BSOD help please minidumps attached

By lano15
Jun 16, 2008
  1. so i have a new Computer

    intel core duo extreme quad 3.00 ghz
    dual ati HD 3870 512 meg gfx cards
    4 gig crossiar dominator ram
    windows vista home
    1tb hard sata raid
    from dell

    i recieved a BSOD recenlty and i want to pinpoint what is the root of the problem.

    If someone can please help i would appreciate it greatly.

    attached are the minidumps. (2 of them)

    im thinking it may be a video driver issue but i do not now for sure.

    (the BSOD happened twice in maya once on its own and once when starting up a game)

    again any help would be great!

    thank you so much.


    minidumps here
  2. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Inside the 2 MiniDumps:
    luafv.sys: File Virtualization Filter Driver
    Caused by trillian.exe chat program

    I'd say update your Network adaptors, or return them to the default driver (sometimes this helps too)
    Or un-install Trillian
  3. lano15

    lano15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks a million but what is ntkrpamp.exe?
  4. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    ntkrpamp.exe: NT Kernel & System

    Can be caused by Memory error, or Drivers requiring updating (ie network drivers), or programs like BitDefender or ZoneAlarm or Norton or Trillian !
  5. gilbert2000

    gilbert2000 TS Rookie

    unexpected shutdown

    I am intermittently experiencing unexpected shutdowns when resuming from 'sleep mode' and would be grateful if some knowledgable person could translate/interpret the minidump attached as reports sent to MS seem to raise no response.
    Thank you in anticipation of a response

    Vista Home Premium 32bit SP1
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
    2 gig ram
    nvidea Geforce 8600Gt
  6. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    gilbert2000 you need to create your own new thread, by replying to a thread already being supported, support members may not see your post at all !

    In this case, I am answering your Minidump problem (luckily for you)

    Inside the 1 MiniDump:
    inspect.sys: COMODO Firewall Pro Firewall Driver

    Seems that COMODO has been causing some faults with certain Network adaptors.

    Try updating your network driver
    Or remove COMODO Firewall
  7. gilbert2000

    gilbert2000 TS Rookie

    Sorry about the inappropriate post and thanks ......
  8. lano15

    lano15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    so i ran memtest everything passed

    ran chkdsk everything passed

    i ran regcure a few times it kept comming up with errors and i would keep fixing them.

    i disabled the luafv.sys driver which reverted my trillian pro back to pro basic..?

    but i have not had any issues last night.
  9. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Well done, all is now good.
  10. lano15

    lano15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ok so i did a sfc /scannow and i had corrupt files.

    i did a vista repair.

    as i was reinstalling trend mico ( i got it from dell)

    i recieved 2 blue screens

    both page fault in non paged area errors

    at the time i was running th einstal of trend micro and had installed pidgin (IM program)

    the other time i ran regcure.

    can you check to see what the issue was this time if it was trand micor or pidgin? or something new?

    attached is the new minidump. :(

    thanks for all your help so far kimsland.
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Inside the 1 MiniDump:
    msrpc.sys: Kernel Remote Procedure Call Provider
    Vista signed driver handling network protocol

    Please confirm your Windows has had all MS Security updates completed
  12. lano15

    lano15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I did not have sp1 for vista installed i did do all the updates 53 of them and ran windows updater and it was fine said i was up to dat ebut sp1 was still not installed at the time of this crash.

    after that BSOD caused by the msrpc.sys i uninstalled pidgin.

    did not having SP1 have something to do with it?
  13. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    I'd say that would be the most important issue.

    Since loading SP1, is all ok now ?
  14. lano15

    lano15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i will load it tonight and keep you posted.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...