) and was looking at monkyware - cause it's a pretty heafty purchase for me I've been looking around forums to see what ppl are saying about them and thats led me here...

    Basically I'm looking at:
    http://www.monkeyware.co.uk/shop/howler.html

    1. Can you guys specifically tell me what I should be wary of with this (other than you think they might be a scam :)

    2. If rich/guy from monkeyware is reading this can you let me if theres still time to order for delivery by xmas?

    3. Plz Don't suggest the "build your own and you'll save money" as I really don't have the time - and for a couple hundred quid extra would rather get someone else to build it where theres hopefully a guarentee

    I'm about 60% sold on the idea of getting it from them and if I do I'll post a follow up - good bad or ugly :p

    Cheers dudes

    Mal
  12. kitty500cat Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,407   +6

    That looks legitimate, Mal. I'm not sure how the price compares cuz I'm in the US so I didn't feel like doing the conversion :)

    Welcome to TechSpot, Malcx and monkeyware. Hope you like this forum.

    --kitty
  13. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    Malcx you should build your own, you could save ALOT of money instead of buying a prebuilt / company made machine

    The system you linked isnt as good as one you can build ( you could probably save alot more money at the same time ) Look at the same parts on www.newegg.com and see how much they cost befor buying a prebuilt

    If you need help building a computer or picking out parts then ask one of us on Techspot ;)
  14. kitty500cat Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,407   +6

    Please don't get ticked at my suggestion, malcx, but I agree with TPX. Popular Mechanics said the same thing, that you don't get tech support. However, if you're registered with TechSpot, that's not a problem :D

    --kitty
  15. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    Why would he get ticked? It's your opinion :D
  16. Cpt_Subtext Newcomer, in training Posts: 273

    Now I could be called paranoid here but do you think malcx, malcom x???, could be rich in disguise? seems a little convienient to me *looks shifty eyed* lol

    There is a strong arguement for building your own Malcx as its true that you can build a better system cheaper if you DIY but I understand for some people that just isnt an option.

    If you are based in the UK there are several computer companies that will give you alot more for your money and are reputable. Aria (My weapon of choice) Overclock.co.uk, Vadim, Novatech all offer a great range of systems, including custom pc building tools on there sites.

    Id stick with these....


    Also guys google monkeyware reviews..... I came up with this link from another forum which along with the others ive checked on read almost as diabolical as Alienware.....

    http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-2687533.php
  17. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    lol yeah I read that too

    But why would you buy a company built if you can build your own and get help from Techspot? I been building for awhile and I found they are alot better because they dont come with company crapware that they install on your computer that you cant delete and you can have it maxed with powerful stuff instead of sticking with their stuff ( Dell is like that )
  18. Cpt_Subtext Newcomer, in training Posts: 273

    Hey im all for building your own but sometimes its just not practical...take me for example until I found a company with the right finance option for me to build my own I was going to have to buy prebuilt because I need a new computer now(ish) and not 9 months from now when I can afford it :S

    There again if your building a computer as good as the techspot tech support is your stuffed if its hardware and your not covered by warranty....assuming you dont have deep pockets which most of us dont.....
  19. TimeParadoX Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,445

    Well that's why Newegg was invented Cpt_subtext ;)

    They have a pretty good return system, It shouldnt take you 30 days to build a computer so if it doesnt work the 1st time you build it and after a few trys you could always send it back :)
  20. Cpt_Subtext Newcomer, in training Posts: 273

    Ah yes but im English and have no access to newegg facilities..... :)