TechSpot

which new agp graphics card ?

By fredthefish
Aug 16, 2007
  1. fredthefish

    fredthefish TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    here is what it says

    NOTE : THE ITEM IS UNTESTED SO NO WARRENTY NO REFUND NO RETURN POLICY APPLIED
    I DONT HAVE ANY TOOLS TO CHECK THE ITEMS OUT AND LAKE OF TIME AND HUGE AMOUNT OF MATERIAL MADE ME PUT IT AS UNTESTED
    SO SOLD AS SEEN THE PICTURE IS OF ORIGINAL ITEM
    CONDITION IS VERY NICE AS IT IS BOXED BUT I CAN NOT BE ABLE TO ASSURE WHATS WRONG WITH ITEM
    TOTALY UNTESTED
    COMES WITH ACCESSORIES MENTIONED IN PICTURE
    NO REFUND OR RETURN POLICY
    BIDDING START WITH VERY LOW PRICE
    GENIUNE BIDDERS ONLY
    AND BID ACCORDINGLY
    NO NEGATIVE FEEDBACK PLEASE AS THE ITEM SOLD AS SEEN
    THANKS FOR LOOKING
    NOTE : THE ITEM IS UNTESTED SO NO WARRENTY NO REFUND NO RETURN POLICY APPLIED
    I DONT HAVE ANY TOOLS TO CHECK THE ITEMS OUT AND LAKE OF TIME AND HUGE AMOUNT OF MATERIAL MADE ME PUT IT AS UNTESTED
    SO SOLD AS SEEN THE PICTURE IS OF ORIGINAL ITEM
    CONDITION IS VERY NICE AS IT IS BOXED BUT I CAN NOT BE ABLE TO ASSURE WHATS WRONG WITH ITEM
    TOTALY UNTESTED
    COMES WITH ACCESSORIES MENTIONED IN PICTURE
    NO REFUND OR RETURN POLICY
    BIDDING START WITH VERY LOW PRICE
    GENIUNE BIDDERS ONLY
    AND BID ACCORDINGLY
    NO NEGATIVE FEEDBACK PLEASE AS THE ITEM SOLD AS SEEN
    THANKS FOR LOOKING
     
  2. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,714

    Don't touch it with a barge-pole. With all those disclaimers it has to be a lemon.
     
  3. fredthefish

    fredthefish TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I am currently the highest bidder £25 but if i get outbid i wont bid any more

    just had a quote from pc care
    they will supply and fit a series 6 graphics card for £60 so i will use them
     
  4. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,714

    What series 6 graphics card do pc care say they will fit?
     
  5. fredthefish

    fredthefish TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I don't know i have replied to ask if it will be a 6800gs
     
  6. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,623   +320

    You likely won't even need a new PSU for that card. I'd just run it on what you have.
     
  7. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    Ah, that explains it. eBay is notorious for this. Try looking for a 6600GT or a 7300GT GDDR3 instead. Both are superb cards and can still play most new games quite acceptably.
     
  8. fredthefish

    fredthefish TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Is the geforce 6200 a good graphics card?
     
  9. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,714

    Depends on who made it and how much RAM it has. For example, the ASUS 6200 with 128 Mb RAM has had very good reviews.
     
  10. fredthefish

    fredthefish TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

  11. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,714

    The best you can afford - price = perfmance
     
     
  12. Cinders

    Cinders TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,313   +12

    The 6200 is a good video card if you're going to surf the web, play flash based games and use typing programs. If you want to play WoW, FEAR, or newer games then you're going to need something with a lot more power like THIS. You may also have to purchase a new PSU (power source) depending on what you already have. I couldn't easily find the amperage needed for the card but I'll guess that you'd need to have at least a 450 watt PSU to power the thing. Nvidia quit supporting AGP after the 7 series cards so this should be the one of the fastest or the fastest card you could get for AGP.

    The 7600GT is a good card and so is the 6800GS. I have one of the 6800GS overclocked versions.

    Don't bid again until there are just 15 seconds left until the auction ends. The method is called snipping and helps to keep me from over bidding and helps to keep the price down on the item I'm bidding for. When I bid on an item I never bid until the last few seconds of the auction. If I lose then I lose because somebody's maximum bid was higher than mine. If I win then I won because I outbid the other guy by a few pennies. I don't want to give him time to change his mind on his maximum bid so I drasticly reduce the amount of time he has to change his mind. I usually win and get a fair price. When you do bid put in your maximum price plus a few pennies not your current bid. Say the current bid is $23.00 and shipping is $6.00 more. I don't want to pay anymore than $32.00 with shipping so I place my maximum bid of $26.07 seconds before the auctions ends. If I win then great; if I don't then somebody else was willing to pay more (or overpay) for the item.
     
  13. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    The X1950PRO is a powerful, albeit expensive card for AGP. It's worth checking out if you have the cash though.

    Not true. Read this and this.
     
  14. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,623   +320

    Those articles are pretty old Rage. I'd love to see a GF 8300 or something in AGP, really need that HD video processing capabilities for an older comp I've got connected to an HDTV, currently I've got a 7800GS in it because my 6200 doesn't have the balls to do HD along side an A64 2800+. But I'd like to get that 7800 into my C2D 4400 or a Pent D 3.0 since it would be better served there for light-moderate gaming.
     
  15. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    @SNGX1275, the HD2400 is going to be officially released by ATI and it's partners in AGP, and the price range is given as $50-$75. I think that would be perfect for your HTPC, wouldn't it?
     
  16. majorblenks

    majorblenks TS Rookie Posts: 46

    which cards would you rate as the better?

    ~£50
    512MB Sapphire Radeon X1650 PRO AGP DVI/TVO (£55) OR
    256MB Palit 7600GT GDDR3 AGP 8x Dual Link DVI (£60)

    ~£100
    512MB Sapphire X1950PRO DDR3 AGP 8x Dual-DVI / TV-Out (£105)
    256MB MSI 7600GT DDR2 AGP 8x VGA / DVI / TV-Out (£80)

    (FYI I've got a P4 2.8GHz @ 3.09GHz on an ASUS P4P800-SE, 2GB DDR RAM, Inno3D 6200 which is pretty good for £25!, 320GB HDD, XP Home)
     
  17. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    The X1950PRO is the best. Second place goes to the Palit 7600GT. The MSI 7600GT comes next and last place goes to the X1650PRO. :)
     
  18. Cinders

    Cinders TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,313   +12

    Rage_3K_Moiz I didn't know that. To bad that those cards are all 128-bit. :( I have an older 3.2GHz Pentium IV with a GeForce 6800GS I'd like to upgrade. I wonder how the 2600XT would fare against the X1950Pro.
     
  19. majorblenks

    majorblenks TS Rookie Posts: 46

    Argh Cinders, you've got me worrying!

    It seems from your spec that we may be in the same boat. Are you saying that your MoBo doesnt support 128bit? I cant that piece of info for mine anywhere! I've got a Inno 3D Geforce 6200 which is 64bit - is the ASUS
    P4P800SE compatible with these newer 128bit cards?!

    is the info at this site correct anyone? OK its in polish but the test setup they used put a 6600GT (128bit) on an ASUS P4P800-SE

    http://www.czechcomputer.cz/art_doc-762B025B7A79E0EEC1257193003AAB7C.html
     
  20. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    Motherboards have nothing to do with a card's onboard memory interface. A 32-bit card and a 256-bit one will run in the same motherboard. Cinders just meant that the cards are 128-bit, which is lower-mid end performance ATM. The fastest AGP card, the X1950PRO, is 256-bit and the fastest cards available today like the HD2900XT and 8800GTX are 512-bit and 384-bit respectively.
     
  21. Cinders

    Cinders TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,313   +12

    What Rage_3K_Moiz said is true, and I'll add that performance video cards usually start at 256-bit at the mid end and work their way up as high as 512-bit.
     
  22. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,714

    yes but - there is always a yes but - sorry.
    For the system to perform at max it all has to operate in a balance. A blindingly quick card in a cr*p board is a waste of effort.
     
  23. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,286   +24

    I don't agree. An X1950PRO in a Biostar or ECS mobo will work just as well as the same card in an Abit or GigaByte board. Not everyone wants to spend $120+ on a board when a cheaper one will do just fine, unless they need the extra OCing features etc.
     
  24. AlbertLionheart

    AlbertLionheart TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,714

    It would be interesting to see which one performed the best, though! I have always found that the more expensive boards performed better overall and were not always worth the money just because of the extra goodies. Stick a Jetway board with the same chip, memory and other peripherals up against an Asus board at 4 times the price and whilst you don't get 4 times the performance there is a difference in speed and long term serviceability. That bit I do know as once I build 4 machines, 3 with Jetway boards and 1 with the Asus because that is all I could get hold of in a hurry and, for example, the windows installation time on the Asus was at least 25% quicker. All other components were the same.
    Those 3 Jetway machines all came back 3 years later with fat caps. This Asus is still running after 5 years - due for retirement now though!
     
  25. majorblenks

    majorblenks TS Rookie Posts: 46

     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.