Wondering if these specs will be alright for a new gaming computer?

DrekSilver

I'm basically a computer noob. I know more then the average person, but i'm not a tech wiz. From what i've gathered when looking for a gaming computer I should look at Ghz, RAM, processor cores, and the strength of the video card. I've been wanting to buy a really good gaming PC for a while now, and I think i've find one but i'm not sure. After reading a lot more into it though I started seeing things that made me unsure; "Wait L2 Cache is more important that Ghz? Intel Core 2 Duo is the way to go? Alienware is overrated?" Essentially after browsing this site I found myself with more questions than answers. So I made an account and decided to just ask, will these specs be ok (and by "ok" I mean very good) for a modern day gaming computer?

Processor Type - AMD Phenom II 1055T
Processor Speed - 2.80 GHz
Processor Cores - 6
RAM 8 GB - (4 x 2 GB) PC3-10600 DDR3 SDRAM (Expandable to 16 GB)
Hard Drive Capacity - 1.5 TB
Hard Drive Speed (Revolutions Per Minute) - 5400 RPM
Optical Drives - SuperMulti DVD Burner with LightScribe Technology
Graphics - AMD Radeon HD 6570
Pre-loaded Operating System - Windows 7 Home Premium (64-Bit)

Firstly, hello and welcome to TechSpot. :)

Your pretty much spot on with your thoughts regarding gaming computers - Though with the CPUs you need to consider the number of cores (and threads), and the clock speed.

The AMD Phenom 1055T is an outstanding CPU for overclocking, though its unlikely you'll realistically find games able to use all 6 cores - That said, more is better as far as I am concerned.

That said, I don't like the hard disk. For a gaming computer you need to be having a 7,200RPM speed hard disk, or a SSD. You could also probably get a better GPU for the same money as well.