cpu problem ?

By renoxtreme
Aug 8, 2006
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ive got a custom computer specs are

    2.66 pentium D
    1 gig RAM
    80 gig HARDdrive
    intel motherboard
    saphire x850 xt pci-e

    i expience poor gameplay, bad fps. The whole thing. I cant play bf2 with alot of people in a server. Or with even a little people i lag. Just wondering if its a cpu problem
  2. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,277   +22

    There are lots of reasons for this.
    1. U have a slow Internet connection. For best experience on BF2, u would need at least a 2-3MBps connection.
    2. U have too many programs running in the background or u have a resource-hogging program such as Norton running in the background. If that's the case, post a screenshot of ur task manager here. If ur running norton however, then uninstall it and use a free AV program such as AVG or Avast!
    3. U have spyware/adware/trojans on ur PC that are eating up ur bandwidth/memory. Use anti-spyware like Ad-Aware, Ewido or Spybot: Search & Destroy and do a couple of scans.
    4. Ur CPU & GPU are overheating. I doubt it is this because it would cause the PC to reboot if it was the CPU or u would get artifacting if it was the GPU. U haven't mentioned either so it's unlikely this is the problem.
    5. The graphics settings in the game are too high. Try lowering the settings and resolution to see if it helps.
  3. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    hey

    thanks for responding

    i however only have a 1.5 connecting, 3 isnt available in my area...

    as for the task manager that might be it. ive got 30 running

    but even after a reformat, it was still bad gameplay

    so that takes care of the viruses^^^^^^^

    and it might be the video card overheating, but it plays the same throughout from the beginning to the end of when i play.

    maybe it could me my catalyst settings? if you could maybe tell me what to set it all to

    thanks
  4. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,277   +22

    What about the in-game video settings for the game? Have u tried reducing those?
  5. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    i dont want to, with my video card i should be able to handle the graphics of bf2. If I need a new processor however is what I need to know. Sorry if i sound rude. Thanks for the help so far
  6. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    You simply need more memory.. and ensure you have/maintain dual-channel in the process.

    BF2 is a total memory hog and 1 gig is absolutely NOT enough if you play with decent/medium or higher game/graphics settings. 1.5 gig minimum or 2 gigs is ideal.

    It'll be a stutter, pause, freeze and pagefile festival of harddisk virtual memory IO's with 1 gig playing online. Bump the memory up (and get mem in pairs to ensure dual-channel/Intel memory performance) and you'll be golden.

    Your processor is more than enough (BF2 plays GREAT even on an 2400+ or 2200+ Barton lol.. as long as it has 2 gigs) and your videocard should be able to max-out everything at 1280x1024 with no graphics problems at all.
  7. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Okay i might go with a new mb cuz i only have 2 memory slots.

    and source doesnt require alot of memory though
  8. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    You can buy 2x1gig sticks fairly inexpensively. As it's a Pentium D, I would assume this is a Socket 775 Motherboard, correct? If so, it should have DDR2 memories. You can get 2 gigs (2x1gig sticks) for around $189 for good, lower latency CAS4 ones.

    I'd also download/google CPU-Z and run this. It's memory tab should tell you if you have dual-channel enabled and/or performance mode. It can also be helpful if you use it's save feature on the last tab and attach it here. It might yield more insight into what issues your system has and proper upgrade paths.
  9. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    <a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y200/coolguy9/55757575.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"></a>

    [​IMG]
  10. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    tell me if u see something wrong
  11. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    Yeah, I see lots wrong.. or at least that doesn't match your initial system info.

    Pentium D with DDR vs. DDR2. Are you sure this isn't a Socket 478 and NOT a Pentium D?

    Also, Single Channel.. Async (rather than ratio).. a number of problems/differences.

    Go to the last tab in CPU-Z (the ABOUT tab) and hit the HTML Report. Save it to your desktop and attach it here. That report should give all the full details of your system in hopes of us being able to help guide you towards improving your performance.
  12. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    how do i attach it? sorry i dont know how

    thanks for being willing to help
  13. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    When you hit the Reply button, scroll down on the editor and you should see a button for "Manage Attachments" down below. That gives you a requestor for browsing for a file to attach. You can zip it if you want or I believe this forum will take it in html form as well.
     
  14. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    here it is guys
  15. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    Hi again renoxtreme,
    Well, I have some bad news for you.. that's a MicroATX "budget" board from Intel with some absolutely bizarre combinations of hardware. It's aimed at the office-PC market and therefore cuts a LOT of performance corners- keeping your fairly-decent P4-D crippled.

    It only supports single-channel memory and also uses only DDR memories. This is a real oddity for Socket 775 motherboards. It also utilizes the ATI Xpress chipset, which while capable of dual-channel support, has been omitted from your particular motherboard. ATI Xpress chipsets also have horrible memory latency (usually compensated by fast dual-channel performance) so you're basically stuck with the worst of both worlds if you're trying to use this system for gaming.

    If you're planning on upgrading your motherboard, you'd also have to/want to get different memory. Socket 775/Pentium D class processors and mainboards generally perform best with dual-channel, DDR2 memory. You can salvage your CPU (yours is actually no slouch and a decent CPU) as well as your videocard as it's PCI-Express. Of course, you'd want to completely wipe out your system and re-install the OS fresh if you're transplanting a new motherboard for the best results.

    Sorry to be the bringer of bad news... you can also try to see if there is a newer BIOS as ATI chipset bios upgrades occasionally can reduce latency for memory performance. From your CPU-Z output, it's an Intel D101GGC motherboard and you'll find driver/bios updates on Intel's support site.

    Good luck!
  16. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    could u recommend me a good amd motherboard, 939 socket?

    and some memory to go with it.

    id appreciate it alot

    thanks for the help
  17. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    keep it on the cheapest

    but enough so that there will be no problems
  18. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    Well, are you sure you want to go AMD? You'll be spending a lot more when you already have a pretty decent system... just really need a new motherboard + memory. You can likely have your system working GREAT for about $280, whereas an AMD system, you'll need a cpu, memory, motherboard, etc.etc.

    Also, Socket 939 has been superceded/obsoleted by AM2. Luckily AM2 motherboard/cpu prices are about the same.

    AMD System - roughly $375
    =====================
    Abit KN9S - $99.50
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127007

    2x1gig DDR2-800's - Mushkin CAS5 (Value but solid memory) - $189.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146118

    Athlon 3200+ (2.0 ghz) - $85.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103637


    Upgrade your system - roughly $253:
    ============================
    ASUS P5GD2-X - $92.95
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131542

    2x1gig DDR2-533 - Corsair CAS4 memory - $159.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145527


    Obviously, the AMD system will perform a bit improved over the P4-2.66ghz.

    Hope this helps!
  19. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    its a pentium D 2.66.

    Butttt the intel seems smarter to do atm, But are you 100% sure that that will solve the problem? Cause ive heard that pentium D aren't good at all for gaming. So I don't wanna go out and get all this stuff for it to not fix the problem 100%. But yah seems good to me.
  20. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    the mb is a little expensive though

    memory is also expensive :( but i cant seem to get around that.

    does this seem like a descent motherboard?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813135225

    sorry to keep contradicting some stuff, but I really can't put out that much money for a motherboard + ram atm. But just how is that motherboard?
  21. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,277   +22

    Try this mobo instead. It supports DDR and DDR2 so u can upgrade when u want to. Plus it has PCi-Express support too. And right now the best processors available are from Intel so u can upgrade to those too when u need to.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157092

    As for the RAM, try this.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227221
    It's the cheapest 1GB good quality stick of RAM I could find. U can re-use ur old RAM so it won't cost u too much. Plus it has the same latency and speed as ur other stick. OCZ is a superb company as far as RAM is concerned so u will never have problems with it.
  22. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,277   +22

    Post deleted
  23. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    that looked great

    but i read a review and he said they dont say it but the motherboard is only capable of 4x pci-e?
  24. Sharkfood

    Sharkfood TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,198

    I'd stay well clear of VIA chipset motherboards. Also Rage, his memory is 2x512 sticks of DDR, so he can't use his old memory unless we also go with a 4-slot motherboard... :(

    And yes, the DDR/775 motherboards with PCI-E and DDR (non ATI chipset) are usually NOT truly x16 speed supported, but instead x4 speed. While it's a PCI-Ex16 *slot*, it'll only work with cards that can step down to x4 speed while in an x16 slot... which broadly narrows the videocards that can be used!

    On the prior page, I'd avoid the NForce chipset also for Intel CPU's. The whole problem you are encountering now is trying to couple an Intel CPU in a 3rd party chipset motherboard. While some work okay, the best performance/match is i9xx chipset for your Pentium D. I also highly recommend Asus + i9xxx chipset mainboards as Asus also tunes the chipset for best performance (i.e. gaming) using Hyperpath and other technologies for memory/latency.

    I'm sorry these arent the answers you want to hear... but truly, the whole problem stems from having non-performance/non-intel components on a P4-D.. along with a bizarre mix of components. While it's true you can likely get some improvements in performance, you're only going up a small bit for a LOT of work that way... to mainly save a couple bucks.

    If you dont mind staying cramped on Socket 939, perhaps that may be a valid choice... of course, you'll be going with something now superceded but if you dont upgrade very often, it may indeed be the best budget choice/bang for the buck.

    OCZ 2x512 (1 gig) DDR400, CAS 2.5 - $92.99 ($84.99 after rebate)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227039

    Abit KN8 NForce4 Socket 939 (with 4 ddr400 slots) - $69.99 ($49.99 after rebate)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127221

    Athlon 64 3000+ (1.8ghz) - $69
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103537

    That's a dual-channel/ddr400 motherboard. If you're REALLY strapped for cash, you can hold back on the extra 1 gig and just struggle with BF2 for a while and add another 1 gig down the road (IN PAIRS to keep dual-channel, althought dual-channel's impact on AMD's isn't as great as Intels).
  25. renoxtreme

    renoxtreme Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Hey man, I am gonna go with the intel. I said that in the page before. Really sorry about the confusion. And I can go with 2 gigs, becuz it is a need for bf2. I just need to keep the motherboard down a little.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.