TechSpot

Unexpected shutdown of server

By mparton
Oct 2, 2008
  1. Hi, i have a server that keeps on shutting down without any warning or notice, the only thing i get is a log entry saying shutdown unexpectently and the following 2 logs after reboot.

    Event Type: Warning
    Event Source: USER32
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 1076
    Date: 02/10/2008
    Time: 11:15:32
    User: LKS\Administrator
    Computer: RLTDTS02
    Description:
    The reason supplied by user LKS\administrator for the last unexpected shutdown of this computer is: System Failure: Stop error
    Reason Code: 0x805000f
    Bug ID:
    Bugcheck String: 0x0000009c (0x00000000, 0x808a07a0, 0xbe000300, 0x1008081f)
    Comment: 0x0000009c (0x00000000, 0x808a07a0, 0xbe000300, 0x1008081f)


    Data:
    0000: 0f 00 05 08 ....

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: System Error
    Event Category: (102)
    Event ID: 1003
    Date: 02/10/2008
    Time: 11:15:45
    User: N/A
    Computer: RLTDTS02
    Description:
    Error code 0000009c, parameter1 00000000, parameter2 808a07a0, parameter3 be000300, parameter4 1008081f
    Data:
    0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
    0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
    0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
    0018: 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 39 0000009
    0020: 63 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d c Param
    0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 30 30 eters 00
    0030: 30 30 30 30 30 30 2c 20 000000,
    0038: 38 30 38 61 30 37 61 30 808a07a0
    0040: 2c 20 62 65 30 30 30 33 , be0003
    0048: 30 30 2c 20 31 30 30 38 00, 1008
    0050: 30 38 31 66 081f

    I have looked into this and it seems to be hardware failure or overheat, but i can not seem to pinpoint which hardware is failing, does anyone know how to see if the logs can show you what hardare is failing ?

    Cheers for your help.

    M
     
  2. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

  3. mparton

    mparton TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hi, thanks for the post, but the ms kb article is for a diiferent set of stop codes, thanks any way.

    mark
     
  4. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    ===>Reason Code: 0x805000f <===

    No I'm sure it's there
    And I try to be spot on
    :)
     
  5. matt1522

    matt1522 TS Rookie Posts: 81

    Not that kimsland needs help but I just looked it up and the stop code was there
     
  6. mparton

    mparton TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hi, yes your right....but... that is the reason code, the stop code of 009c is not on kb article only 24, 0a c2.
     
  7. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Well start here: http://www.dumpanalysis.org/blog/index.php/2008/03/12/
    Read a whole bunch of MS articles
    And eventually get to the Service Packs and Security updates that must be done (as stated in the original link I supplied
    And then eventually get to that Hotfix and do it (it you want it resolved!)
     
  8. mparton

    mparton TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hi, thanks for feedback, not sure i should be applying hotfixes for stop error meassages that are not in my event log. As advised my specific stop error message is "0x0000009c" an dthis is not specifgied in the kb article. The server is a live enviroment server, so as advised by MS should only apply hotfixes that are relevent to the stop message. Server has all updatres and sp2 applied. Will look at the link asap. cheers.
     
  9. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    You raise a good point
    I retract my posts (not sarcastically this time)

    I agree, a live Server should not install Hotfixes that are not intended for it
    I have worked with Live servers too, and this would stop me too
    Until I found the exact kb article and error code, I would wait
     
  10. mparton

    mparton TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks for support...i look after 14 servers, and there is always a hotfix to install at some time, but from experience its always worth getting the exact hotfix/kb. my problem with this server is that i can not identify which hardware is overheating.....so i can buy and swap out, i could just buy new ram, cpu, psu and mb, but might as well buy new server then. Thanks for help. M
     
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Here's the idea

    More reports needed (although don't paste them all in, maybe just that relevant part!)
    Also check for Minidumps

    That type of thing, until you get more info

    In the mean time you can run HardDrive Diagnostic tests, and Memtest and any other test :)
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...