TechSpot

20% of Intel's Q1 2011 desktop CPUs to be Sandy Bridge

By Emil
Nov 9, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. Intel's next-gen Sandy Bridge processors are due out early next year and the company is going to make sure they don't go unnoticed. 20 percent of Intel's Q1 2011 desktop CPU shipments will be using the Sandy Bridge architecture, according to sources at motherboard makers cited by DigiTimes. Intel will debut its latest and greatest processors at CES 2011 in January 2011.

    Read the whole story
     
  2. Demons

    Demons TS Rookie Posts: 52

    I will wait for the new platform bugs to be worked out before I upgrade. I am really excited about UEFI though. BIOS should have died a long time ago. Just like the floppy disc, it just hung on for some reason. It is about time for Intel to release a new platform.
     
  3. ruzveh

    ruzveh Banned Posts: 124

    while UEFI is good to have but still i am not keen on sandy bridge as such and without waiting further i am planning to buy i7-870 with UD4P. My main reason behind not waiting for sandy is that there is no motherboard which has as many features as in UD4P of P55 gigabyte mdb
     
  4. TeamworkGuy2

    TeamworkGuy2 TS Enthusiast Posts: 195

    Another Intel platform... I like AMD because they do not update so much. Take the AM3, it is very flexible and supports over two dozen processors, you can buy everything from $30 - $300 and get the performance for the price that fits your budget. When I build I am going AMD because of that reason.
    Although I do admit that Intel has the fastest desktop processors (i7) out there, so it's a trade off between the ability to upgrade without buying a new motherboard or getting a really fast processor and having to upgrade your motherboard every time you want to upgrade the processor.
     
  5. sMILEY4ever

    sMILEY4ever TS Enthusiast Posts: 156

    I agree. If I had to choose between changing the socket yearly and doing the change as rarely as possible, I'd do it as rarely as possible.
     
  6. Storagebox

    Storagebox TS Rookie Posts: 17

    sadly bulldozer gonna use a new socket :( hopefully its going to be worth i really wish AMD going to give Intel a good fight
     
  7. bioflex

    bioflex TS Rookie Posts: 70

    me too buddy.....i think intel has been on the top for far too long...come on amd, do something about that.......what happened to the good old days?..
     
  8. KG363

    KG363 TS Enthusiast Posts: 524   +9

    I want to upgrade my phenom II x3.

    I need this and bulldozer NOW!

    I hope prices are manageable
     
  9. blimp01

    blimp01 TS Enthusiast Posts: 157

    ill skip this platform, still using 775 but whatever
     
  10. jazboy

    jazboy TS Rookie Posts: 112

    I used to like Intel processor. I have two laptop and 1 computer. My laptop has intel processor but desktop has AMD processor. I have started liking AMD processor now. You get same power in much less money which you can put on other configuration. And AMD doesn't make their product obsolete at least for 3-4 years. Think how many laptops and computers are coming with intel core processor. Intel core i processor is just about year old and now they are coming with new processor.
     
  11. Puiu

    Puiu TS Evangelist Posts: 1,094   +110

    I'm going to stay away from the first gen motherboard that will include UEFI. It's always best to wait for at least 1 year before buying a new tech to give it time to mature and to resolve most of the important bugs. (something like sp1 for an OS)
    As for Sandy Bridge CPU's i want to see how amd responds.
     
     
  12. dividebyzero

    dividebyzero trainee n00b Posts: 4,946   +728

    Really? I'm guessing you haven't seen whats coming up in the rear-view mirror....in fact you'll be able to get better than the P55A-UD4P feature set on the likely cheaper P67A-UD4, including a much cleaner power delivery (driver mosfets).
    Hopefully you get a bonus from Gigabyte for buying the P55(A?)-UD4P- it's one less unit in inventory they wont have to transship to a developing country in order to clear the warehouses.
     
  13. fpsgamerJR62

    fpsgamerJR62 TS Rookie Posts: 489

    Another new Intel platform, new CPUs, new socket type and new motherboards again. At least, it still uses DDR3 memory. What's next ? Are they going to kill off Socket 1366 and the X58 chipset too ? I'm still using a LGA 775 E7500 rig and another with a AMD Phenom II X4 955 processor. I think I'm going to sit this one out. My money doesn't grow on trees and I'm lucky I still have a job. Sorry, Intel, no sale. Your CPUs rock but the way you treat PC users really sucks. :(
     
  14. ET3D

    ET3D TechSpot Paladin Posts: 992   +31

    While I like that AMD is keeping socket compatibility, I can't say it has affected me greatly. I don't upgrade the CPU often enough that it matters. When I do it's often with a new PC, and then I buy a new MB.
     
  15. grvalderrama

    grvalderrama TS Enthusiast Posts: 197

    Sandy bridge it's a socket or a chipset? :S never got well the idea. I'm sticking to my 775 socket and probably go after the Core i5 760 processor, if I decided to sell my computer one of the days to come.
    Having said that, I won't belong to the 20% of people who luckly will get their sandy bridge processor.
     
  16. edison5do

    edison5do TS Rookie Posts: 239

    I hope those guys in AMD, work their *** out to get that figth, if not, then they will realize that their destiny is stay in Intel´s shadows as a butget hell of a good performer option... But I, lke you, have my prays so to that dont happen, I really like AMD product, most of it ATI´s..cough, cough RADEON..jeje :)
     
  17. white2010

    white2010 TS Rookie Posts: 16

    that is myw I prefer amd bceuase no need to often to change motherboard for each times I upgrade, not like intel but too admit intel i-7 is the fastest .
     
  18. xcelofjkl

    xcelofjkl TS Rookie Posts: 86

    The way Intel works is that most of their upgrade paths arent backwards compatible unlike AMD. If you plan on switching to an i5 760, you'd have to change your socket 775 to an 1156..
     


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.