XP Slow

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarrellCoe

I am new to the PC World ( really a Mac User). I recently re-installed XP onto my Dad's PC. After the re-install, the computer ( I felt) ran farly fast. Since that time, the computer is getting slower and slower. After selecting the appropriate User, it now takes anywhere from 3 to 4 minutes for a program to load. I scanned the Techspot article on "What makes XP Run slow and nearly fell asleep. I am thinking of adding RegScrubXP to my computer, but have not done it yet. Can anyone recommend a path to take. The computer has not been around long enough to get any virus attack that my virus program has not detected. I know contrary to a Mac , there are alot of activities that go on in the background. Could there be something there?

I would appreciate any help and assistance that I receive,
Thanks in advance,
Darrell

Maybe it would be better to try and find out why it's slow:
Possibilities:
1. Too many programs starting on boot and runnig in the background.
Start> Run> msconfig> enter> Selective Startup> Startup tab> how many processes are checked?
2. Unnecessary Services set to Automatic (CAUTION: DON'T fool around with these-) they will be included in the Task Manager:
Open the Task Manager: right click on Taskbar> Task Manager> look on lower left and tell me how many processes are running.
3. Inadequate security: What security programs do you have?
4. Malware
The computer has not been around long enough to get any virus attack that my virus program has not detected
You can get malware the instant you connect to the internet.

Please answer 1,2 and 3. We'll go from there. I would also like to know how much RAM is installed.

Bobbye,