Upgrading pre-built PC

TophCPU

I was given my prebuild gaming PC (gateway FX6840) as a gift a couple years ago and, while it runs fine, there seems like there is room for improvement. I was wondering what I should upgrade to increase performance, and I am pretty new to the PC upgrading world.
current set up:
ATI radeon HD 5700 series
8 GB DDR3
1TB HDD
intel core i7 860 2.80GHz

I would say $100-$200 since I might be building something new in the next year or so. But I would like to hear any suggestions even if they aren't in budget.

The system is showing its age a little, but it still has good specs for being a medium grade gaming system. If you are planning on building something new within the next year, I would suggest saving the money for better hardware with the new one. If you are insistent on upgrading your current one, then here are my suggestions/comments:

You already have 8GB of RAM (which is the "norm" for gaming now).
The i7 processor is still good enough, for now, for gaming.
Plenty of Hard Drive space with the 1TB drive.
So the video card and the power supply are the only options I see at upgrading. I would suggest getting something that you could transfer over into your new build. That way its one less thing you have to worry about buying.

What games do you play (so we can get a better idea of the video card you might need)?

Yeah I think I mostly want an upgrade in preparation of building something new so anything that I could transfer would be perfect. I play a lot of fps and rpg games like titanfall Battle field, skyrim, far cry 4, shadow of mordor, WoW, LoL, hearthstone. I know not many of those are too graphic intensive but I plane to get some more new games.

Also, out of curiosity, what are some things that could be transferred to a new pc in general?

A SSD for the operating system would be a large improvement, and keep the hard drive for downloads and programs. this will give faster boot time and lots of space for expansion.