TechSpot

When loading BIOS, freezes trying to enter setup

By emc1950
Apr 13, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. Hi,
    Can anyone assist? Ihave a Toshiba Equium A300d & have had to replace the HDD. After inserting the new drive & powering on,I get the option to enter F2 for setup or f12 for boot options (which I want to select the dvd rom to install windows).....but whichever option I select,the message is '..entering...please wait' but nothing happens. The Bios shows as Phoenix on the toshiba splash screen. Any ideas of the problem? thanks for looking.
     
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    Get into the bios and make the CD/DVD the first boot device. Make sure the Windows install disk is in the DVD drive and boot the computer. If the "please wait" message is still seen, the CD drive may be bad. Is the CD drive able to read DVD's?The Windows XP install drive is a CD, Vista and Windows 7 disks are DVD's
     
  3. emc1950

    emc1950 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    Yes, thats what I want to do.....but I can't get into the BIOS to change the boot device to the cdrom
     
  4. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    Pressing Esc, F2, F10 or F12 while first booting up won't get you into the bios?
     
  5. emc1950

    emc1950 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    No - as I stated, I get the option to select f2 or f12...whichever one I select I get the message 'entering setup' or 'entering boot options' ..... please wait' ......and nothing happens. Any ideas anyone?
     
  6. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    The bios is corrupt. See if you can locate the CMOS battery and remove it for a bit...
     
  7. emc1950

    emc1950 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 17

    Thanks for that. Anyone have a script or vid on how to locate/remove the CMOS battery (I've done this on a desktop which was a breeze but never on a laptop)...thanks
     
  8. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    The CMOS battery is removable. It is attached to a motherboard connector near the wireless card, right behind the front audio jacks... Watch this video:

    I don't know if you can access the battery by removing the bottom Wireless card cover
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...