LinkedIn grants members the ability to block others

By on February 21, 2014, 4:30 PM
linkedin, privacy, social network, block, member blocking

LinkedIn on Friday announced a new feature that members have been requesting for quite some time: the ability to block other members. It’s a feature that will no doubt be incredibly useful, especially on a social network where many can be relentless in their pursuit of making a professional connection.

In a post on the matter, Paul Rockwell, LinkedIn’s head of Trust & Safety, said they built the feature not only because it was requested but simply because it’s the right thing to do. The feature is being made active as of today to all members, Rockwell noted.

To enable member blocking, simply head over to your LinkedIn profile and navigate to the profile of the person you wish to block. Select “Block or report” in the drop-down menu located next to the Connect and Send InMail buttons.

Pro tip – if you want to avoid an awkward moment, enable anonymous profile viewing before doing so. That way, you can visit and block the person’s profile without them knowing about it.

Once blocked, neither you nor the person you blocked will be able to view each other’s profile. In the event that you are already connected with said person, that connection will automatically be severed. What’s more, you will no longer be able to communication with said person (not that you’d want to anyway) and all recommendations and endorsements will be removed.




User Comments: 3

Got something to say? Post a comment
misor misor said:

The newest version of windows live essentials 16.4.3522.110 allows linking to facebook or linkedin via the "revived" windows live messenger (which was previously ditched in favor of Skype).

Guest said:

What's more, you will no longer be able to communication with said person (not that you'd want to anyway) and all recommendations and endorsements will be removed.

that should be changed to communicate.

I don't use linkedin but thanks to the article author for this tip:

Pro tip - if you want to avoid an awkward moment, enable anonymous profile viewing before doing so. That way, you can visit and block the person's profile without them knowing about it.

tipstir tipstir, TS Ambassador, said:

I use it and everyone wants to connect with me. I am at Expert level. I feel it's okay but way to many request for business level expert. Blocking them out will be a plus! Thanks for the letting us know.

Load all comments...

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.