Horribly slow boot time on XP Professional -- no viruses, good maintenance

chriscricket

Running XP Professional 32 bit on a fairly new system I built. Wife has the exact same system and her's runs like a pro, so it's not a hardware conflict issue that I know of.

The System takes 15+ minutes to boot into windows. About 5 min from BIOS to windows. Another 5 for Windows to load. Yet another 5 to log into my account. I am the only user of this computer so there is only one account.

Last time I ran chkdsk was a few weeks ago, and it came back clean. I defrag weekly, clean registry weekly, and scan for viruses every other day or so (using Spybot SD, Microsoft Security Essentials, and Malewarebytes, just recently uninstalled AVG).

I have tried disabling firewall configurations, system monitor configurations, played with msconfig startup, among other things and I cannot for the life of me figure out why my computer takes so long to boot.

This is my first time to ever post on a forum, so please tell me any other information you need or what you would like for me to try.

-cheers

Do you have any spare RAM? If yes, for the couple of minutes it would take to swap a RAM board, it's worth a try. With XP, 512MB at least, your PC should boot in a couple of minutes at worst.
Another test you could try, is to download 'PC Wizard 2010'.
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/pc-wizard.html

When run, this program has a 'Benchmark' option. You can run a 'Global' bench mark, or just on Hard drive, or RAM etc.
The 'Global' benchmark may give you a better idea of what is faulty, if it is hardware problems.

This sort of thing can impiicate a failing HDD (or even motherboard). Try running chkdsk /r to start with. Then download and run the manufacturer test suite for the HDD.