DVD drive won't write

By pdsterling
Apr 14, 2008
  1. As this is my premiere speech, I shall try to be brief:

My area of expertise in computers is concentrated in the keyboard. I am only a bare novice or advanced newbie on hardware. Recently, I added an IDE PCI controller card and second hard drive, as I have lots of data I want to store. Works Fine!!!

However, my DVD drive has gone wonky. I can read DVDs, I can read CDs, but I can't write DVDs, and I want to back up my system! :mad:

To try to answer questions which might be asked, its a generic clone with 512 MB of memory (working on that) and when I look at the system, for the hard drive it says, "HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H455N SCSI CdRom Device". It says LG on the outside.

Can someone help me figure this out?
  2. kimsland

kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 14,524

DiscInfo should tell you the drive capabilities:

Once extracted
    Click on View (in the DiscInfo window)
    Then capabilities info
    This will tell you if it can write DVDs

You can also click on View and firmware updates
  3. pdsterling

pdsterling TS Rookie Topic Starter

making progress with DVD burner, I think

Thanks!!! :grinthumb Nothing cheers me up like spot-on advice, except that it didn't move me very far. I downloaded the recommended software, with the following result: nine read capabilities and eight write capabilities were checked. That's good, right?

I am using Nero Express, which came with the drive and a disk marked DVD-R. I choose DVD, choose make data disk, add a folder (good sized folder), finish, Next I edited the disk title, Burn. I get a message saying, Generate ISO Names, then Checking Disks, and that's when it gets into a loop and goes no further.

If you can get me burning, I have a pound of Russell Stover's right here which I can upload to any address on the planet. Thanks in advance (again)
  4. kimsland

The 9 Read and 8 write, are basically perfect :grinthumb