TechSpot

Desktop freezes

By rwillis
Sep 1, 2008
  1. I've been experiencing random freezes on the desktop for a few days now. I can't identify any possible precursors to the freezes as they even happen during the windows splash screen (where the little blue bars scroll across... before the log in screen). I have no idea what would be causing this... I have a tier 2 450w psu with more than enough voltage (i don't feel like opening it up to look right now) to run my 80gb harddrive, my 8800gt, my athlon 64 x2 6000+, 2gigs of ram, and an asus low end mobo. besides, it's never happened before. help!

    thank you in advance
     
  2. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    update: just got a bsod

    win32k.sys

    page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

    stop: 0x00000050 (0xBA0815B0, 0x00000001, 0xBF832335, 0x00000000)

    win32k.sys - Address BF832335 base at bf800000 datestamp 41107f7a



    and the error report from event viewer:

    Error code 10000050, parameter1 ba0815b0, parameter2 00000001, parameter3 bf832335, parameter4 00000000.


    this is happening all the f*cking time now and it's extremely irritating
     
  3. LookinAround

    LookinAround Ex Tech Spotter Posts: 6,491   +183

    have you indicated which operating system and release level yet?
     
  4. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,335   +36

    Right click on the Error> Properties> Click on the Copy icon at top right, below the down arrow and Paste here (Ctrl V). The Error has additional information that can be used in the troubleshooting.

    Error code 10000050 on boot frequently indicates a problem with Memory, which may be faulty.
     
  5. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    here's the whole thing...

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: System Error
    Event Category: (102)
    Event ID: 1003
    Date: 9/1/2008
    Time: 01:17:26
    User: N/A
    Computer: RWILLIS1
    Description:
    Error code 10000050, parameter1 ba0815b0, parameter2 00000001, parameter3 bf832335, parameter4 00000000.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    Data:
    0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
    0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
    0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
    0018: 20 31 30 30 30 30 30 35 1000005
    0020: 30 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d 0 Param
    0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 62 61 eters ba
    0030: 30 38 31 35 62 30 2c 20 0815b0,
    0038: 30 30 30 30 30 30 30 31 00000001
    0040: 2c 20 62 66 38 33 32 33 , bf8323
    0048: 33 35 2c 20 30 30 30 30 35, 0000
    0050: 30 30 30 30 0000


    and xp sp2



    oh yeah and I ran memtest for about 8hrs with no errors and i ran orthos for about 5 minutes and got an error. Not sure what the orthos one means though.
     
  6. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,335   +36

    Let start conservatively- you gave two sources of information and I can't sort it out clearly:

    Regarding the win32k.sys/page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

    The behavior may occur if the win32k.sys is corrupted. Go to C:\WINDOWS\System32 using Windows Explorer> (right click on Start> Explore)> Windows folder)> System 32>
    Right click > rename the Win32k.sys file to Win32k.old> then close the window.
    Now go back to the system32 folder and you will have a new and non-corrupt Win32k.sys file.

    The behavior also may be caused by that the virtual memory of the Windows XP is corrupted. Disable and then enable the Virtual Memory to see whether it solved the problem:
    To disable Virtual memory:
    To enable Virtual memory:
    Let me know system status after doing these two things.
     
  7. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    ok I did both of those, logged off to leave my room, and came back and it was frozen on the log on screen.
     
  8. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,335   +36

  9. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    ok i read that and i've been scanning for viruses using the instructions sticky on this forum. so far I've found literally hundreds of trojans and i'm not even close to being done, i don't think. hmmm
     
  10. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    ok I just finished formatting the HD, reinstalling windows, sp2, etc etc and I just got 2 more crashes... no BSOD, no events logged, just freezes on the desktop. I've already reseated the ram, checked all the connections and whatnot, run memtest for 8+hrs with no errors... please tell me this isn't a bad dimm
     
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    You need to update all your Manufacture device drivers

    For more help:
    Please put your System Specs information in your Profile
     
  12. buck247

    buck247 TS Rookie

    A lot of freezing problems like you describe are caused by errors in your registry.

    Try downloading and running "Free Windows Registry Repair 1.5 "

    Once your done compress your registry using "Free Registry Defrag/Compact (Freeware) - Version 2.35"

    Sorry I can't post the link because I'm new to this forum. Just google the names and I'm sure you'll get them.

    If anything it will do some good as not many people never truly look after their registry. Let me know how you go...

    Buck
     
  13. Bobbye

    Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,335   +36

    I do not recommend using any Registry cleaning program at this point. Your system isn't stable and you could do more harm. We need to see the logs from the malware cleaning programs. Please attach the here when finished scanning.
     
  14. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

  15. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    thanks for the extremely suspicious tip about the registry, buck, that you have also posted verbatim on several other threads.

    ANYWAY

    Attached are some logs for MBAM and SAS, run after the reformat.

    Another symptom: when I restart, sometimes the computer will be on but nothing will display and I can tell from the lack of numlock test that windows doesnt load. I get the feeling this is a hardware issue, although the only piece I've added/modified is an LCD monitor which (correct me if I'm wrong) doesnt have the capacity to cause these issues.

    I updated the BIOS using ASUS's update utility. Don't know if it changed anything.
     
  16. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    ok updated bios, all mobo drivers, and i still got a freeze. Now it won't even boot... I get a POST message saying system boot fail with the options to enter setup and restore defaults (which I did, to no avail) or press F1 to continue. Then after continuing I get a BSOD with the following:

    page fault in non paged area
    0x00000050 (0xAC9E1000, 0x00000008, 0xAC9E1000, 0x00000000)

    and from Event viewer (booted into safe after several tries)

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Service Control Manager
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 7026
    Date: 9/2/2008
    Time: 6:57:23 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: RWILLIS1
    Description:
    The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
    AmdK8
    AsIO
    Fips
    SASDIFSV
    SASKUTIL

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

    now what do I do?
     
  17. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    I cannot help with the logs, but might try to help with the Bootup issue

    It seems that Sound and other drivers caused a fault in Windows
    Now because you updated the Bios (which is good) it may now require a Repair of Windows. Basically the drivers that Windows is currently using were for the older revision Bios, and even though they're likely the same drivers, they have been installed on a Motherboard that has had some changes (and possibly additions) within the Bios.

    Therfore a Windows Repair, on even a Driver Cleaner may be required.
    And then re-install the Drivers (including SUPERAntiSpyware, it seems)
     
  18. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    ok just repaired windows, haven't reinstalled drivers yet, but when windows first logged on I got this error report (event viewer)

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: System Error
    Event Category: (102)
    Event ID: 1003
    Date: 9/2/2008
    Time: 8:15:56 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: RWILLIS1
    Description:
    Error code 000000c2, parameter1 00000007, parameter2 00000cd4, parameter3 002e0000, parameter4 89b50030.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    Data:
    0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
    0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
    0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
    0018: 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 63 000000c
    0020: 32 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d 2 Param
    0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 30 30 eters 00
    0030: 30 30 30 30 30 37 2c 20 000007,
    0038: 30 30 30 30 30 63 64 34 00000cd4
    0040: 2c 20 30 30 32 65 30 30 , 002e00
    0048: 30 30 2c 20 38 39 62 35 00, 89b5
    0050: 30 30 33 30 0030
     
  19. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    From here: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=265879

    Best to update all drivers, and possibly remove any unwanted (or not necessary) programs
     
  20. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    ok i updated all my drivers, restarted... and none of them actually installed even though before restarting they said they were successfully installed. The display is currently in low res mode and 4bit color and no drivers are to be found. what the hell?!

    I tried installing them all again, same thing


    If I flash the cmos, format the disk, and completely rebuild the pc from scratch, would that help this catastrophe?
     
  21. LookinAround

    LookinAround Ex Tech Spotter Posts: 6,491   +183

  22. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    unfortunately no, and I'm at college so nobody around me has one (all laptops)

    and that occurred to me too... when I first installed it i didn't install a driver for it because i was under the impression that it was plug and play. Then I installed the driver, but I can't remember if that was before or after the freezes started.

    Ok I'll try screwing around with those. Thanks
     
  23. LookinAround

    LookinAround Ex Tech Spotter Posts: 6,491   +183

    in particular look at (but try any that seem suitable)
    /basevideo - force basic video driver
    /sos
    /bootlog

    and using switches to start up in safe mode as well
     
  24. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

    Actually it will (I believe)

    DON'T flash the Bios (Because that's done now :) )

    Put the Windows CD in
    Restart
    REMOVE the partition (there is a prompt for this)
    Then install Windows (ie do not create a new Partition, Windows will do this for you)

    BUT, you will lose everything on the disk of course (which you could just backup in another computer - putting it in as a slave HardDrive)

    edit:

    Wow I was replying to three posts ago !!
     
  25. rwillis

    rwillis TS Member Topic Starter Posts: 47

    Ok here's what I'll do. I will follow your suggestions, lookinaround, which sound good and then if I don't get any leads I'll go ahead and rebuild this stinking piece of sh*t.

    God...technology, am i right
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...