Weekend Open Forum: What is your favorite video game franchise?

Shawn Knight

Staff member

I’ve seen a number of franchises come and go since I started playing video games some 25 years ago. Regardless of genre, there’s no shortage of franchises that have been stellar over the years with many living on even to this day through a myriad of sequels and reboots.

Some of my all-time favorites include Metroid, Mega Man, Twisted Metal, The Legend of Zelda, Need for Speed, Resident Evil, Mortal Kombat, Street Figther and Sonic the Hedgehog, just to name a few. I’ve played some of the newer franchises like Tomb Raider, Battlefield and Call of Duty as well but there’s just something about the nostalgia around classic titles that draws me in.

With this week’s open forum, we want to know what your favorite video game franchise is. Do you prefer classics like Mario and Final Fantasy or are you more into newer hits like Halo, God of War and StarCraft?

Permalink to story.

The games I'd play today really can't compete with the enjoyment I got out of Zelda when I was a kid. I can still hum the music to the original. I probably played more Mario, but Zelda was the coolest in my book.

Fallout (1,2 & Tactics available at GOG.com , Steam has the 4 best) is #1 in my book.

Jagged Alliance (wish there was an updated version for 1st one) & Elder Scrolls (including Nehrim, a total conversion mod) tied for #2 spot - subject to revision as soon as I get hardware capable enough to do Skyrim right.

If I have to pick one, it would have to be Battlefield, because of how amazing BFBC2 and BF3 are.

Second place goes to Rocksteady's Batman games.

I'd have to say Metal Gear Solid on the PS one thru MGS 4 on the PS3. Close second is the Battlefield games. Still playing BF3 like the first day.

Metal Gear Solid for me. I just love the development and thought that's put into the games, plus I was pretty much born on MGS1 in a gaming sense.