Your First PC?

By Cucumber
Mar 19, 2002
Post New Reply
  1. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    does anyone remember back when RAM was expensive as hell?
  2. MarcFOnline

    MarcFOnline Newcomer, in training Posts: 84

    Oh heck yeah. I remember when I spent well over $100 just to bring my PC up to 8 megabytes. Although, if you think about it, since that doubled my RAM (I went from 4 to 8 MB), it would cost about the same to double my RAM today (from 1 to 2 GB). So I guess things haven't changed all that much, but still, it's amusing to recall that a 4 MB SIMM used to cost a heck of a lot more than what we'd pay for a 512 MB DIMM today.
  3. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,460   +135

    Me too,
    I have an old Biostar MB. One of the first DDR 2100 boards with 4 slots. To fill this board with 4 256MB DDR modules... Big $$!
  4. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,291   +226

    You mean RAM is cheap now? Its a couple hundred bucks for 2 gigs.
  5. kitty500cat

    kitty500cat Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,407   +6

    I had a wonderful Windows 95 system with a Cyrix 6x86 120MHz CPU. It has died, so unfortunately I can't check how much RAM :(
  6. KaitenV

    KaitenV Newcomer, in training Posts: 29

    First PC that was mines?
    Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86Ghz
    2GB DD2800 (under-clocked to 667 for the motherboard)
    20GB Samsung Hard Drive
    80GB Maxtor Hard Drive (taken from an external)
    320GB Seagate Perp. Hard Drive
    GeForce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card (Under-clocked to x8 for the motherboard)
    MB ECS NFORCE 570 SLIT-A V5.1 775 (The cheapness O.O)
    POWER SUPPLY CMAX500W
    Ubuntu Linux/Windows Vista RC1

    However, just built it and for some reason it takes 30 seconds to send a signal to my screen. -.-
  7. roseypeach

    roseypeach TechSpot Member Posts: 64

    OMG I can't remember the specs on it but I had a Tandy 2000. I thought I was hot stuff!

    wow, what a long time ago that was...:eek:
  8. beef_jerky4104

    beef_jerky4104 Banned Posts: 1,094

  9. Boogityboo04

    Boogityboo04 Newcomer, in training Posts: 351

    Ahahaha, good ol' Tandys. I miss them
  10. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 10,067   +13

    Atari 800XL with
    256KB of ram
    a 10 MB hard drive
    a 19.2KB modem
    and four floppies - 2 of which were DS/DD and 1 QD
  11. thewoosterisroot

    thewoosterisroot TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 234

    My first pc was a packard bell, windows 95 man! IDR the specs. I remember being very exited about being able to play that little game called "Admiral" though.
  12. ravisunny2

    ravisunny2 TS Ambassador Posts: 2,048   +8

    1) TRS 80 Pocket Computer (pretty handy) [1983]
    2) 386SX/387SX, 4MB RAM, 40 MB HDD, Hercules Graphics Card [1993]
    3) PIII, 128 MB RAM, 4.1 GB HDD, 3 1/2" FDD (& the vendor couldn't figure out why I insisted on a 5 1/4" FDD) [1999]
    (Now it also has a CD writer)
  13. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    TRS-80, huh? classic ;)
     
  14. My first PC...is the one I'm using now. Dell Dimension 2400. Completely basic, no upgrades..well except for a much needed boost in RAM.
  15. CMH

    CMH TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,572   +9

    First PC I ever had around at home was a 286. I was about 5 at the time, so don't ask me what else was in it...

    I remember the upgrade to the 486 and a floppy drive was so exciting!!
  16. Face of LA

    Face of LA Newcomer, in training Posts: 186

    OMG! LMAO Dont even get me started to talk about the old pcs! lol 10 mb hard drive! haha

    one
  17. NetCablesPlus

    NetCablesPlus TechSpot Maniac Posts: 480

    Back in 1984-85, I was with a mainframe/minicomputer software company. Our first PC was the old Compaq 'suitcase' PC. The monitor on it was probably 3 inches square, but it was so cool because now we could carry around this PC and a monitor and do demos at client sites. Prior to that, the best we could do was use a small four-wheel flatbed 'truck' to hand-wheel a Sun or Apollo workstation to the client's site. Prior to the workstations, we could only dial in to a mainframe over a standard phone line and do a demo that way. You got real good at filling in the time while the screen re-painted with every command.
  18. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    lol...imagine doing something like that today! hilarious!
  19. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,460   +135

    I remember that Compaq suitcase computer. It had an amber or green monochrome monitor. It was pretty heavy too. I repaired a few of them. I worked for Altair in Albuquerque, New Mexico. We built the first kit PC. Bill Gates wrote the DOS for it
  20. Pinoy Dynasty

    Pinoy Dynasty Newcomer, in training

    I got my first computer in 1998. It was an eMachine and like all eMachines back then, they were really bad. But once they got bought by Gateway their computers started to get better.
  21. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,016   +716

    Harrump...!

    God punishes grandstanders, that's why.
  22. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    I ised to have a BSI "luggable" with a 7 inch sony color TV tube. I had a CD drive, two floppy drives, two hard drives, and only one fan in the whole thing, way more than was intended for the case. Solid!
  23. gamefreak

    gamefreak Newcomer, in training

    My first laptop was a Compaq LTE with a 33Mhz DX486 Processor, 12MB
    memory and Windows 95. It also had a 33k PC Card/modem which i
    repaced with Ethernet Card

    My first Home Computer was a 200Mhz Compaq
    Presario w/ 48Mb Memory, 1 MB Onboard S3, ESS AuidoDrive 1888
    and 56K Modem. Which i replaced with Ethernet

    My sole purpose for these computers besides school was Playing Doom with
    my friends on the LAN over at the local library.
  24. halo71

    halo71 Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,289

    Hey, on that LTE. Was it the one with the roller ball mouse made into the top lidscreen of the case. You used it when the lid was open? I had one of those a little older than yours I think that had Win3.1 on it!!! It had a big HDD though, a whopping 650 megs I think.
  25. ITGuy702

    ITGuy702 TechSpot Member Posts: 86

    My first pc was an e-Machine

    And I'll leave it at that. Hehe...


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.